We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Went down for a day of fishing. Great service and clean rooms. Price was right. Good stay with no surprises. Perfect for two nights. Staff was attentive and quick to respond to our not being able to sign on the internet. It was our fault but staff's response was almost instantaneous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter P, General Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Greetings and thank you for your kind review of Banana Bay Resort. I am especially glad the staff was attentive and was able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next stay at Banana Bay and hope you continue to visit our place in Paradise. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.
Thank you
Pete Policastro
General Manager
305-731-9860

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

636 - 642 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

With this being our first trip to the Keys, we were unsure of where to stay and the type of resort to stay in. We wanted to experience Key West but did not want to book our entire trip in Key West. If you are planning a similar trip to the Keys, I suggest booking a room in Marathon. Marathon Key has many restaurants and stores. The drive to Key West is short. We didn't visit Sombrero Beach but the sunning beach at Banana was much nicer than the beaches in Key West. The water at the marina was very clear which provided a great view of the marine life that surrounded the marina.
The pool at Banana Bay looked great. However, did not have time to enjoy it. The sunset was
Now for my review of the room. I think it was relatively clean. How're ever, the mattresses are covered in sheets that used to be white but are now a "dirty" white. The box springs literally drag the floor. I think the mattresses are covered in a plastic wrap, similar to that on a baby bed mattress. The door to our room was incredibly dirty with a footprint on the outside. I was really hoping it was not from being kicked in. The smell in the hallway was of wet carpet. When we first entered our room, the smell was overwhelming. It smelled like some type of deodorant. We opened the sliding door to let it air out. All of the faults we found can easily be fixed.
Compared to prices of other resorts, this was a good value. You definitely can save money by staying here. This resort needs a tremendous amount of TLC. If the owners could find the resources for updates, I would recommend the resort to anyone. Banana Bay has so much potential. I am sure at one time, the landscaping was beautiful. It really needs to be manicured. There are tennis courts that my children were planning on using. There was so much dirt and debris, they couldn't use them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

this place was so-so. our room was clean and super quiet. the staff was miserable, though. the pool was dirty and when a member of our party asked for a special item from the front desk, the lady rolled her eyes.. felt like we were bugging them instead of being taken care of.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank WatchUsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

clean rooms. walk to the marina and the sunset views. clean pool and the drinks at the bar was good. no restaurants in the facility but many within driving distance. beaches in the keys are absolutely fabulous and many public ones are available, all in fifteen minute drive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwRamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Banana Bay Resort and Marina. Our resort is centrally located to some of the finest beaches and other areas of interest. Marathon has a large selection of restaurants with some of the finest seafood available in the Florida Keys and all of it is nearby. We hope that you will return soon and take advantage of our pool and amazing sunsets.
Thank You, Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I loved this place, we almost stayed a second night after staying the first night and still regret that we didn't. I read the reviews and was really nervous, but we got a good deal on one of those booking sites so thought we would try it. We were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were huge and it even had a balcony, very quiet and peaceful. OK it was somewhat run down but so what, the carpet as you enter the building somewhat stained, so what, old decor, so what. It was very comfortable and the pool was huge and gorgeous with a nice spa, I imagined how i t once was and how it could be again. Apparently it has been bought over by a new owner and they do plan on spending alot of money on renovations. So you better take your chance while you can otherwise you wont be able to afford it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jamjar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
I am delighted to hear that you found Banana Bay Resort and Marina to be an enjoyable place to stay. I am glad that you found that although we are located in the center of town, the tropical vegetation that surrounds you provides a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon so that you can enjoy our Resort again.
Thank You, Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked a few weeks ahead of Memorial Day weekend which is a big weekend in the keys. Even that far ahead, affordable rooms were disappearing quickly so we grabbed this one. Then we started reading the reviews. Our expectations were lowered and we were pleasantly surprised. I'm a Florida native so I know older motels/hotels and how the weather affects them here. This is an older motel with some cracks here and there, wallpaper peeling just a little but some nice amenities. Our room was spacious, clean - no complaints. Everything worked as expected. Staff was pleasant. The beds were comfortable but I would suggest bringing an extra pillow if you can. If you're expecting a four or five star hotel, this is not the place for you. It's not the Hard Rock. But if you want a clean, quaint old-Florida style motel in the area of Marathon this is a good choice. Our purpose was a fishing trip so we just needed a clean, comfortable place to sleep. I did not visit the pool or the tiki bar so I can't comment on those. Also, there is no restaurant here. You must travel for food or bring your own. They do have refrigerators in the rooms but no microwave in ours.

Room Tip: Our room was in the first building, close to the office and the view from the patio was the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Marlene,
Thank you for recognizing the value that comes with staying at Banana Bay Resort and Marina. We take pride in trying to assure each of our guests will have a clean room and a pleasant stay. I am glad that we met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our Resort and we hope that you will choose to stay with us on your next trip to the Florida Keys.
Thank You, Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We chose Banana Bay Resort as a less costly option to the high priced lodging in Key West. No regrets from the cost perspective and we were satisfied with the one-night stay at the resort. The room was large and the grounds are quite nicely laid out. However, the entire facility needs some maintenance and cleanup, and the rooms definitely need to be updated and better maintained. A couple examples, the TV was an older large tube type not a more up to date flat panel model. The hair dryer had apparently been dropped many times. Although it operated, both the front and back covers were missing exposing the heating coil and fan--dangerous particularly if a young child tried to use it. The furniture in the room was adequate size, but very well worn. Overall not a bad experience particularly keeping in mind the competitive price. We were particularly pleased with the fact that the staff accommodated our request for early check in as we had some conflicting mid-afternoon commitments. .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
18.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $202 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing