We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Marathon
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
51
15
7
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
51
15
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiki hut pet walking area full hookups laundry facilities gulf side overseas highway wonderful stay gulf of mexico water view other guests key west beach area gravel waterfront dock boat keys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 78 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2019 via mobile

We are here for our 3rd stay at Grassey Key RV Resort, and we r so grateful for the rules, regulations, maintenance and care of this resort. Having stayed in those that do not have such rules or do not enforce them as we traveled to Grassey Key, we certainly appreciate the difference. We r willing to stay in others along the way to save for our wonderful stay at Grassey Key..so worth it! TKS to Wendy and Jack for this little bit of Paradise!
T and T , NC

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SittiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKRVP, General Manager at Grassy Key RV Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

T and T: Thanks for your wonderful words! Guests such as you -- kind, encouraging, and understanding -- keep our resort fun and make it a place where people want to return again and again! We appreciate you and have your site saved for next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 5 weeks...no choic had to pay in full upfront and no refinds.
Certainly did not want a credit for future use! Cons: on-site management is extremely rude. While picking up mail heard him refer to a camper as a
Mother F'er when talking to other staff, was personally berated in front of others when I walked through the front to pick up mail instead of walking around to the back door (did not see sign saying to walk up the ramp, through the back door). Could have been tool nicely if not privately instead of being scalded like a child. Purchased quarters from Jack for laundry when machines woukd not take the Canadian quarter I was given I asked him to swap it fot a US quarter and he took the coin, tossed it in his desk drawer and said I can't do s**t with this" and then tossed a US quarter at me. While I was checking in I personally witnessed him being extremly rude to a young Japanese man who stopped to ask if a site was available, one wa but for obvious reasons the man declined and left. Many other instances of this type of treatment. Other people had their own similar examples of Jack's rude and unacceptable behavior. Everyone we talked to while there said they would not return. Also there is not access to a beach. Nearby beaches are very small and not a typical beach for walking. The bugs (particularly noseeums) are horrendous and nothing repels them. Impossible to sit outside in early morning or early evening. Only place to walk is on
US 1 which is dangerous and full of litter or the walk/bike path which is mostly hidden between mangroves and brackish water which smells awful.
Pro's for the site: extremely clean and well landscaped, pretty ocean view, close to a few restaurants (SS Shipwreck has wonderful food and great staff). Small pool for cooling off not large enough for swimming, definitely a senior or childless adult site, all gravel makes walking pets difficult but there is a very small grassy spot you can carry pet to for "potty" time. Staff who work out on the grounds are very nice and helpful. Wendy (who works remotely) was friendly and helpful when making reservations. I understand her relationship with Jack and her need to defend negative reviews by trying to place blame on the campers however there is no excuse for rudeness and she in not the onr onsite dealing with it...the campers are. I always suggest reviews to be posted on websites that are not managed by the resort so reviews do not disappear.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Vackaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKRVP, General Manager at Grassy Key RV Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

Vackaye, It looks that this is your first tripadvisor review and you are newly signed up. Since we have no indication which guest you are, and cannot contact you, we would sincerely appreciate if you would give Wendy a call at 305-289-1606. We are confused by the shocking account of your experience in the Keys! We would like to try to make things right with you and better understand what went wrong on your visit! Thank you in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

Our first visit to The RV Park went very well.

Today after speaking with Wendy and trying to book our second visit, she was less than hospitable. We are a family of five and wanted to also rent a boat slip and she was rude and not willing to allow us any additional guests. There are better ways to treat customers even when the park rules do not allow for what a customer is requesting. When I requested an additional RV site to satisfy the requirement of only 5 people per site, she cancelled my reservation immediately and simply said that I couldn’t pay for a site if I wasn’t going to have an RV in it. Simply said, she didn’t want to rent to me. All I wanted was 6 people at the site, one boat rental and I was willing to pay double to accommodate the additional guest.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Hector G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKRVP, General Manager at Grassy Key RV Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2018

Grace, We had already happily booked your family of 5 for a second stay at our park and would gladly have added a boat dock for you. Since you had already stayed with us before, and our notes showed that we had clearly gone through our policies regarding the number of guests at any one site, we were very confused with your insistence that we had to allow additional people. A truck on a site is not and RV and would not be acceptable; the extra person(s) would have to stay at your site and would not be acceptable. To avoid conflict and possible disruption at our park, your reservation was cancelled. We are sorry if your are unhappy with our stated policies.

Future guests please note that we are very careful with the number of guests allowed at any one site. All potential guests should be clearly stated when you are booking a reservation. We are always happy to fully explain our policies during the reservation process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

Grassy Key RV Resort is a Resort that wants to "BE RIGHT" not "MAKE THINGS RIGHT" and is FULL of RULES, and REGULATIONS...that are not all perfectly Clear, prior to arrival.
WE have Traveled 6000 Miles from Canada to stay at this Resort. We booked and paid in full Back in May $$$$$ to hold a spot, and it is now December. We booked with the intent on enjoying the water (therefore we do have a Zodiac and some other water crafts) and THIS RESORT is now informing us that we must pay...in addition to it's already high fees...140.00 US per week to have the Zodiac Inflated. Even if we slip it beside our Motorcoach (that is a Space that we have already PAID for $$$) We don't dare bring out the Paddleboard and Kayak. More $$$$$
When we booked we informed them that we had a Cargo trailer with our Vehicle and our Water Toys. Nothing Was Said except that the Trailer would be charged to store. So, of course we agreed. We were never informed of the extra $$$$
What was constantly repeatedly told was that there was NO bathhouse. We understood that. No problem. Our Daughter is joining us for a couple of days... Now an extra $10 for her per day. (Car)
When we were informed of all of these 'rules' we asked for a refund on the remaining days. Unsatisfied Customer. That was Denied. A 'credit' was offered. Like coming all this way and spending our time here, would ever be an option ever again.
GOUGE, for every penny this resort. Pathetic
Today there are a total of approximate 12 RV Guests. Plenty of spots remaining. Wonder Why?
Perhaps there is a reason for this.
I would give this Resort a 1 out of 5, purely based on it's customer satisfaction and service. In plain Words, if we had any, we wouldn't send our enemies here!
Merry Christmas to the Grinch and Scrooge!
Stay away people.

Room tip: Don't spend your money here!
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gipsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKRVP, General Manager at Grassy Key RV Park & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2018

It is sad that Mr. & Mrs. P. followed through with their threat to give us negative reviews on social media, because we could not allow them to keep their boat in our marina for free. Other guests are charged for their boats, so it simply would not be fair to change our policy for this one guest. We have made several attempts at being understanding (their new boat has defects) and providing options to accommodate them - with the hope that they would work it out, relax, and enjoy their holiday in the Keys! Unfortunately, that does not seem to be the case and we must accept their negative action; knowing that current and future guests will see through such attempts to tarnish our reputation and undermine our stated policies.

As our resort continues to fill up over the next few days, for the winter, our weekly rate begins at $864 (plus the customary tax). We do not charge for trailers or dollies for guests that are on any weekly rates -- as is the case with these guests. There are no extra charges for resort fees, electric, cable, kayaks/paddle boards, etc with the weekly rate; just those stated charges as shown below.

We wish Mr. & Mrs. P. safe travels when they leave our resort! We are sorry that proper information was not given us in July, when they booked with us, so that we could clarify their reservation details and pricing.

Reminder: for those who wish to bring a boat to our property, there is a charge for boats and to use our newly renovated docks. Please arrange for a dock when reserving your site, so that we can advise you of our policies and rates. There is no charge to launch kayaks/paddle boards from our "safe launch" dock. One RV and 1 vehicle are welcome at each site; additional vehicles will be accommodated somewhere on our property at our customary fee of $10/day -- please arrange additional vehicles when booking and/or prior to the arrival of that vehicle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2018

This park is nice if you are using it as a place to stay while you visit places around the Keys. The manager was very helpful and friendly. They allow dogs, but there is only one small patch of grass at the front of the park, so if your dog has to go, sometimes you have to make a run for that spot. But at least there was a spot!

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews