We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money better spent elsewhere...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Ranked #2 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oviedo, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Money better spent elsewhere...”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We rented a boat for the day and were very disappointed with the service. We were told to arrive early as there was a lot of paperwork to complete so we stopped by a day early and the manager looked at us like we had 3 heads until we explained that we were there early because of her recommendation. She proceeded to tell us exactly everything we could not do in painstaking detail. Additionally she made up rules that do not exist (when PDFs were required, non-existent restricted areas and bogus fines). As a licensed Master Captain and 23 year law enforcement officer I questioned her on the information that she was providing and she was very condescending telling me those were the rules. I didn’t tell her my background and later double checked and found that she was not correct.

When we arrived the next day to take the boat out my 8 year old daughter noticed the two dogs in the office. When she commented on the dogs the manager immediately told her not to look at them! The dockhands were nice and mumbled to us to ignore the manager. My step-dad asked her a question about a fishing area and she asked him where was the chart she provided us with – I had the chart but was out unloading the car. He said he didn’t have it and she immediately started chastising him then he explained that I had it outside and she ignored him and made him sit and review the chart with her again along with areas that he should not be going (which was not the original question he had).

The boat was functional but the binnacle was so loose that you had to hold the throttle in place at all times during the day. Also when we were finished with our day trip we had to clean our own boat! Not just take the trash out as we normally would but actually wash it for them!!

We had rented at another location before and had the complete opposite experience with the staff. We would not recommend anyone rent from Captain Pips. There are many other businesses to spend your hard earned money which will appreciate your patronage and treat you with common courtesy and respect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Manager at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, June 23, 2011
As the manager of Captain Pip's Marina & HIdeaway, I would like to apologize for any behavior on my part that you found to be rude, condescending or unfriendly. It was never my intention to act that way. I always try to make sure that all our customers are very well informed of the local water hazards, and have a pleasant day on the water.

Obviously, for you to feel this way, I did not succeed. It had never been my intention to make your time with Captain Pip’s anything but pleasant. There is no excuse that I can offer but my heart felt apologies. Everyone has a bad day sometimes, and that obviously was mine.

I sincerely hope that you will accept my apologies, and not judge Captain Pip’s Boat rentals by my actions that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    137
    32
    17
    18
See reviews for
155
210
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otsego, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

Captain Pip's is a wonderful place to stay! We had the opportunity to check out quite a few locations and this is definitely a winner! Barbara, the owner, is just wonderful!! We had already booked a resort for most of our family, but our two older boys stayed at Captain Pip's after we actually forfeited a couple of hundred dollars not to have them stay at the Rainbow Bend. To anyone considering these two, Captain Pip's is so much better all the way around, boats, staff, rooms, etc. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandGirl0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Captain Pips offers a great package of room/apartment with boat. Captain Pips is like stepping back in time to "old Florida", meaning that it is down to earth, nothing fancy, just clean accommodations with excellent access to beautiful water. We have stayed there twice, and look forward to going back every Winter. Boats & motors, whether owned or rented, always have potential problems; but the management at Cap Pips always tries to fix all concerns to one's satisfaction. Yes, you can find more upscale accommodations and, newer/fancier boats at other destinations, but for the money, you can not beat what is offered here at Cap Pips.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and I own our own boat and are experienced so we thought a few days in the keys would be great. We normally fish in Louisiana on the rigs but the oil spill has stopped our fishing for awhile . The room was clean ,the restaurant was fair but we went to fish ! Our first morning we were ready to go. but then we had to wait on them to clean and prep the boat. After going about a mile my husband said the boat had no power and wasn't running properly. We went back to the dock and they drove it and said it was fine. When we got back that evening my husband insisted on a different boat for the next day,they determined the fuel injector had gone out . The dock man said he would report it to the manager and adjust the fuel cost. When it came time to pay they charged us $300.00 for fuel !!!! For 1 day. They said we were getting better fuel mileage since the injectors were out. My husband told him he knew he was bold face lying. Stay away. The lady in the office at first was very friendly to my husband but was extremly rude to me. Stay away...

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guedry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
We work hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay at Captain Pip's Mairna & Hideaway. I'm sorry this reviewer didn't have a positive experience. There are a few facts that were omitted and incorrectly stated in the review. I'd like to take this opportunity to correct them. First the fuel cost for the two days of boat rental was $125.80 not $300 as stated in the review. When our mechanic discovered the injections on the first boat were clogged, we switched them to another boat. This was done immediately and without any customer demands. Both the boats they were given were our 20-ft. Cape Horns -- a free upgrade from the 20-ft. Cobias that normally come with the accommodations. On their check out day they were also given a complementary late check out to 5 p.m. During their stay they fished two days -- caught Mahi Mahi and even a Wahoo. They grilled their catch in their backyard and seemed to have had a good time until it came time to pay for their fuel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We have stayed at Captain Pips three years now. We are never disappointed. The apartments are older, but very clean and the grounds well maintained. The boats we have rented have been great....any questions we have had or problems have been taken care of quickly and in a timely fashion. The entire staff from management, marina staff and maintenance staff are always friendly and efficient. We stayed, this time, in the Red Snapper apartment. Our daughter and husband, at the last minute, ended up staying several nights with us and used the sleep sofa in the living room. We were not too crowded and enjoyed our evenings very much. Porky's restaurant and bar, on the premises, is great....good food and local entertainment nightly. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at Captain Pips for the second time in April 2010. We traveled with my parents and stayed in the Dolphin/Bonefish. This is a two bedroom apartment that’s very large and clean. The kitchen is huge and well equipped. With the lodging rental, you also get use of a boat. The location is great for fishing; it’s near the 7 mile bridge and a short drive to Bahia Honda State beach. This is a perfect place to stay if you want lots of room and access to a boat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booyaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We started visiting Pips when we went to the Keys to get married in 2004. We have been there each summer since and have had a great time on every visit. For the last four trips, we have combined fishing on our own in one of their boats with two or more trips on the "Papa Pip's" with Captain John "Gator" Gray.

Captain Gator and his mate have put us on nice fish every year. We have had some spectacular catches of dolphin, tuna, and various other species. If it isn't the best fishing day, Gator works twice as hard to find fish. It is pure fun to fish with people who enjoy catching fish as much as Gator does! His current mate, Dave, is great.

The room is always perfectly clean and comfortable when we arrive. The areas for sitting and cooking by the bay are always clean and inviting. The restaurant is just steps away...the food is always good (nothing better than "catch of the day" done a couple of different ways!), the music is fun, and the staff is professional and just plain nice.

If you haven't tried Pips, try visiting them and having a guide take you out on the rental boat for some great fishing. It may not be the cheapest vacation ever, but it will be money well spent!!

Thanks, Pips!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonCam2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
1.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
13.4 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway

Property: Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Address: 1410 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy clean, comfortable fully renovated accommodations, with a brand new waterfront pool. Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies or one- & two-bedroom apartments with either open-water or tropical garden views. When you stay with us you can receive up to 30% off your boat rental. We also rent kayaks, paddle boards & zayaks.1/2 mile from the 7 mile bridge. World-class fishing & diving are only minutes from your door in the beautiful Florida Keys. We also now have daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef or Pirate's Cove onboard the Spirit Power Catamaran. It's like swimming in an aquarium! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Pip`s Marina & Hideaway Hotel Marathon
Captain Pip`s Marina And Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing