We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful!!!”
Review of Bonefish Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonefish Resort
Ranked #14 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 3, 2012

First night spent in very cramped room. Not what we had reserved! Management blamed booking agency not only in our case, but also the guest in front of me at the office. We had used separate booking agencies! We were moved to a room that had a kitchenette and a small living room. As you walked across the floor, there was a severe angle to it. Obviously, the floor and cabin needed repair. I looked underneath the cabin. There was only a small piece of 6x6 precariously balanced on a cinder block (see picture) supporting the cabin. Interior doors did not close, including the bathroom door! (see picture of bathroom door where it opens up to the living/dining area).
Maybe the building meets Florida codes, according to the manager's comments to other reviews, but it would fail to meet building standards in many states. I was not expecting anything fancy, but I certainly was not expecting a dump!
The manager on duty when we checked in was defensive and rude from our very first question. Obviously, he was used to receiving guest complaints upon check in! When I asked to use the phone to call my booking agent, as I did not have a cell phone, he said I could not use the phone. He actually sent me up the road the wrong way when I asked where I might find a place that was open at night.
The attitude and place ruined our vacation experience.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

Thanks for the feedback. I'm sorry if you didn't like your accommodations at our resort. I assure you we gave you exactly the room you chose online. Our hotel is an older building that is fully in line with safety codes of the State of Florida Department of Health, and many of our guests love the "Keys-ey" atmosphere, altough we admit it's not for everyone. We are constantly working on improving and updating our property, and we are very proud of our little hotel. Hopefully on your next visit to the Keys you'll give us the opportunity to change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 207 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Do not, I repeat, do not, stay at this place. They are nasty, rude, disrespectful, and the place is a sty. And, they fail to tell you that if you try and cancel your reservation (which most people would do upoon reading these reviews) they DO NOT give you your money back. I made a reservation and the next day tried to cancel, and the man-child that answered the phone said I was not "worth getting the manager for," when I requested that I speak to his supervisor. I am moving to Marathon, and would NEVER recommend that anyone stay at this place. BEWARE.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
4  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

I'm sorry if you had a negative experience with our resort or if there was a misunderstanding about the cancellation policy, but it is clearly stated in the email confirmation we sent you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This resort is much more like a bungalow or Old Florida type of setting. It's not ritzy, so don't stay if you're expecting a hotel with an attached spa. When the tide goes out, you can walk through miles of ankle deep water and still easily reach deeper water. The pool is small, but the company offers the other motels pool for use.

There are no bugs, the towels and bedding is clean, and the staff is helpful and friendly. They have a great moonlight view, and a wonderful spot for tanning. We also got to see a lot of wildlife while staying.


I think the bad reviews come from people expected a cheap hotel type of place, with uniform rooms and continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singforthetear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thanks for the kind words! We appreciate your business and your review of our property! We hope we can accommodate you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The title refers both to location and calling this property a "resort". We booked this place as a jumping-off point for Key West as the price appeared to be reasonable. Booking was our first mistake. My credit card was charged for two rooms for two nights from the time of booking, three weeks before our visit. Upon arrival, we discovered there was no parking on site. There were no sidewalks, only a gravel "courtyard, difficult to manoeuver suitcases. To check in we had to go 300 yards down the busy highway to another resort. There were some computer problems so we never really checked in but were given keys and told things would be taken care off upon check out. The units had the appearance of 1950's style mobile homes cobbled together into two lines of units. Furnishings and fittings reflected 1950's as well, but it was reasonably clean. There was a small kitchen and even smaller bathroom with very dim lighting and a walk in shower we dared enter only wearing surf shooes. Ceilings were low and cooling was done by a window a/c unit that was taped into place and souned like an airplane revving up for take=off. It turned out that Key West was 45 minutes down the highway, which was acceptable, despite being told it was only "20 minutes or so" Our troubles went further when we checked out. At that time we dealt witha manager who had no idea of what customer service means. He boldfacedly lied when he told us the $12 per day per room was explained to us when reserving and in our confirmation e-mail we received. I had the e-mail with me and he later agreed it was not in there. It was then I learnd the room chargs, including the resort fee were already processed against my card. We tried to dispute the fee and we were told there was no return. When asked who we should complain to the young man said me, I am the general manager, and upon receiving my complaint he would just tear it up so don't waste my time. He refused to provide the name of the resort aowner or an address we could lodge our complaint to. My fried who we were travelling with (two couples) is a cop and he tried to reason with the fellow, but quickly lost patience with his intransigent position and his attitude. We had to pull him out of the office to avoid a physical confrontation from a man who is so very even-tempered. We indicated our intent to write this review and to inform the Florida state officials as well as the area Better Business Bureau. Again he told us to go ahead, he didn't care. The resort itself would barely qualify as a one star, but the attitude when we dealt with the manager was the telling feature. If you want to get ripped off and enjoy it, stay at the Bonefish resort; otherwise avoid this place by all means.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SevDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

First of all thank you for your feedback, and I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. The Bonefish Resort is a small motel, and that is exactly what we advertise it as. This is premium oceanfront property in the Florida Keys, and while we realize that our units aren’t compatible with a 5-star hotel, we feel the price is fair. If your needs are for something more than what we offer at the Bonefish Resort then our hotel group has larger and newer units available at neighboring properties, all priced accordingly. Our units are clean and comfortable, and while I won’t argue that the building is clearly an older one, we work hard to maintain it and keep it in good condition, which isn’t always easy with seasonal hurricanes and tropical storms. Please understand the attitude and atmosphere of the Keys- the high-rise condos and 5-star resorts of Miami simply aren’t available here, and quite frankly it isn’t fair to expect that.
I will attempt to address some of your complaints- we charge a 2 night deposit at the time the reservation is made, so in the case of a one- or two-night stay, we charge the full amount up front. This is our policy, and is explained clearly when we make each reservation, so there should be no surprise there. As for the nightly resort fee of $6- this is explained clearly each time a guest asks for a complete breakdown of the price, and is printed clearly on our sign-in sheet which each guest is given at check-in, so that should not be a surprise either. Based on your review I must say that you seem to be telling a rather one-sided story, and I’m sure our manager was neither rude nor disrespectful. We do have a procedure for handling disputed charges from our guests, but it does not involve allowing agitated or belligerent guests to bully our staff. Rest assured, a physical altercation would have resulted in a police report and charges filed. Again, I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy your stay, but it seems like your negative experience is based mostly on starting a fight with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Room was small. Aircond noisy. Middle of nothing. Shower was too small ond there was no water. Even sleeping in caravan is more enjoyable. Room was hot and smelly. Only good thing was sunset.

Room Tip: Sleep outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

First of all thank you for your feedback, and I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. The Bonefish Resort is a small motel, and that is exactly what we advertise it as. This is premium oceanfront property in the Florida Keys, and while we realize that our units aren’t compatible with a 5-star hotel, we feel the price is fair. If your needs are for something more than what we offer at the Bonefish Resort then our hotel group has larger and newer units available at neighboring properties, all priced accordingly. Our units are clean and comfortable, and while I won’t argue that the building is clearly an older one, we work hard to maintain it and keep it in good condition, which isn’t always easy with seasonal hurricanes and tropical storms. Please understand the attitude and atmosphere of the Keys- the high-rise condos and 5-star resorts of Miami simply aren’t available here, and quite frankly it isn’t fair to expect that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I can't believe the health department allows Bonefish Resort to stay in business. No parking, our efficiency had a hole in the roof. Our bed linens had urine stains on them. The door didn't close so the ghetto air box ducted taped to the wall wouldn't stay cold. Never, Never again would I stay here. The pool is the size of a cracker jack box. I want my $127.19 back.

Room Tip: Run away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FISHINCHIC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

I'm sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay. I'll start off by saying we are fully in-line with the rules and regulations of the State of Florida Department of Health. Furthermore, our units do not have holes in the roof or urine stains on the linens. Nor are the A/C units taped into the windows. Tape is put around the unit to secure a seal between the unit itself and the window frame, which is a totally common practice and should not be shocking or surprising to anyone. I'm sorry if you were unable to close the door, but rest assured, the doors work. The Bonefish Resort is a small motel, and that is exactly what we advertise it as. This is premium oceanfront property in the Florida Keys, and while we realize that our units aren’t compatible with a 5-star hotel, we feel the price is fair. If your needs are for something more than what we offer at the Bonefish Resort then our hotel group has larger and newer units available at neighboring properties, all priced accordingly. Our units are clean and comfortable, and while I won’t argue that the building is clearly an older one, we work hard to maintain it and keep it in good condition, which isn’t always easy with seasonal hurricanes and tropical storms. Please understand the attitude and atmosphere of the Keys- the high-rise condos and 5-star resorts of Miami simply aren’t available here, and quite frankly it isn’t fair to expect that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I become nauseous just thinking about this place. Refrigerator was off and smelled like dead fish when we opened it. Bugs all over. Tiny shower. Room so close to busy highway I thought we were sleeping on US I. We should have slept in the car. Locked into $170 per night for three nights! No refund. Pool is tiny, dirty. One broken lounge chair. No services. No beach. Bad. Bad. Bad. Stay away.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clamdigger47770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonefishResort58, Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

First of all thank you for your feedback, and I’m sorry if you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. The Bonefish Resort is a small motel, and that is exactly what we advertise it as. This is premium oceanfront property in the Florida Keys, and while we realize that our units aren’t compatible with a 5-star hotel, we feel the price is fair. If your needs are for something more than what we offer at the Bonefish Resort then our hotel group has larger and newer units available at neighboring properties, all priced accordingly. Our units are clean and comfortable, and while I won’t argue that the building is clearly an older one, we work hard to maintain it and keep it in good condition, which isn’t always easy with seasonal hurricanes and tropical storms. An effect of being located on an island is that there is a finite amount of land available, so one can only get so far from the highway before finding oneself in the ocean. There's really nothing we can do about the placement and location of the highway. Please understand the attitude and atmosphere of the Keys- the high-rise condos and 5-star resorts of Miami simply aren’t available here, and quite frankly it isn’t fair to expect that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.9 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
10.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonefish Resort

Address: 58070 Overseas Hwy, M.M. 58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonefish resort is a quaint oceanfront motel nestled in a tropical setting, located on the island of Marathon, Florida, in the middle of Florida Keys. Rooms are decorated with an old Florida Keys charm. A sandy oceanfront picnic area, with heated swimming pool and sun bathing area are enjoyed by our guests. If you are yearning for a memorable vacation experience then make us your favorite secret in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bonefish Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonefish Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing