We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spirit Snorkeling

Spirit Snorkeling
Ranked #2 of 80 Tours in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spirit Snorkeling of Marathon – providing daily snorkel trips to Sombrero Reef & Pirate’s Cove. Specializing in families and first time snorkelers, our friendly crew will take you on a fun filled adventure to the either the Sombrero Reef Marine Sanctuary and Lighthouse or to our special location on the Florida Bay—Pirate’s Cove. Sombrero Reef is the third largest barrier reef in the world and this beautiful 30 acre coral reef ranges from 2–30 feet deep with thousands of tropical fish. The Sombrero Lighthouse was built before the Civil War and today still helps mariners navigate the Keys with its light. Coral Reefs are among the most biologically diverse ecosystems on earth. They are second only to the tropical rain forests in the number of species they harbor, and indeed are sometimes called “The Rain Forests of the Sea”. You haven’t really seen the Keys until you’ve seen our under water areas. If the weather is too rough to go out to Sombrero Reef our dedicated crew will take you over to Pirate’s Cove, where the water is generally much calmer. Here you will see many species of tropical fish, under water plant life, lobsters and even sea horses. The water is quite shallow, making it a perfect spot to snorkel. Even sightseers enjoy our trips as many species can be seen from the boat. We take no scuba divers, we only go to shallow water snorkeling locations and Back Water Eco tours.
Ft Collins, CO
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Did snorkeling trip. Organized, friendly crew. We went out to Sombrero Lighthouse. Beautiful area along the reef. Had plenty of time to see everything in the morning trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelCrew002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    786
    175
    38
    31
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent arrangements and very good trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very well arranged, good staff, and a safe and enjoyable trip. Capt. and mate knew what they were doing, set expectations and let the folks have a good time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludowici, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Folks were friendly and knowledgable. Fast trip out and more time than almost everybody needed to swim. I'd go again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank patrick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun and sun! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived it did not look like much but we figured ok we would give them a shot. The captain and his dive master were very helpful. The lady dive master was very nice. The lady checking us in was another matter. She was abrupt and rude. Not friendly at all, very fixated on parking and telling everyone your in the wrong spot. She would repeat herself a lot. The snorkeling was really nice though lots of fish and coral. It was really bumpy going out but calm coming back.
Oh by the way if the dive master tries to give you discount tickets for lunch at Porky's BBQ next door, RUN! RUN! Very fast! It is the worst BBQ I have ever had! Even if your staving RUN!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tallain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rough seas but a nice outing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

A group of 10 of us went out on a windy day with rough seas (2-4 foot swells). The catamaran was good transport to and from the reef, the equipment was good and the crew was helpful. There are snacks and drinks available for purchase but we brought our own. Even with the rough seas visibility was good and we saw many tropical fish and a turtle. The reef did not have a lot of color but there were interesting areas to explore. Based on temperature and wind we tried to push back another day but there was not visibility. I would recommend checking weather forecasts before committing to the trip (due to our size we were encouraged to book in advance). My cousins almost brought my two young nephews (2 and 4) but left them with my parents. This was a good idea as I doubt they would have lasted the 1 3/4 hours at the reef.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 504ericd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit Snorkeling also viewed

 

Been to Spirit Snorkeling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing