We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Keys Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I have been vacationing in Marathon for 20 years. When we found Captain Pip's about 8 years ago, we have never stayed anyplace else. We have never been disappointed with anything (except bad weather) in all of those years. We have enjoyed our relationships with everyone at the resort, Barb, Ellie, Johnny, the guys in the marina, and even the folks at Porky's. We have stayed in several different rooms over the years and really love that they are so clean and "old Keys comfortable". As for the boats, just realize that they receive heavy use and sometimes abused by folks that are nautically challenged. The guys in the marina are always quick to respond if there is a problem and can often give some "fishy" advice on good spots. We will continue to return every year for as long as we can hold a fishing pole or strap on a scuba tank.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inspectorman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 470 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great service, advice and friendly people! The four of us spent two days snorkeling and fishing. The boats ran smoothly. We had good directions to locate snorkel spot and fishing on our second day. The people were so friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbieann04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you come to the Keys you have to get on the water! Whether you want to captain your own boat or go with a guide, Captain Pip's is the place. They were friendly and helpful telling us the best places to snorkel or fish. We did both and had an awesome time. After a day on the water, enjoy a great meal at Porky's next door. Great food and live music!

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Lorrie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I rented a boat from Capt. Pips for a day snorkeling/fishing/boat touring day. Ellie in the office was very helpful! Ellie had a great chart and took her time expelling to us how to use the chart and where to go to fish and snorkel. Jamie, at the dock was very helpful showing us how to use the boat, GPS, and depth finder. He also help us tie off when we returned for the day. Very good experience!!

Room Tip: Did not stay in any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank margiek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just got back from our third trip to Captain Pip's. We always feel like we're visiting family they make you feel so welcome. The rooms may not be fancy, but they are always spotless and comfortable. Their boats are well maintained and the marina staff always goes the extra mile. Our first two trips it was just my son and i. This trip we brought my twin ten year old grand son's an they loved it. We bought very expensive passive life preservers for the boys so they could wear them all day and still be cool and comfortable. To make a long story short we left the boys life preservers on the dock at Captain Pip's and didn't realize it until we got home an unloaded the car. I called up about four hours later and someone ran down to the dock and called me back and they found them. They sent them to us and we had the in a couple days. None of us can wait till we go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank originalstano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Sometimes when you are packing up your things after a vacation something can be left behind in your room. We've all done it at some time! Here at Captain Pip's our manager has always sent those things along to our guests as soon as possible. We have sent items varying from clothing to jewelry, medications, check books & even money! In this case it was life preservers. We're happy to do it for our guests. Thank you for the kind words & the great review. We really do appreaciate the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here June 8th thru 10th brought my father and 2 nephews to go fishing. Room and boat were great.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigjo97438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Showed up and asked to see where we would be staying,I was told by manager to wait,I had to sign some papers first.
After signing contract,she took us to room around the corner and it smelled like a CESSPOOL !
The smell was in our 3rd class room and all around.
She blamed it on seagrass.
We decided to go to their restaurant called Piggys. In a word NASTY FOOD !
Back to the room for more FOUL SMELL,had enough,decided to leave and find suitable accomodations elsewhere !
Tried to talk to the manager and she was just rude and billed us for the whole trip !!!
What a DUMP ! Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. ,If they treat their guests like this ,they wont be in business very long!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We welcome truthful, objective reviews of our property. They help us improve our business. Sometimes reviewers tell only one side or incorrectly state the facts. If guests want to see their accommodations before checking in, we are happy to oblige. We do have a no-refund-for-early departure policy. It is stated on our web site and on our reservation confirmations. While we won't refund your money if you choose to check out early, we will hold the unused amount as a credit on your account, which you can use for up to a year. It can be used for accommodations, a boat rental, a charter or any purchase in our retail store. Yes, when we get a strong north wind the bay grass can stack up and get a bit stinky. There's little we can do, but wait for the wind to change and take the grass with it. If a guest objects to the bay grass aroma, we won't hesitate to upgrade their room, at no charge, to a unit that still has a water view, but is not right on the bay. This was offered in this case. We want our guests to have a great time at our small resort. We value our customers and want them to come back year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.9 mi away
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn
1.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Address: 1410 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $96 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing