We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to go back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed May 28, 2006

I read some of the reviews about Banana Bay on this site and was of two minds on staying there but I figured I'd give it a chance.

We arrived early and our room was ready so we were allowed to check in early. Our room was gorgeous, much nicer than expected...we even had a canopy bed! I read over and over again that they had had hurricane damage but I did not see any.

All of the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The rooms do not have safes but they have one at the front desk, all you have to do is ask.

The pool was very large and kept very clean and was never very crowded. The beach at the resort was very small and disappointing, but we were not planning on spending much time there anyway.

All in all this was a terrific place to stay and I cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShayB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2006

Stayed at Banana Bay in Marathon for a couple of nights after three nights at the beautiful Paradise Inn in Key West. Room was dingy and needed redecorating; bugs in the shower; sheets were dirty. There appeared to be no security or system to prevent non-guests from walking into the building housing the rooms, particularly at night after reception closes, and rooms had no safe. The staff seemed nice but the place felt kind of depressed. I can obviously understand if they are recovering from hurricane damage, and was prepared for that, but it doesn't explain the unpleasant, indifferently cleaned and overpriced room, the fact I didn't feel completely secure there, or the inconsiderately loud banging vacuuming of stairs right outside the room at 7am! I wasn't happy there and sadly it diminished my enjoyment of my last couple of days in the beautiful Keys.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2006

This Banana Bay resort was slightly better than the one they have in Key West. At least this one in Marathon Key has a pool bar! The restaurant was awful. Rooms were slightly better than OK, about the only thing going for this resort really. They blamed Hurricane Wilma for everything but no other resort seemed to have facilities as bad as this one. The only good thing going for it was the Hurricane Bar next door which served the best food in Marathon and bands were pretty good as well! There was also an excellent dive centre next door.

4  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore
214
Reviewed February 11, 2006

To start with the positive, the rooms were clean and nicely furnished, and the continental b-fast good. However, the information provided on the Banana Bay website is out of date -- Hurricane Wilma devastated the dock area, including the beach side Tiki Bar. In addition, the "garden view" rooms include many that overlook a parking lot -- nicely landscaped, but still a parking lot. The pool side bar was advertised to close at sunset but didn't stay open that late. And the restaurant was not open for lunch or dinner. So, several advertised amenities were lacking.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NYC
213
Reviewed February 11, 2006

After a warning at check-in that the grounds weren't all they used to be due to Hurricane Wilma, we still loved it! The room was very pretty, with a comfortable bed, and a private balcony looking out to the marina. Damage from the hurricane was quite evident, but didn't take away from our stay at all.

The poolside staff was so friendly. We spent two afternoons sitting poolside, sipping drinks, watching football, and chatting with the staff. They gave us great recommendations for dinner and late night snacks, tips for local driving off the main roads, and great conversation.

Our stay in Marathon was a break before heading to Key West from Ft. Lauderdale, but next trip there, we're staying our entire time at Banana Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NE PA
14
Reviewed February 4, 2006

My husband and I honeymooned here in 2003. We met a great couple who got married at Banana Bay. I wish we did the same thing. It was very peaceful and relaxing after our chaos for the wedding. We were close to the Aquarium and lots of resturants. The food was delicious at the resturant. Breakfast was always fresh. We had a cozy, clean room. We had the pool and the gulf all to ourselves most days. The sunset was beautiful from the tiki bar and the entertainment was great (lots of J Buffett). We enjoyed talking to the fisherman at the marina. They taught me how to filet fish properly. The pictures I have are memorable and I look at them a lot. We now have a daughter and it's a great family stay as well. The staff is very nice and personalable. Will stay here again and again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

After leaving our 3 night stay at Banana bay, the hotel left me without much feeling. I didnt really dislike or like it, it was simply an average resort in the Keys. The check-in process was very easy, but they refused to upgrade me even though there were plenty of rooms available. In fact she was kinda snippy about it, as if to say " how dare you ask for an upgrade?". The rooms was large, but our non-smoking room reaked of smoke. Other then that the rooms were clean but somewhat bland. The view from our balcony was almost non-existent, it looked right into some trees and then into the parking lot. The pool was OK, it had a nice little bar area with friendly bartenders and some decent poolside snacks. The breakfast buffet was a real downer and truley laughable. Dont expect any kind of meal at all. They have a man made beach which isnt really a beach, more like a rocks with a cutout sitting area. They did tell you that before you came though, I just thought it would be a litte nicer then it was. I did like the tiki bar down near the water, it was a fun place to have some drinks at the end of the day and watch a sunset. All in all the Banana Bay Resort is fine for most people, the prices are reasonable. Just dont go expecting luxury anything like that of a Hyatt or Sherton. If you keep that in mind you will probably be somewhat pleased with this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank icem2829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
18.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $222 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing