We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yellowtail Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawks Cay Resort(Duck Key)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveler rating
39
56
19
20
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
56
19
20
110
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 244 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We arrived at the Yellowtail Inn, having flown from London to Miami, followed by a rather long drive! We were made to feel so welcome by the wonderful and helpful staff - it was fantastic.
It would be hard to beat this place for location - right on its own little bay. The kids could walk out of the door and be on the beach - perfect.
We stayed a week and vowed we'd return. It was a truly lovely time - we rented their kayaks, went fishing with the kids off the jetty, barbequed on the beach, cooled off in the plunge pool and nodded off in the hammock! Just generally relaxed. And our apartment was great - amazing views, really spacious, clean and family-friendly. Plus, the location is great for exploring the middle keys with all its fishing, dolphin-watching and the not-to-be-missed turtle hospital.
A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2adults2kids1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Recently in the keys for a wedding, we decided to bring our dogs with us. Let me start by saying, we are not hotel snobs- I have stayed in the keys numerous times, and understand the lifestyle & the norm. Layed back, outdated, slow service - I can handle those things - it is the keys after all. As one of the only places we were able to find that would take our dogs, I was willing to suck it up & deal with some minor nastyness - the extension cord draped behind the sink to run the refrigerator, dirty tile floor, wall unit a/c, tiny tiny shower stall, scuff marks all over the walls, the tattered maid card on the table since 1972- ok whatever. We figured we would just stay out of the room as much as possible. But, when we went to get into bed, under the sheets was crawling with bugs!! And, not just one or two - there were about 10 of them. Not roaches, not ants, and I don't think they were bedbugs either- I don't know what these things were, but they were disgusting. Needless to say we were not about to sleep in the room, and the on call maintenance guy offered no solutions at all - told us the office would have to help us when they open at 8am, and he had no possible way to contact any management- they were "out of town". So- he left us stuck with 2 dogs at 11:30 at night with no where to sleep and a bed infested with crawling bugs. Thank goodness we were in town with a larger group, some of which were staying next door at the Casa Del Sol condo (much, much nicer- but no dogs allowed)- so we stayed there & had to leave the dogs alone in the disgusting bug filled room overnight. Ultimately they allowed us to bring our dogs to the condo next door the following day for our second night (same owners as Yellowtail), as the place was completely full and they had no where else to put us. They have also promised to refund the room, which was pre-paid in full - hopefully they will keep their word on processing the refund.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank lvftlauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed at the Yellowtail because it was close to a wedding that we went to in Grassy Key. This is the only reason we did not leave because it was convenient for us, and we would have lost the deposit and quite frankly a lot of the resorts around Grassy Key looked similar to this one, at least on the outside. We actually had a room booked at the sister property (Bonefish) and when we went to that room it was very dark and we could hear the noise from the road (it was right next to the highway). We "upgraded" (I use that term very loosely) to the room at the Yellow Tail, which was Room 102. I hated that room and was literally counting down the days until our departure. It was the type of room where even after you took a shower you still felt gross staying in it. It was the smallest room we have ever stayed in, the furniture did not fit it, the tv stand blocked the way to the bathroom, the microwave looked like it had never been cleaned, the bed was uncomfortable, we kept bumping into each other because it was so tiny, the bathroom was miniscule, the entire place made us claustraphobic. We had no room to put our suitcase and had to put it on top of the fridge. The room had to have been tool shed in a former life and should have stayed that way. It was in a dilapidated state, in serious need of some upgrades. It appeared that other people had larger rooms with kitchens that were probably better. We would have done anything to be in any of the other rooms but they were all booked. The place does have a nice beach area which appears to be rare in the keys. The pool is tiny (about the size of a hottub). The pictures on the website of the rooms are deceiving, but the property itself is "ok". Even though it is pet friendly I would not even want to bring my dogs to the room we stayed in. If you don't mind staying at a place on par (or lower) with the Motel 6 then you may like this because it at least has some nice scenery. If you are looking for Hampton Inn or better, than this may not be your place.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotlantagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

This was the sixth time we stayed at Yellowtail Inn and I can't wait to get back. We live in Key West and when we need some R&R we go up to Grassy Key and stay at The Yellowtail. There is nothing like spending the entire day on the beach staring out into the wild blue yonder or casting a line from the dock and pulling in snapper. There are watersports available if your feeling too relaxed. Best of all about the Yellowtail is that it is pet friendly. It's nice taking the dog and not having to worry about her. The rooms are cabin style and represent what the Keys are all about. They are clean and come with kitchens. What more could you ask for. If you are truly looking to get lost for a weekend try staying at the Yellowtail and let the TRUE beauty of the Key's take you away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I live about 3 hours from the Yellow Tail Inn and have been there several times. I dont know what the people who complained expected. Sometimes people dont realize what the Keys are all about. They think it will have these huge grand beaches and high-end resorts. Thats not what the Keys are all about. The Yellow Tail Inn is a great place. It is a small property with bungalow type rooms. It has your typical Keys beach (which means not great for swimming but great if you have a boat). Its a nice and inexpensive place to lay back and enjoy the Florida sun for a few days with your pets. It is clean. I personally think it doesnt need one bit of upgrading. Its old Florida, which is hard to come by these days. I find it to be a wonderful place to go with my dog to relax and to soak in all the great things that the Keys have to offer at a reasonable price. If you are looking for the Hilton, you should stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldengirl_fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews