We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hemmingway experience?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hemmingway experience?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked in for four days and was initially disappointed by the general faded apearance of the whole place. A bit of a 'Hemmingway' look makes it interesting, but the furniture has sure not been renewed for many a year! Rooms were clean, although entrances and hallways were very dirrty with carpets that looked like they had seen much better days. The daily visit to clean the room was the fastist I have ever known and most days something was missed like emptying bins or replacing soaps, coffee etc. Even towels were not replaced on one day and the maintenance guy had to come to close the balcony doors which had a tendancy to stick! Overall a resort with a great pool, but this attracted local kids after school and a few old guys who liked to sit at the pool bar and get pretty drunk! I heard that this place iss in fireclosure, so I guess they are happy to take the money however they can!

Room Tip: A great pool is about all that can be said in it's favour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback which will help us to provide a better experience for our guests. Please accept our apologies that you did not have a positive experience. We have spoken with Housekeeping and Maintenance about your concerns and are working to resolve them as quickly as possible. We are glad that you noticed our excellent pool as we take pride in our large beautiful pool and hot tub area.

Gary R
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    280
    185
    100
    108
See reviews for
285
413
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here April 12, 2013. This is the one of the most dirty hotels I have ever stayed in. There was dirt and crumbs around edge of carpet., many awful things behind the tv. Guests next to us had scorpions and worms crawling on floor. There can't have been any updates done here in over 30 years. The wallpaper is literally falling off walls, ceiling cracked and filthy. The beds are old. The chairs around pool very old. I would never stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
The housekeeping and maintenance staff are committed to providing the best guest experience at the Banana Bay Resort & Marina. Please accept my sincere apologies for missing the mark.
Could you please email me at: gary@bananabay.com or call me at phone # 305-743-3500 with the room number you stayed in and I will complete a thorough inspection and remedy of the cleanliness issues. I will include the rooms, your room and the guest room you spoke about in your review, on an schedule for additional cleaning, steam clean the carpet and repair the wallpaper and cracks on the ceiling.
Thank you for your feedback as all information assists us with improving our offering.

Gary
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Southeastern PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed here the end of March, 2013. Overall, the resort was as described accurately in tour books and online...EXCEPT:

the restaurant around the pool was CLOSED indefinitely, so no poolside comp breakfast buffet as advertised

and...the Garden View rooms, with two double beds in the Island House were in great need of renovations! The dark carpet was old and dirty. If they installed tile floors this place would be much better suited for Florida humidity and many travelers treading on it!

Room Tip: If you travel there, inquire about other buildings and their floor coverings! It's a GREAT locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RennyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and your suggestions on how we might improve our property. We are always seeking feedback that will help our guests have a positive experience. Please accept our apologies for being unable to offer you what was expressed online and we are working on removing this item from our Travel Agents websites.

Thank you for your recommendations and hope you will visit again,
Gary R
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whie very affordable, the property is in need of some updating. Nice old Keys atmosphere...the way I remember it in the mid 70's on my first trip down and was nice from that aspect. Didn't get an Garden view but a street view instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreFish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We work very hard to try to maintain the property and keep the rates affordable. I am sorry that you felt your view was not representative of the beautiful foliage that is on our property. If you will let us know which room you stayed in, we will look into the landscaping issues so that we may improve the view in the future.

Thank You and please visit again,
Gary R
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Grossly over priced.The web site misrepresents the rooms (dirty and depressing),the site (depressing and poorly maintained).and the "beach" is a joke(tiny and dirty).The staff,when we complained about our room were ,firstly indifferent,then rude and hostile.We booked a "garden/tennis" room,and were given a room facing the main road,only 30 feet away!Our one night stay was the worst hotel experience of our lives.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billp376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to express your opinions about those areas that you were not pleased with during your stay. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience since we strive to make every guest comfortable and welcomed. If you could provide us with more information on the time of your stay and the room in which you stayed, we will look into the conditions that you have described. Although the hotel is not new our housekeeping, maintenance and landscaping staff work very hard to try to maintain the property. We also take very serious your concerns and will endeavor to improve our resort for future guests.

Thank you
Gary R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

this hotel fronts the highway, and looks bright and attractive, from the road, sadly the rooms, not so bright, in fact, dull and dingy, also carpets n walls needing refurbishment, !!
out the back, goes deep to the bay, and a small marina, good sunsets!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Lynn,
The sunsets in the Keys are spectacular and Banana Bay is one of the best locations to watch them in the springtime. Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your perspective on your room. We take all our guest comments seriously and will be addressing those that you have expressed in your post. We hope that you will take advantage of our sunset view again and enjoy a more positive experience.
Thank you.
Gary R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver City, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place was awful! It was dirty and falling apart. I am not a germaphobe but I would not put my bare feet down anywhere in the room. The staff was non-existent. The room hadn't seen clean in a very long time. Even the towels did not appear to be clean. There was hair in the bathroom floor and on the pillowcase - mega yuk. The pillows were so flat they really couldn't be called pillows. We asked for some different pillows and were told they didn't have any extra pillows. The bed was hard as a rock. I've stayed in fabulous luxury resorts that were cheaper than this place. Ridiculous!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comments that you have shared with us. We are sorry that we did meet your expectations. Our Housekeeping staff makes every effort to review each room before a guest arrives and was sorry to hear of your displeasure. We apologize that you may have felt that our staff was non-existent. The staff at Banana Bay tries to be unobtrusive during your stay so that you may enjoy yourself. Our Front desk staff is on duty from 7am until 10pm on weeknights and to 11pm on weekends. We have a security guard from the time the front desk closes until 2am and an onsite/on call manager from 2am until the front desk opens again. Our bedding quantities are limited and depending on the time that you stayed with us could have been the reason for us not being able to replace your pillows. We are taking the time to inventory and upgrade our bedding supplies at this time.
We are working very hard to regain your confidence in our hotel and hope that you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Gary R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
8.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Property: Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing