We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marina review not the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Marina review not the hotel”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great staff, Paul the dockmaster, even pumped out the boat holding tank while we were gone. the most amazing views of Florida Bay if you have the right slip. Clean showers and several other nice boaters who stay there for months at a time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Gary,
Thank you for taking the time to review our marina. We are very proud of the Marina at Banana Bay and also of our staff. We take pride in providing services to our guests. Banana Bay is located in a wonderful area for enjoying the extraordinary views that are a part of the Florida Keys. I hope that you will be able to come back and spend some more time with us in the future.
Thanks, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    292
    195
    109
    111
See reviews for
297
429
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
luton
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Well where to start ! Sure this was a great resort in its day with so much potential but at 130$ we would have expected more - it was derelict the pool whilst large had green algae in areas on the floor - there were cigarettes in the plant pots , peeling paint , full dustbins , very outdated - it was high season and the car park was half empty we should have known then something was wrong - not the end of the world as the Keys are well overpriced for what you get but this place needs a total facelift - the Hotel Inspector for those of you are from the UK would have a fit !!!! However we are lucky enough to be able to come on holiday in Florida but this place lets Florida tourism down - I will contact Booking.com give it a miss folks

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank biizylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your choice to stay at Banana Bay while on your holiday. I do regret that you found your stay less than what you expected. I have already addressed the matters that you mention in your review to our staff. Rest assured that you your remarks are taken seriously. I hope that you will check for our improvements in the near future and return to Banana Bay for another holiday.
Thank You, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Tis place is so bad the should tear it down .The carpets looked like the haven't been vacuumed in years.The bed had a net over the top of it that was all ripped and torn. Towels were just thrown on top of the sink...I f you go to sit outside on the little terrace and look up they painted the ceiling and the bugs were all painted over .this place is a horror .Plus you have to carry you luggage up 20 stairs to the second floor. Everyone we met said their rooms were not clean and the tub was not cleaned once all the time we were their .We would have left but it was Spring Break and nothing else was available . Please please don't stay here !!!! This is the Banana Bay Resort in Marathon Key

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Judy.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on Banana Bay Resort and Marina. I am sorry that you found the resort did not meet your expectations. We take your comments very serious. If you would like to contact us and specify which room you were assigned we would definitely like to look further into this matter.
Thank You, Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I hate writing this review, but this place was NOT what is shown on the website or in the photos. It is pretty much in a state of disrepair. We were there three nights, and I didn't feel clean the entire time, even though I showered every day. The carpets were disgusting - I never took off my flip flops. The sheets on the bed did not fit well and were old; the mattresses were old and not covered. They were also lumpy and lop-sided and I slept at a tilt! The bathroom floor tile was not clean; the wallpaper was coming off the walls; the cabinet doors below the sink were crooked. The tv came out of the 80s. The lighting next to the beds did not work.

The pool area was large, but not clean. The tiki bar closed at 5 p.m. The tennis court is covered in mud.

The one positive note is that the grounds were lush and tropical.

It was sad to see this old Florida hotel, which must have been beautiful at one time, in such a state of disrepair.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms pictured on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deej713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We regret that you did not find your accommodations to be suitable. We take these concerns very seriously and would like to remedy them as quickly as possible. If you would like to contact me, I would be delighted to find out which room you stayed in and discuss the concerns that you have listed. Thank you for taking the time to comment on Banana Bay Resort and Marina.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The staff was very personable and helpful. The room was spacious and clean...had everything except a microwave. Liked the two separate bathrooms concept... Toilet and shower in one area and another sink, etc. outside of that. The grounds and marina were beautiful. Too bad the restaurant was closed. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Leeann,
We thank you for your time in reviewing Banana Bay Resort and Marina. The staff at Banana Bay work very hard to be helpful to our guests and take care of their needs. I am glad that you liked your accommodations and enjoyed the tropical vegetation that abounds on the property. We thank you again and hope that you can return again soon.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and after the initial negative impression, we came to really enjoy our stay. The first room we were assigned stank of tobacco so were moved to a larger and quieter room in "Poolside" . Unfortunately, the room was very dark. The Staff was very helpful and quick when I asked for a lightbulb to replace a burned-out one and for an extra lamp.
Be sure to walk down to the dock by the little marina -esp. at sunset. I consider the "resort' as Old Florida - a little sleepy, a little rough around the edges, but still relaxing.
You may want to eat-in-the-rough at Key Fishery "Home of the Lobster Reuben" on 35th street.

Room Tip: Poolside is very quiet - and not actually at the pool. Most rooms have little balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolmblue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Malcolm,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at Banana Bay. Although our rooms are all nonsmoking, we do occasionally have those that do not recognize this fact. We are always delighted to accommodate our guests with an alternative room in those circumstances if they are available. In this case I am glad that we were able to do this and to correct any issues that you encountered. We do hope that you had a relaxing time and that you will return to our “Old Florida” style hotel.
Thank You,
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#11 of 16 in Marathon
389 reviews
8.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Property: Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing