We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Banana Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Whie very affordable, the property is in need of some updating. Nice old Keys atmosphere...the way I remember it in the mid 70's on my first trip down and was nice from that aspect. Didn't get an Garden view but a street view instead.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreFish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We work very hard to try to maintain the property and keep the rates affordable. I am sorry that you felt your view was not representative of the beautiful foliage that is on our property. If you will let us know which room you stayed in, we will look into the landscaping issues so that we may improve the view in the future.

Thank You and please visit again,
Gary R
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Grossly over priced.The web site misrepresents the rooms (dirty and depressing),the site (depressing and poorly maintained).and the "beach" is a joke(tiny and dirty).The staff,when we complained about our room were ,firstly indifferent,then rude and hostile.We booked a "garden/tennis" room,and were given a room facing the main road,only 30 feet away!Our one night stay was the worst hotel experience of our lives.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billp376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your taking the time to express your opinions about those areas that you were not pleased with during your stay. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience since we strive to make every guest comfortable and welcomed. If you could provide us with more information on the time of your stay and the room in which you stayed, we will look into the conditions that you have described. Although the hotel is not new our housekeeping, maintenance and landscaping staff work very hard to try to maintain the property. We also take very serious your concerns and will endeavor to improve our resort for future guests.

Thank you
Gary R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

this hotel fronts the highway, and looks bright and attractive, from the road, sadly the rooms, not so bright, in fact, dull and dingy, also carpets n walls needing refurbishment, !!
out the back, goes deep to the bay, and a small marina, good sunsets!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Lynn,
The sunsets in the Keys are spectacular and Banana Bay is one of the best locations to watch them in the springtime. Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your perspective on your room. We take all our guest comments seriously and will be addressing those that you have expressed in your post. We hope that you will take advantage of our sunset view again and enjoy a more positive experience.
Thank you.
Gary R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place was awful! It was dirty and falling apart. I am not a germaphobe but I would not put my bare feet down anywhere in the room. The staff was non-existent. The room hadn't seen clean in a very long time. Even the towels did not appear to be clean. There was hair in the bathroom floor and on the pillowcase - mega yuk. The pillows were so flat they really couldn't be called pillows. We asked for some different pillows and were told they didn't have any extra pillows. The bed was hard as a rock. I've stayed in fabulous luxury resorts that were cheaper than this place. Ridiculous!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the comments that you have shared with us. We are sorry that we did meet your expectations. Our Housekeeping staff makes every effort to review each room before a guest arrives and was sorry to hear of your displeasure. We apologize that you may have felt that our staff was non-existent. The staff at Banana Bay tries to be unobtrusive during your stay so that you may enjoy yourself. Our Front desk staff is on duty from 7am until 10pm on weeknights and to 11pm on weekends. We have a security guard from the time the front desk closes until 2am and an onsite/on call manager from 2am until the front desk opens again. Our bedding quantities are limited and depending on the time that you stayed with us could have been the reason for us not being able to replace your pillows. We are taking the time to inventory and upgrade our bedding supplies at this time.
We are working very hard to regain your confidence in our hotel and hope that you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Gary R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Banana Bay is great for a quick stay- but I wouldn't have wanted to been there any longer than a couple days. Everything in the resort is average- but my husband and I booked the resort through priceline and got a good deal so we weren't expecting too much.
I would not stay at the banana bay for any more than $100.00 per night.
While the front desk agent was nice, our room was not available until an hour after check-in. The staff allowed us access to any of the amenities once we arrived (at 10 am).
The hotel halls smelled musty and did not look or feel clean, but the rooms themselves were pretty clean but severely outdated.
Walls are thin and doors are loud- do not expect to sleep through the night.

Room Tip: Poolside or oceanview rooms would have been better- ours overlooked the parking lot. However, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickidanae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to ensure your room is clean and ready for you at check in time. We are sorry that we missed the mark. We are currently addressing the issues associated with updating the location and hope to have a solution in the near future.
We apologize for any disturbance that may have kept you awake during the night. Our security is onsite all night long for the circumstances that you have described and are happy to help ensure that you are able to sleep through the night.
We would like to have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel and hope that you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Gary R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was overpriced. The rooms were old and dirty. Dust everywhere, musty moldy smell, bathroom had dirt all over the floor. The bed my friend and I slept on caved in the middle it was like staying in a hospital bed. I woke up with some Red Itchy Rash all over my arm from sleeping in that bed. I find that highly disgusting that the place was so dirty that I wound up with some sort of dermatitis!

Then this so called 'resort' charged us an $8 dollar fee for absolutely nothing? I asked for a Waterview room and the room they gave me had a view of the horse shoe pit and trees. They had the audacity to charge us almost $220 dollars a night for this room when it shouldn't cost more than $25 dollars!


I travel a lot and have been in many hotel rooms and this by far is one of the worse ones I have stayed in.

Word of advice DO NOT stay in this hotel aka motel! The pictures on their website are deceiving, the hotel does not look like this at all! I would like to know when and where these pictures were taking because its run down and needs major updating!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Betty,
We appreciate your taking the time to express your opinions about those areas that you were not pleased with during your stay. We are sorry that you did not have a positive experience since we strive to make every guest comfortable. The Housekeeping and Maintenance staff works very hard to keep the rooms and furniture in good shape. If you would like to provide us with the room number and the time of your stay we would like to look into your concerns further.

Thank you for your review,
Gary R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Room was clean, bed was comfortable. Weather was too cool to try the pool and the wind was fierce on the bay. Still it wasn't much of a resort. The staff was rather indifferent both on check in and check out, but effecient. Everything looked a bit dated and overrgrown. On the whole, just an average place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacknite98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and we are sorry that the weather was less than perfect for your stay. We are looking into ways that will help us to improve the resort and your comments are welcome. Our Front Desk staff works hard to try to make every guest welcome and appreciated. We apologize for not living up to your expectations. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a much better experience.
Thank you,
Gary R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
18.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $222 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing