We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Stay, We'll be back (again)!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican RV Resort and Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pelican RV Resort and Motel
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay, We'll be back (again)!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been going to Grassy Key for at least the past 5 years, and always stay at the Pelican. It has changed hands recently, and many improvements have been made. It is an older resort, but the rooms have been modernized, are always clean and the beds are comfortable. We had a refrigerator and a microwave in our double room.

The office staff is very friendly and accomodating. They apparently do not have daily maid service, though I believe they probably would provide it if asked to. We dumped our own trash, and swapped wet towels for new ones in the office as we needed them. There were no phones in the rooms, (who uses a land line anymore anyway) but they did havea phone book and an alarm clock.

We always take our boat, and there is ample parking for trailers. Also, unlike many other hotels in the area, they have their own boat ramp, and the boat "harbor" keeps your boat protected. There is a concrete wall between your docked boat and the gulf. We happen to like staying on the Gulf side, but access to the Atlantic is only a 2-3 minute boat ride.

The Pelican has a tiki hut with picnic tables out on the gulf, that you can fish from, or just relax and enjoy the absolutely gorgeous Gulf sunsets. They also have a decent size pool, that feels so good after spending a hot day out on the water.

We will definitely book with them on our next visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are up front (on the road), so there is not a gulf view, but they were surprizingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a great time at the Pelican RV Resort and Motel.

We hope to see you again in the near future and would like to offer you a discount off your next stay for writing this review about us. Please contact us at 305-289-0011.

Sincerely,

Maria Simon
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
33
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a very nice place to stay in the Keys. The desk personnel (Judy) was very accomodating. I made an error when I made our reservations for the 2 day lobster season, and Judy made every effort to get me the rooms I needed for the dates I needed. I was very impressed. The rooms were clean, but the manager was having problems with the cleaning person not showing up for work. The manager made every effort to make sure we had clean towels or anything else we needed. We had a dock slip that was not bad to maneurver in. The motel has regular sized rooms with queen sized beds. All of the rooms have been renovated with tile flooring, new furniture and new beds and mattresses. The current owners bought it in Nov. 2010 and have been working to upgrade all of the rooms. The efficiencies are larger and are on schedule to be renovated, whenever there is a block of time to rent them. The pool is nice and very clean, but since it is not real large, the water tends to be warm.
Overall, this is a very nice place to stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room with kitchenette, rent an efficiency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank noslackgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a great time at the Pelican RV Resort and Motel.

We hope to see you again in the near future and would like to offer you a discount off your next stay for writing this review about us. Please contact us at 305-289-0011.

Sincerely,

Maria Simon
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

For our family vacation we decided to go down to Florida and stay at the Pelican Motel, recommended by a friend of mine. We were amazed by the stunning waterfront and perfect weather. Our rooms were wonderful, they had full equipped kitchens and peaceful patios. And so clean! We spent most of our time at the beautiful beaches and on our boat fishing, my husband caught a nice size fish too! We’re definitely coming back next season!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allisonn98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanRV, Manager at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are pleased that you had such a great time at the Pelican RV Resort and Motel.

We hope to see you again in the near future and would like to offer you a discount off your next stay for writing this review about us. Please contact us at 305-289-0011.

Sincerely,

Maria Simon
Regional Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We booked this motel for Thanksgiving because of it's proximity to relatives and the great rates. We stayed in unit 6 at the South end of the motel. We checked in early and we ended up partying late and didn't actually get into our room until 1 am. Fortunately I had to use the bathroom about two hours later. I felt something crawling on my arm as I walked to the bathroom. I turned on the light and was shocked to find a blood sucking bed bug full of my blood on my arm!! I immediately turned the lights on and pulled back the sheets and found a couple more blood suckers. I woke my better half, we checked each other over to make sure we didn't have any hitchhikers and we got the heck out of there. We took our flashlight and found the little creeps all over the side of the bed heading to feast. We also noticed a white powder on the floor around the perimeter of the bed so we suspect the management was aware of them and tried to eliminate them unsuccessfully.
The next morning we checked out and the manager apologized and refunded our money. She said she would have to get rid of the mattresses.
I hate to make this the first review for a small mom and pop motel but if it saves someone getting bitten or worse, infesting their own home, then it is worth it. I know that bed bugs our a national epidemic right now and four star hotels have not been immune to these pests. I'm sure they will take care of the issue. My better half's sister said many of their relatives had stayed here without incident and enjoyed the place but just be careful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fafafouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smartin121, Owner at Pelican RV Resort and Motel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
I want to offer my sincerest apologies about the situation you encountered at The Pelican Motel. We recently purchased the property and have begun a complete remodel of the rooms and office. All the bedding, beds and carpet are in the process of being replaced. In addition to painting and cleaning, all furniture is being replaced as well as televisions, light fixtures and the ceiling. I hope you will give The Pelican one more chance; we know you will not be disappointed. Best to you in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.8 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican RV Resort and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican RV Resort and Motel

Property: Pelican RV Resort and Motel
Address: 59151 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6043 (Formerly Pelican Motel & Trailer Park)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefree’s Pelican Motel was recently remodeled to bring back those retro open-air motel days, but with all the modern amenities we have grown to love. You can pull up right to the door of your private room, conveniently unload your luggage and be sitting on our beautiful shore in less than five minutes.While our look is vintage, our six rooms and three efficiencies are all new. Each room is equipped with an individually controlled air-conditioner, ceiling fan, refrigerator and microwave for your comfort and convenience.Tucked into the picturesque Florida Bay on Grassy Key at Mile Marker 59, just 45 minutes east of Key West, the Pelican is one of a few Marathon Florida Hotels that gives you access to 300 feet of secluded waterfront and a private marina. Our boat slips are just waiting for your vessel, and we’ve got a fish cleaning station ready for you to handle your saltwater catch of the day.When you’re through with your day on the water, jump in by swimming off our bay front or take a dip in our heated swimming pool. Relax, you're in the Florida Keys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pelican RV Resort and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Motel & Trailer Park Hotel Marathon
Pelican Motel And Trailer Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing