We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not too happy!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have to say I did not have a good experience with Captain Pip's. The boat was great but we were charged $5.00 for a dive flag that we never recived and we were charged $66 for 11 gallons of gas and then had to clean the thing when I got back. Ellie in the office was very thorough with her explanation on everything and the dock hands were nice. I justfelt I was overcharged and should have stuck with Captain Hook's.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adams47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Sounds like this reviewer was generally happy with his or her experience with the exception of paying $5 for a dive flag they never got and the price or fuel. We apologize for forgetting the dive flag. We would have gladly taken the charge off the bill, if it had been brought to our attention. Fuel prices continue to rise, we're not happy with the amount we have to pay either. Currently our price for marine fuel is $5.33 per gallon -- we use 93 octane non-ethanel in all our boats. The price is posted in the office. We work very hard to make sure every customer has a good experience at Captain Pip's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    121
    28
    16
    17
See reviews for
142
185
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erin, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you like to fish, snorkel or boat around the waters off Marathon ,Capt.Pip's is the place to be. Our rental boat was very solid and powerful in choppy waters, zipped along when it was calm and was extremely fuel efficient. The boat's GPS configuration made it very easy to navigate around the banks and reefs especially in conjunction with the supplied chart. All of the staff were extremely helpful to us and this really made our holiday special. Norm really helped us out around the docks and was always there when needed. Thanks Norm. Ellie was an absolute angel when we were having some difficulty with some travel plans and truly went above and beyond.Thank you so much Ellie.
The Grouper guest room was very quaint, clean and lovely and a great place to retire after our very active days on the water. I highly recommend Pip's as a base from which to explore the rest of the keys. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

There is much to like at this motel. The rooms are very clean and attractive and the setting, right on the water, is lovely. The restaurant next door, Porky's, has excellent food, live music, and is on the water as well. The room had a full size refrigerator, microwave, toaster and coffee pot, and even had beach towels and a styrofoam cooler available for our use. Aside from soap, it had no toiletries and no hairdryer.

On the down side, we were unable to get a WiFi signal anywhere on the property, and had thought that there was WiFi available in the public areas. This was rather frustrating. The rooms had little soundproofing between them, and there was, in addition, considerable noise from outside during the night, when fishing boats set off around 4 or 5 AM. This is a working marina, so the coming and going of boats was expected (and interesting), but it was quite noisy. The rooms share a backyard area (at least our room shared an outdoor space with at east two other rooms),and this space had a gravel surface. As a result, there was considerable noise when people used the back yard. Since the description said that each room had a patio or balcony, we expected a bit more privacy than we actually had.

We were only there for two days, but were surprised that no one came by, even briefly, to clean or check the room during our stay.

The rooms are pricey, and I expected a bit more in the way of privacy, quiet and services.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BKKTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We appreciate the fact that our guests take the time to write reviews of our property. In many cases their insight helps us make future guest's stays even more enjoyable. Sometimes reviewers miss some of the amenities we offer. Future guests should know we offer free access to WIFI in our restaurant and around the marina area. Housekeeping is done three times a week on Monday, Thursday and Saturday. With only a two-night stay, it's possible these guests stayed with us on those days when our housekeepers do not work. Each room is provided with six bath towels and wash cloths as well as ample garbage bags, and other items to make the time between housekeeping visits comfortable for our guests. Guests will find plenty of outdoor living space on our property. Gas grills, tables and chairs and chaise lounges are available. The grounds are covered in "pea rock" a common ground cover in the Florida Keys, which helps reduce the need for irrigation and saves our precious water. We are located next to a commercial lobster and stone crab fishing marina. During lobster and stone crab season, which runs from August through May, these fishing boats leave the marina early in the morning. It's a part of Florida Keys life. Thanks to our wonderful guests for their observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a great time. Rooms are very clean. Porky's Restuarant will cook your catch for you.

Try the smoked fish dip! Yumm.

It was a bit too wavy for me to go on the charter, but my husband and the boys went and had a blast! Mahi mahi for everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniecat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

The place is named for a dog... probably a bad dog. Within five minutes of taking their center console boat out towards Sombrero Key, the canopy blew down and needed to be repaired. Fortunately, I had a Leatherman tool with me and after about half an hour was able to cobble it back together and it stayed up for the rest of the day. On returning to the marina that afternoon, I told the guy about the problem and showed him the repair job. I asked if we'd get compensation for the time we spent fixing their boat. He grumbled something, that sounded like "ok". But, when we got back home, they'd charged the full amount to the credit card. The boat rental fee was no bargain either; and their fuel charges are *very* high - expect to pay twice the going rate. We took a day cruise the following week and it was a lot more fun... and way cheaper. Well, you live and you learn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfitzmaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Just returned home from our second stay at Captain Pips. The location is great and the accomodations are super clean. The rooms could use some updating and fixing up, but still a very nice place to stay. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. We took a fishing trip with Howard and Tom. We brought in 20 snappers! Wow! Kept us in food for a few days. Tom tried his hardest to help us bring in a grouper, but I just wasn't strong enough. There was a daily visitor, a manatee, that really enjoyed the attention. Again, if you are looking for a nice getaway, Captain Pips is your place! My son really enjoyed a man who works on the grounds. He says Hi, Omar!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We love Captain Pips, Porkys Bayside and especially the owners and staff so much that we got married there! Always outstanding accommodations, great food and great service here. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captmikefl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
13.4 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Property: Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Address: 1410 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing