We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in the Florida Keys!”
Review of Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Sarnia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in the Florida Keys!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This quaint little motel is located halfway through the Keys. It is in Marathon, FL. The Anchor Inn was our home for 2 nights. VERY clean, very quiet.
Some really tiny ants were seen on the bathroom floor, but were not a bother.
There was one couple there the first night, and we were alone the second night. The owners seemed to be off-site for the most part. There are 7 rooms, with different set-ups i.e. King bed w/ a single. OR 2 queens, all had a fridge, microwave, some rooms had a stove and kichenette. There is a nice backyard area as well, for the guests to use, including BBQ's, beach towels, a telescope, tables/chairs, lounge chairs and a nice garden. If you hear a noise through the night, it is coconuts falling from the tree! :)
There is no pool or beach, but not too far away, you can find the water.
This motel was reasonably priced!! We did stay in the "off-season" May 15-17, 2012.
We were within 2 hours of Key West and Miami. Lots of things to do around the hotel too! Lots of water attractions, restaurants/fast food/IHOP, a little bit of shopping too!.
We would stay here again, if/when we travel to the Florida Keys!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jent1_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Been to the Keys probably 15 times and I can't believe we just discovered this Gem. Spotless, friendly, spacious, well-equipped room with kitchen at such a value for the Keys. Will return!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zmini07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Had a wonderful stay, our unit had a kitchen, the beds were comfortable Everything was clean, the owners were very friendly . They even had a cat who adoped us during our stay. We are looking forward to our next trip to Marathon, and we wil be staying at the Anchor Inn, our new home awat from home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We spent a couple of nights here while touring the keys, made a reservation on the phone from the UK as they didnt do internet reservations. We picked it out from a lonely planet guide, we were looking for something at a sensible cost halfway down the Keys. Its on the main highway opposite the airport so thought it might be noisy. However it wasnt. The decor was bright and cheerful with a dolphin theme, TV a bit old but perfectly ok, we had a room with basic cooking facility which we used (microwave etc), but the helpful owner/manager showed us the other rooms which had excellent kitchens. Theres a secluded area at the rear with picnic tables etc, not 'posh' but pleasant enough and sunny but with plenty of shade. A friendly cat moseying around! Bed was fine, had a large ceiling fan -ok. Liked the traditional 'mom and pop' style, like the verandah outside. We had a spectacular rainstorm one night and sat out on the verandah to watch.
So overall good value, no complaints. Not a touristy area with nothing much in the way of facilities closeby (like restaurants), but Marathon 'downtown' is a short drive down the street. Found it easy to find. We did an easy day trip to Key West from there which was only about an hours drive, it would have cost a lot more to stay in Key West.
Nice to see the old fashioned traditional indipendant motels still around, with character.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramblingboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.0 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Property: Anchor Inn
Address: US-1 Mile marker 51.3, Marathon, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing