We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and service”

Sunset Grille and Raw Bar
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Waco, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great views and service”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had the Grouper, my niece had pasta with chicken, my daughter had a salad and my husband had the boiled shrimp. Portions were good size and all were seasoned well except the Grouper, It had no seasoning whatsoever. I asked for it grilled, so maybe I should have added a sauce.
We also ordered the smoked fish spread for an appetizer and it was good.
The views were great. The pier off of the restaurant had lights in the water so you could see the fish swimming at night. It's worth a trip for sure. Great for families.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cinnamongirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,484
    1,047
    433
    175
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goffstown, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Stay away from the corned beef and cabbage.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This would have been rated excellant, but we were there on St Patrick's day, and their attempt at corned beef and cabbage was a disaster. The cabbage and carrots were not cooked, and the corned beef was fatty. However, the Key Lime Pie was second to none. The scenery made up for the lunch. It was fantastic. We ate outside overlooking the seven mile bridge, and the bay. They had a public pool for folks to swim in. You could walk out on a dock from the restaurant. The service was good. I got a free piece of pie, to make up for the stiff vegatables. I'm giving them the benefit of doubt, that their regular menu items were better. Worth the trip for the scenery alone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie03045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed breakfast with friends this morning. Great water views, quiet, tropical ambience, super wait staff. Food delicious. Only complaint: food cool. Perhaps if meals could be delivered to couples instead of all six of us at once breakfasts could be delivered hot. Very nice place. We'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Boat_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great spot, Good food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are a retired couple, with no children along to enjoy the pool and recreation area. Still, we enjoyed the beautiful view and the open air as we waited for our orders. The crabcake sandwich was the best I had ever had -- lots of crab, not so much cake. The oysters were also very good. A great place to visit after a walk or ride on Old 7-mile Bridge!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripper4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“" SPECTACULAR SUNSET "”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for the view here at 7 mile bridge and ordered the crab cake dinner and fried conch. Great food, friendly staff, and what a view as the suns disappears.
Jim and Linda Munro
Korner Kottage Bed & Breakfast

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille and Raw Bar also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sunset Grille and Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing