We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The worst ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bonefish Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonefish Resort
Ranked #16 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Caution! The hotel will charge you $25 even if you cancel months in advance. My father booked the hotel without first reading the reviews and when he cancelled the reservation, they charged $25 per room. . Be extra sure before you book and read the reviews carefully - most of them are horrible! They are desperate for your money!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sove4547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    21
    28
    109
See reviews for
45
103
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

My husband and I went to Key West during Christmas, we booked a standard room in Bonefish Motel at noon and gave the owner our credit card information and everything. He told us to call him after we went back from Key West after 9pm. We trusted him that we got a place to stay at night and had a great time in Key West.

But UNFORTUNATELY, after we drove back to the motel around 11pm, we called his office like thousand times. Nobody was there, we could do nothing else but call his name MIKE, finally he woke up and told us he SOLD OUT the room which we booked!!!!

It was at midnight and we had NOWHERE to go!!!!! All the hotels are full, you can imagine during the Christmas time. Thanks for the nearby Holiday Inn, otherwise we could only stay in the car whole night!!!

I never saw the real room, but I definitely hate that guy whom you can not trust.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carfield95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We really enjoyed the spacious room in a kind of a shed. This is a little and really charming hotel. The place is quiet, you can enjoy your meal in the garden, go to the swimming (which are at the number of three in the whole resort and you do have free access of all of them), and go back to your room. The beach is nice in the biggest hotel of the resort, and you can have a rest there if you want to. there is the dolphin research center nearby, marathon, and a natural and protected park. This is the good place to stop before going to Key west. I would go back there, and in this hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I must be the only one that is going to reverse the negativity. I could not find the place to begin with and was about to give up and think it was all a bad joke and I had done my hard earned!

After awhile I got some local help, was very polite asking for help! The Bush Telegraph works well in these parts. Once I had found it I approached what I thought were staff members As I could not see an Office. These people were a little standoffish to begin with, but I smiled and was polite. I walked up the road to YellowTail Resort.

I met a young man called Christian. The Penny finally dropped, this is bohemian, this is offbeat, go with it and all would be fine, and so began a great stay!

My room was excellent for what it is mean't to be - an old style "keys holiday bungalow".

My room was spotless, and the housekeeping staff friendly and I also adopted a pet cat that I fed each day!

Take it for what it is, chill out, leave the city attitude behind. The word spreads fast and the whole community will embrace you. If you want TV etc. On this holiday forget it - relax and enjoy a once in a lifetime bohemian experience

Room Tip: Near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway from Miami. The place isn't fancy, but is clean and has everything you could need. They've done a really great job with the pool/beach area which has a nice view. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. The staff was very friendly and we made good use of the full kitchen (including blender!) in the cottage room we stayed in (311).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibbsg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We were very disappointed and although we had prepaid for the room, we chose to stay somewhere else and "eat" the money we had already spent. The property was totally misrepresented by the pictures online. The rooms are very small - barely room to navigate between bed and walls. Cleanliness was questionable - spiders and webs on bathroom ceiling.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed for three nights and loved it. Perfect location. Rustic, charming and a real Keys experience. Highly recommened. Real characther!!!!

Close to Dolphin Research Center which is AMAZING!!!

Will definately be back next time i come to Florida!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NushKoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
9.9 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.6 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonefish Resort

Property: Bonefish Resort
Address: 58070 Overseas Hwy, M.M. 58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6023
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bonefish Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonefish resort is a quaint oceanfront motel nestled in a tropical setting, located on the island of Marathon, Florida, in the middle of Florida Keys. Rooms are decorated with an old Florida Keys charm. A sandy oceanfront picnic area, with heated swimming pool and sun bathing area are enjoyed by our guests. If you are yearning for a memorable vacation experience then make us your favorite secret in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bonefish Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonefish Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing