We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed at White Sands Inn”
Review of White Sands Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Sands Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2007

We just returned from a vacation spent in the Florida Keys. For part of our trip, we stayed at the White Sands Inn on Grassy Key. We based our choice of White Sands on both The Insiders Guide for Florida Keys and ratings on TripAdvisor.
We were terribly disappointed in our choice. The online photos show beautiful white beaches ending at clear water. This was not the case... the grounds were unkempt and the area along the water was covered in dead plants, and the water extending a few yards from the shore was full of plants, making it impossible to swim. It was low tide when we arrived but even at high tide, the beach was terrible. It appeared that the beach area and water has never been raked or cleaned out.
The dock was very run-down and the promised "kayaks, pedal boats and other boats" were broken, rusted and generally in terrible condition. We were told that the oars, etc. were in a closet under a set of stairs, which they were, but the closet was littered with junk and the equipment supposedly available was broken or missing.
Our room did have a lovely view of palm trees and the Gulf waters past them. The light above the door to our room was broken, The vertical blinds were missing slats, the windows leaked during rain, which got the pillows of both beds wet, since the beds were pushed to the window wall with no headboards.
The bathroom was dirty, the baseboards and walls had dust, dirt and cobwebs on them, as did the wall in the kitchen area.
Dishes in the cabinets had sticky residue on them, so I had to wash each dish and utensil both before and after using them.
There was one small towel bar in the bathroom which barely held two folded bath towels. Towels were replaced daily, if they were left on the floor, but no other cleaning was done. The inn did not provide bathroom cleaning, sheet changing or bed making.
The office was supposed to be open until 8:00 PM but on two evenings between 6:00 and 7:00 PM when I tried to go in, it was closed and the manager was not to be found. There was a phone to use to contact him, but it did not work.
We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 255 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2006

The White Sands Inn is a lot like your friend's lake cabin; it's a little shabby, but very clean and comfortable. We were the only guests on the property during our off-season visit, so noise and privacy weren't a problem. In fact we rarely saw the owner or any other human being during our stay. We were happy to sit in the sun and enjoy the beautiful Atlantic and take an occasional dip in the pool. The amount of rotting seaweed and dead jellyfish made swimming from the man-made beach unappealing and at night the breeze off the ocean was kinda smelly. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families because of the jellyfish. We didn't learn that those blue bubbles were Portugese Man o' Wars until we visited Bahia Honda State Park, but one touch would have ruined our vacation on the first day. A warning would have been appropriate and it would only have taken a few minutes a day to keep the swimming area raked clean of them.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kt*baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2006

When searching for a quiet place to vacation we searched web sites and read several reviews. The white sands Inn seemed to have mixed reviews but great pictures on the web page. We had a great week and the room we stayed in was clean and all appliances were in working order. At this point I would like to clarify that we were not looking for room service, a five star restaurant, or any other extra services. Simply a quiet place to cook our own meals if we chose to (and we did) and have a beautiful view of the ocean (and we did) and relax in a hammock by the sea, and we did. I would like to add a few notes about being in the Keys; there are a few good places to go and enjoy the beach but do not expect white sandy beaches along every mile of the Keys, and most places are right off US 1 which makes them easy to find.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happyjoyousfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

A good value for the money, but you could probably do better. The place is very clean and the family that owns it is really nice. However, the rooms are VERY small and cramped, and so is the pool. There is no beach, it's just very shallow water that you can go out on their boats in. That actually was a lot of fun, but it is not like the ocean or anything --I think it's actually the bay.
Another thing I didn't like was the fact that you could hear everyone else from within your room, and that could be a real problem if you are a light sleeper like me and your neighbors are noisy!
But overall the place is pretty and the staff is nice, just don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed: February 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dirtbikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2006

We had a very relaxing stay at the White Sands Inn. Our room was small (which I knew when I booked it), but was adequate enough space for three nights. The pool area was nice and used alot because the waterfront was not a good place to lay out. We went to Sombrero beach twice and Bahia Honda State Park on the way to Key West. Bahia Honda has a beautiful beach call Sandspur Beach. Although seaweed is washing up on a lot of shores in Florida, they manage to keep theirs clean.

I checked out other properties in the Grassy Key and Marathon area. The water is the same at most. Murky. For the price, White Sands Inn is a decent place if all you need is a room and plan on getting out and about.

Make sure you visit Keys Fisheries for a great dinner and sunset. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank bgirl1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2006

Our family of four recently stayed at the White Sands Inn for 3 nights. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The room was small but was adequate for our needs. We didn't spend a lot of time indoors as the weather was great and we went to Sombrero Beach, Bahai Honda State Park and to the Dolphin Research Center while we were there. We did enjoy sitting out on the beach watching the beautiful sunrises and enjoying a cup of coffee (maker provided, provide your own filters and coffee. I hadn't been to the Keys before so I was a little suprised at how close the inn is to the road but it seems that is just how it is in the Keys. We ran the fan in our room at night and we did not hear any outside noise. The pool is small but warm enough and clean. We did use the kayaks once, it is a bit shallow but it was fun! The owners are doing a nice job of keeping the place looking good, providing for a relaxing setting and are just nice people! I would go back if I have the opportunity!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Cannotsitstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

My husband and I went to the Florida Keys for our honeymoon. We stayed 3 nights in Key West and hated it! Our hotel itself was great but the city was so dirty. We were really looking forward to Grassy Key and a little time to relax. Driving in, we saw some nasty looking "inns" and motels so we were expecting the worst. White Sands was a huge sigh of relief! The grounds were beautiful, the view was beautiful, the beach was great (even though it was man-made), and the pool was warm. We stayed in the Sunrise Guesthouse room B which is the house the owners purchased which is adjacent to the original inn. The rooms seemed a bit newer than the original inn and our bathroom was brand new. The room was comfortable, just big enough, and had all the necessary amenities. We didn't venture out much but the city of Marathon is only about 10 minutes away with grocery stores, shops, eateries, etc... We were too busy relaxing that we only drove in to town for pizza, beer, and one night out for dinner. We did go to Curry Hammock State Park briefly... it is quite small but the beach is nice. The owners were great (it turns out that their primary residence is only about a mile from where my husband and I live) and there is a little gift shop in the office area. This place was great if you really want to get away to the Keys and relax... it was incredible! The only downside was that the beach was man-made but we were still able to go into the ocean and kayak, swim, and paddleboat (all free). I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lucy4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
8.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
4.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
9.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
9.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
10 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Inn

Address: 57622 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 57.5 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050-5625
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: $75 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing