We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont judge a book by its cover !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Yellowtail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellowtail Inn
Ranked #13 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
floriad
1 review
“dont judge a book by its cover !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

it wont break the bank for a little TLC . and dont forget your to bring your own dish soap and dont mind the palmetto"s bugs that is . the pictures make this place look great but there is no beach and the pool is smaller than my tub at home . other than that it could be a very nice place just put some money back into the place !!!! ps the bed was harder then the floor !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suptecjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacekb1, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
As we always appreciate honest feedback from our patrons allow me to disagree with statements made in your review: our property does have a beach! Although Florida Keys beaches are not as grand as Miami beaches for instance, our beach is actually one of the largest in the keys! As to the pool, perhaps we have failed to properly inform you that adjacent property which is also part of the resort is equipped with large pool, which guests of Yellowtail can also use. We constantly upgrade the rooms and facilities and new beds are coming this fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    56
    19
    20
    109
See reviews for
76
92
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

This place is truly a best kept secret. i went with my husband and toddler, and we rented an efficiency, which was exceptionally clean. Each room is equipped with a DVD player which was a major convenience for the baby, as well as access to rent FREE movies from the lobby area.
We enjoyed the convenience of having a bbq grill on our outside deck, which by the way once you open the door to your room your feet are practically already in the sand which is like having a room on the beach,.
This place is close to all major attractions including if you want to do a day trip to key west, sombrero beach or bahia honda.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiga13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

I loved this place! rooms were clean, a bit old but quaint. The staff FANTASTIC. The setting and views to DIE for!! Just because you read some bad reports..don't pass this one by. When calling the staff, tell them exactly what your needs are and they will most likely take you. for example, tell them that you are your spouse are taller, because a couple of the rooms do have lower ceilings. Our bed was on the firmer side..but the futon was sooo comfy. Communication with the staff is KEY!! they are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luana74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

The reviews I read didn't rave about this place but indicated that it was clean and basic. I was looking for somewhere on the keys where me, my husband and 2 grown up children could chill on the Keys beaches at an affordable price. The 'efficiency' one-bedroomed accommodation advertised for 4 people was to say the least VERY basic but more importantly very dirty and rundown. The only 'bathroom' had no proper door and to access it we had to walk through the bedroom. The blankets for the sofabed were unbelievably (!) moth-ridden. To make it worse, we could hear every footstep in the room above. Not cheap at over $160 per night in April. We complained and were moved to a 3 BEDROOOM villa (yes!) next door attached to Bonefish resort. Clearly better but also very run down and dirty (found several cockroaches). We are of the view that the they are obviously used to complaints and moving people. The whole area is rundown with no decent bars/restaurants. To be fair they were as accommodating as they could be, offering our money back if we didn't accept the 3 bed villa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacekb1, Manager at Yellowtail Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
I would like to thank you for taking the time and providing us with your feedback. I am really sorry that your visit to Florida Keys did not fulfill your expectations. Indeed you booked initially an efficiency at Yellowtail Inn - efficiencies are mainly designed for two people only but Hotel does accept a maximum of four persons, should they want to save on the cost of accommodations.
Not really an ideal choice for larger parties, especially ones that are looking for privacy from their children but allowed by the Hotel. Since you did not like your initial choice our primary concern as any people in the service industry was to try to "make you happy". Hence the complimentary upgrade to 3BDR villa at no additional cost. Sure, we could have charged you more but we decided it against it in hopes of creating a positive experience for you and your family. It appears that our efforts were not appreciated. This however will not deter our staff from providing friendly and accommodating service to future patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

It took a day for us to settle in, having come from the Fountainbleu resort in Miami (it was night & day) but once we did, we thoroughly loved our stay here.
We had an ocean front 2 bedroom place with a huge deck that was maybe 4 yards from the beach.
Pros:
The view is really just breath-taking!
The staff helpful, free DVD rental, good pool and BBQ's.
Very chill scene
Pets are welcome
15-20 drive from Bahia Honda which is not to be missed

Cons:
A bit rustic (scratchy towels & out-dated furniture)
No bar on site (really like to have cocktails brought to me while I bake in the sun!
You have to drive to get to a good restaurant (there is one on site but it was closed when we were there)

I would give it a solid A as long as you aren't expecting a RESORT. Its definitely a hotel with a view.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

This hotel looks great from the outside and for sure that is one of its best qualities. Our room (#109) was not exactly as described when I called and booked the reservation, but it was fine. Perhaps not as clean as one would have expected--no dishsoap, paper towels or any of those helpful little touches in the kitchen. The AC in the bedroom had a terrible odor, but once I turned it off, the rotten smell was gone.

The beach is lovely and there are lots of chairs to relax. Did not use the pool, but it looked nice enough.

I dealt with one lady over the phone who was so nice and helpful--as was another lady at the front desk--good service and friendly. However, the bald man at the desk in the evening is surly, rude and down-right unfriendly. What a turn-off! Another guest remarked that he had the same impression, so it was not just one person's opinion.
Overall not a bad place to stay--be sure to get a room at the back with a view of the water!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Washboardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

If you want the cold & sterile environment of a Hilton, then this place isn't for you--but what it offers is so much better! We were used to large hotels with lots of rooms and this was our first departure from that. It was a truly wonderful surprise! I don't know if this place would appeal to the average business traveler, but it did to us. We felt like we were enjoying our own private beach cottage on a far away island. The environment was quiet, warm & inviting, comfortable, and even homey (in a good way!). A colleague and I booked a 2-day stay at the Yellowtail Inn while we were doing some business in the Keys. Even though we were there for business we simply couldn't help but relax thanks to the gorgeous room and beachfront views we had. The spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite we stayed in was clean and complete with a dining room, dishwasher, refrigerator, and microwave. There were also additional sleeping options with futons and couches--we wished we had additional guests to share it with. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The best part was the view from the living room. We were surrounded on 3 sides by large picture windows that gave us the perfect view of the quiet private beach area and pier. It reminded me of my vacation to Jamaica. I woke up early just to watch the sunrise from the living room. Even when we had the opportunity to stay in Key West for a night--we declined the offer so we could hurry back to our room and enjoy the surroundings. All of our stress just melted away. This is the place to get away from it all! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paisley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
4.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
10.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
21.1 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowtail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowtail Inn

Property: Yellowtail Inn
Address: 58162 Overseas Hwy, MM58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-6024
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowtail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
changing to LaTeDa By The Sea www.latedabythesea.com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellowtail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowtail Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing