We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARM WONDERFUL HONEST PEOPLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We just got back from our third trip to Captain Pip's. We always feel like we're visiting family they make you feel so welcome. The rooms may not be fancy, but they are always spotless and comfortable. Their boats are well maintained and the marina staff always goes the extra mile. Our first two trips it was just my son and i. This trip we brought my twin ten year old grand son's an they loved it. We bought very expensive passive life preservers for the boys so they could wear them all day and still be cool and comfortable. To make a long story short we left the boys life preservers on the dock at Captain Pip's and didn't realize it until we got home an unloaded the car. I called up about four hours later and someone ran down to the dock and called me back and they found them. They sent them to us and we had the in a couple days. None of us can wait till we go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank originalstano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 24, 2012

Sometimes when you are packing up your things after a vacation something can be left behind in your room. We've all done it at some time! Here at Captain Pip's our manager has always sent those things along to our guests as soon as possible. We have sent items varying from clothing to jewelry, medications, check books & even money! In this case it was life preservers. We're happy to do it for our guests. Thank you for the kind words & the great review. We really do appreaciate the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 500 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here June 8th thru 10th brought my father and 2 nephews to go fishing. Room and boat were great.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigjo97438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Showed up and asked to see where we would be staying,I was told by manager to wait,I had to sign some papers first.
After signing contract,she took us to room around the corner and it smelled like a CESSPOOL !
The smell was in our 3rd class room and all around.
She blamed it on seagrass.
We decided to go to their restaurant called Piggys. In a word NASTY FOOD !
Back to the room for more FOUL SMELL,had enough,decided to leave and find suitable accomodations elsewhere !
Tried to talk to the manager and she was just rude and billed us for the whole trip !!!
What a DUMP ! Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. ,If they treat their guests like this ,they wont be in business very long!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We welcome truthful, objective reviews of our property. They help us improve our business. Sometimes reviewers tell only one side or incorrectly state the facts. If guests want to see their accommodations before checking in, we are happy to oblige. We do have a no-refund-for-early departure policy. It is stated on our web site and on our reservation confirmations. While we won't refund your money if you choose to check out early, we will hold the unused amount as a credit on your account, which you can use for up to a year. It can be used for accommodations, a boat rental, a charter or any purchase in our retail store. Yes, when we get a strong north wind the bay grass can stack up and get a bit stinky. There's little we can do, but wait for the wind to change and take the grass with it. If a guest objects to the bay grass aroma, we won't hesitate to upgrade their room, at no charge, to a unit that still has a water view, but is not right on the bay. This was offered in this case. We want our guests to have a great time at our small resort. We value our customers and want them to come back year after year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Can say enough about the great time my son and I had fishing with Captain Pips. Rooms were everything you need, clean and comfortable. The fishing was excellent and the crew, captain Howard and mate Neil, were awesome. Host Johnny and Barbara make you feel right at home. This place is the real deal, old Florida at its best. Porky's bayside food does not disappoint. Have to try the Fried Key Lime pie. It's the best. Again, just a great little "hideaway".

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We just got home today from a weeks vacation in the Florida Keys, staying with the folks at Captain Pips. We are a very water oriented family, that knows how to make the most of any situation mother nature throws at us. Well, she threw us a rather windy week in Marathon, but we were still able to get out a couple of days on the boat and enjoy ourselves. The other days, we found that just hanging around the marina, sitting on the boat in the sunshine, drinking a few cool ones, and bothering the dock masters, was just as much fun!! The guys were uber friendly, and really went out of their way to make sure we had a good time even if we didn't un-tie from the dock. Its amazing what a sabiki rig, and a bunch of pinfish can do for a 12 year old!!

The rooms were clean, cool, and comfortable. Ample towels were provided...and all that stuff. No problems at all with our room. super comfortable...but we tried to spend as little time as possible there, so...

The boats were good for rental boats. I can only imagine the abuse that those poor people have to deal with from in-experienced boaters running aground, or God knows what else. So, that being said, I was rather impressed with our boat and her condition. She rode really well at cruise, handled bumpy seas at anchor with grace, and was dry. Not much more you can ask for from a CC.

We had a fantastic week at Captain Pips. It was a bit on the pricey side. No hiding from that, but try to rent accommodations and a boat separately in the keys, and you just cannot get the same value that you can at Captain Pips, so it all works out. And everone is super friendly. We really feel like we made lifelong friends in a weeks time. there is no price tag that you can put on a vacation like that!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have to say I did not have a good experience with Captain Pip's. The boat was great but we were charged $5.00 for a dive flag that we never recived and we were charged $66 for 11 gallons of gas and then had to clean the thing when I got back. Ellie in the office was very thorough with her explanation on everything and the dock hands were nice. I justfelt I was overcharged and should have stuck with Captain Hook's.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank adams47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Sounds like this reviewer was generally happy with his or her experience with the exception of paying $5 for a dive flag they never got and the price or fuel. We apologize for forgetting the dive flag. We would have gladly taken the charge off the bill, if it had been brought to our attention. Fuel prices continue to rise, we're not happy with the amount we have to pay either. Currently our price for marine fuel is $5.33 per gallon -- we use 93 octane non-ethanel in all our boats. The price is posted in the office. We work very hard to make sure every customer has a good experience at Captain Pip's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you like to fish, snorkel or boat around the waters off Marathon ,Capt.Pip's is the place to be. Our rental boat was very solid and powerful in choppy waters, zipped along when it was calm and was extremely fuel efficient. The boat's GPS configuration made it very easy to navigate around the banks and reefs especially in conjunction with the supplied chart. All of the staff were extremely helpful to us and this really made our holiday special. Norm really helped us out around the docks and was always there when needed. Thanks Norm. Ellie was an absolute angel when we were having some difficulty with some travel plans and truly went above and beyond.Thank you so much Ellie.
The Grouper guest room was very quaint, clean and lovely and a great place to retire after our very active days on the water. I highly recommend Pip's as a base from which to explore the rest of the keys. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.8 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Address: 1410 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $135 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, & Bikes.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing