We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Priced Right!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Cove Motel and Marina
Ranked #13 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and Priced Right!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I wanted a quiet weekend but didn't want to travel so we had a great "staycation" at Sea Cove Motel. It was great. The houseboats were great and they really added to the overall charm of the place. It was old style Keys at its very best.
Without question part of the allure was the price, but I really felt we got a lot for our money. That's quite a change in today's world of overpromises.
Seacove staff is friendly, and went out of their way to make us comfortable, the room was immaculate, and the weekend was just what we wanted. We felt like we were somewhere else, far away, and that was the whole point.
Great people and a great place!

Room Tip: Houseboats are cozy but if you want more room choose the rooms on land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    21
    19
    72
See reviews for
40
79
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I booked a room at sea cove, and was pleasantly surprised how nice and large the room was. The room was clean, and air conditioned. The beds were very comfortable, and fresh. There was cable TV, and a fast wireless Internet.
I fished from the dock, and caught several fish. and met some very nice people, and enjoyed my time there. Everyone was very friendly. For the price, it is well worth it. I will stay there again. Mike

Room Tip: Floating rooms very interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I found this place in my way back from Key West. "Floating rooms" sign - make me stop and check them out. Jamie, the manager- friendly and funny guy show me the houseboat . The houseboat is old , but very nice inside with cold AC. So, i like it a lot and now i wright my first review ever by sitting in my "own" boat with free wifi and cold "Corona".....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

A Floating Sea Cove is a very unusual place. In fact, I don’t really know of any other places in the Keys where you can stay for a night in a motel room on a boat, all to yourself! It was fun and full of the unique laid back character of the Florida Keys. What a great idea!

Room Tip: Floating rooms - we like # 14, but other very nice too. Slip on the water- never done before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lott k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Like the rest of the reviews indicate, the price is what draws people. The idea of sleeping on your own private boat is awesome and this place could provide that if they would clean the rooms, do some maintenance on the boats, and provide better sleeping accommodations. The staff is friendly and will do their best to make you comfortable but it falls short of expectations.
We stayed four nights, mainly due to price. I liked the idea as well. The first one we were shown smelled like a toilet. There was a soft spot on the floor right by the bed that if you stepped on would push the smell up into the room. The second one had a musty smell. The novelty of that one was the galley which also had a loft. The third one, the we stayed in was in the best condition of all. It had recently been repaired so it did not smell however there were only twin beds. When you sat on the bed you could feel the coils. To top it off, the microwave didn't work either.
All things considered, I would choose an option such as this if it were in better condition.

Room Tip: Try to find another place if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The best reason to stay at the Sea Cove is the price, ~$65-75/night depending on the season. This is definitely cheap for the Keys, but you get what you pay for. The room was large, but not very clean and outdated. The shower was dirty and the sheets on one of the beds had roach poop all over it. In addition, the electrical outlets were not safe and our AC unit kept shorting out. This hotel is located on the northern end of Marathon before you get to Key Colony Beach. It's a couple of miles from the heart of Marathon. If you are looking for a cheap place to crash with low standards then this is your place! Not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfaith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Honestly was a little hesitant due to listed reviews but was pleasantly surprised. Will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MamaG6unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.8 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
3.2 mi away
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cove Motel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cove Motel and Marina

Property: Sea Cove Motel and Marina
Address: 12685 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3536
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Cove Motel and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Cove Motel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cove Motel And Marina Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing