We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Cove Motel and Marina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina(Marathon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
27
29
23
19
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
29
23
19
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloating roomsfishkey westthe ritzthe cottagessunset
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 176 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is different and pleasant enough for a couple of nights. The backwater is very quiet and it was lovely to sit outside and watch the birds. Five minutes across the road is the superb Island Fish Company restaurant. Watch out for the tides since the end of the jetty can flood and provide an interesting challenge!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed on one of the "floating" rooms which was a tiny houseboat. Ours (17) looked freshly painted, had a loft type of queen bed, a small fridge and microwave.There was also a twin bed that we used as a couch, actually used to place our luggage. It was clean except had old carpet and an old TV. We never turned the TV on so it didn't matter. We didn't use internet either! A trip to the grocery store made it unnecessary to even leave. We took our own beach chairs and spent most of the time just enjoying the quiet of being on the little deck. Our boat was perfect for us (honeymooners) who love the water. We felt like we were kids again on a camping trip. We sat on the deck until 2 am just enjoying the water, the sunset, the quiet. There are some people there that live full time on their boats and everyone was friendly and nice. Some were there for the excellent snorkeling and scuba nearby. The "front desk" was closed from 11-3 so we went out to lunch while waiting to check in. The guy at the desk recommended "The Wooden Spoon" for lunch and he was right on! If you are looking for luxury, you won't find it here. If you are looking for peace and quiet and just relaxation you found it! Ask for a boat that is on the right side of the dock, facing out to the water so you can enjoy just relaxing with no pressures of the world with you! Unfortunately we had reservations elsewhere so the 2 nights we stayed were not enough! We actually blew off one night in Key west for a 2nd night there! Debated a 3rd but we still had to pay for Key West hotel so we had to leave! We came here from a 5 star elsewhere and enjoyed this just as much!

Room Tip: No beach, pool, or other amenities some people look for. The front desk guy (so sorry I don't remember your name) was very helpful about telling us were to eat and where the great beach was nearby. These are houseboats so not handicapped accessible.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is an affordable place to stay is clean and quiet. The owner must like blue and white and thats it. The beds in our house boat were 2 singles, it had a microwave and refrigerator. You don't go anywhere with the boats as they are secured to the dock. But we checked with others in our group staying in other locations and they get nicer quarters than the house boat.

I recommend bargining for the house boat, the rates are high. I would hope the owner would put some effort into the appearance of the houseboats wiht some decorations, names, colorful paint. a little attention to the electrical cords and switches.

As I said it was clean and quiet on the houseboat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerPsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Decided to try staying in one of the floating rooms. Was hoping to have a romantic experience but the very basic nature of the floating rooms hurts that factor. The floating rooms are akin to an on the water cabin with basic conveniences and very basic decor. There is nothing pretty about the floating rooms inside and because the windows facing onto the water are salt-encrusted there is really no view to speak of from inside.
I had no problems with the boat rocking as the waters were perfectly calm. The place was a very quiet and restful place and the management also was very pleasant and laid back.
If only the cleaning was not so laid back. I don't expect perfection in cleanliness but this was about the first time I felt staying in a hotel that cleanliness was not being taken seriously enough. I saw lots of dust upon closer inspection of corners, on the blinds and the air conditioner filter that made me apprehensive of recommending this place.If they could only improve the upkeep of the units I would at least say this place would be worthy of a stay for a budget traveler not expecting anything fancy and a new experience.

The best thing about staying here was that if was a decent value compared to other accommodations in the keys and there is a very nice free beach just a 10 minute drive away at Sombrero Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canada75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was great fun - for one night. An absolutely no-frills place to stay, but very unique. We slept in one of the houseboats, which was the whole reason we booked a night here on our way to Key West. The walls were unfinished beadboard and the ceilings were unfinished plywood. The furnishings were sparse and looked like they came from a thrift shop. It was fun to sit out on our boat deck and enjoy the scenery, or fish. The boat rocked slightly every time we moved around. Wi-fi was spotty at best. I couldn't maintain a connection long enough to really use it. Calling it a resort is laughable. It is more like a fish camp. Would I recommend this place? Absolutely! But one night was plenty, for the adventure. I would love to bring my grandchildren. They would love it. I wouldn't care to stay here if we weren't in one of the houseboats. Sleeping on a little houseboat was a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a houseboat. The small cabins didn't look like anything special. Boats on the south side of the dock have a better view. Being your fishing gear.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank awkfleabag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews