We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with great location in Marathon, Florida Keys”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Hotel with great location in Marathon, Florida Keys”
Reviewed March 10, 2007

We stayed at the Banana Bay Resort in Marathon from February 7-13, 2007. The location was excellent, right in the middle of the Keys--so Key West was about 1 hour away and nice beaches were within easy reach. If you can't tolerate smoke, don't stay at this hotel though. None of the rooms are non-smoking--all they could do was put some sort of air purifier in our room which did not do a good job of getting rid of the cigarette smell (we are both non-smokers). We ended up buying some room deodorizer candles to make the place smell tolerable, This hotel was hit by the last big hurricane in 2005 and about 8 feet of water went through the area--so the hallways smell of mildew and the carpets have stains all over them. This hotel could definitely use a makeover. The property was very nice though, very lush with lots of tropical plants. The breakfast was decent with fruits, cereals, muffins, bagels, juices, boiled eggs some days. The little beach and snorkeling area they have advertised are not much. The snorkeling area is full of sea grass. Nice places to eat not far away are Five Brothers for their Cuban sandwiches and 7 Mile Grill for cheap tasty meals--would recommend their breakfast. Nearby nice beaches are Sombrero Beach and Bahia Honda State Park--water is as clear as in the Bahamas. All in all it was an ok place to stay but we would probably not stay there again unless it was renovated.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness of room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    291
    192
    108
    111
See reviews for
294
429
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crosby, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

Stayed here with my two gal-pals on our annual girls weekend. What a lovely little spot, tucked away from the hustle and bustle but still convenient to everything. The rooms were very cute with a small refrigerator (good for beverages!) The pool and hot tub were beautiful. The grounds have wonderful plantings, and the front desk staff were very helpful. Met lots of fun people!

  • Liked — The beautiful tropical location.
  • Disliked — Gulf-view isn't really. You have to lean WAAAY out on your balcony!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bluerainy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

Another review said to realize that most properties on the Keys are older and not as modern as some travelers might expect. With this in mind, we were satisfied with the Banana Bay Resort in Marathon. It is right off the road but once you enter, the grounds are beautiful, full of various trees and plants. There is a lovely pool and hot tub. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast is served poolside but is just average - bagels, english muffins, somewhat over the hill fruit - but just enough to get you started on the day. We chose a king suite with balcony overlooking the marina. It came with refrigerator, hair dryer, etc. It was older, with some fraying wallpaper, but large and clean. The entry however had worn carpet and somewhat of a used smell. Unfortunately, the watersports were closed for the three days we were there. Someone came around to talk about them the morning we were leaving. Check on availability if that is what you're interested in. There is a great restaurant about three blocks away - Keys Fisheries - serving moderately priced fresh seafood and drinks in a rustic setting.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — older accommodations
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorktraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

Whilst I didn't encounter the problems some reviewers have this place was nothing to write home about. As it was almost empty we were supposed upgraded to a room with a view (glimse of the bay through the trees). The room it'self was a bit worn and in need of re-furbishment but it was clean. The pool is a reasonable size for a smallish hotel. The coin laundry was very convenient as was the free internet access in the lobby. The free continental breakfast was poor and we didn't bother with it after the first day. Overall OK but if I went back to Marathon I'd look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

My family and I stayed here for one night. The location is good but is in need of much repair.
Would not stay there again unless they remodled from the Hurricane.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The condition
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sirk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

I have to say, I was dissapointed with my stay at this resort. I happen to go here every year with my family and it seems to be going down hill. I hate to sound petty but the one thing that made my trip even worse was the terrible witch of a bartender. She was constantly watching our group, 6 adults and one child, telling us she would kick us out if she caught us bringing in alcohol. She would scream across the entire pool area saying things like, "I am watching you." We were all adults, acting as adults and this woman made us feel very uncomfortable. I can't believe one person can ruin a trip. We finally gave up and left the pool area. Which was sad because we were paying to stay at the hotel and she made us re locate.

Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank auntdacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2006

My family and I stayed here for five days. The rooms are fine and so is the location.
But,
There website is not exactly accurate. The restaurant is closed. The Tiki bar is closed. There are approximately 15 boat slips missing. All of this was a result of Hurricane Wilma last year. This was not stated when we made reservations. To top it off the resort has been sold to a developer and the whole place will be torn down.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank BocaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#11 of 17 in Marathon
41 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
785 reviews
8.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Property: Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing