We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!! Stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible!!! Stay away!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Room smelled horrible! Moved to another room after 30 minutes but it smelled even worse! Pay a little more and stay elsewhere! I've stayed in some not so great hotels during my travels and this by far is the worst! Definitely not worth a dime to stay in!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravel5567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    281
    190
    105
    109
See reviews for
287
422
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elmer, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The price was ok, but our suite/room needed MUCH improvement. We arrived around dinner time and our room was not ready yet so we came back in a couples hours. The bed was horrible, but typical of what you get away from home. The room was. Our youngest son slept on a cot and the mattress was just disguisting. If you are afraid of spiders and bugs then this is not the place for you. I'm not a princess and need the best, but don't think I would stay here again. The best part of our stay was that they staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon, London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The pool and it's area are the best bit about this hotel. The booking confirmation from the web site got me a little sceptical to start off with as they gave you a reference number but no confirmation exactly what had been booked (could have booked a wrong room /date etc). Then, when we arrived, there were no safes as advertised and no use of the tennis courts. No Tiki bar or anywhere on site for drinks / food other than a drinks vending machine. Rooms were large but musty. if I had read tripadvisor before booking, I am sure I wouldn't to book the 4 of us here, but it was ok. Excellent Barracuda restaurant just a few doors away was some compensation

Room Tip: You'd probably prefer the garden rooms rather than looking out on to overseas highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The advertised tiki bar was not open, neither the restaurant. Both advertised on their web page.
Nice pool area and marina but the rooms are a bit worn. The wallpaper! in the bath room was coming off. The shower head was leaking... a lot! But considering the comparatively low price it's an OK place to spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MargarethaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

all the horrible reviews sum it up perfect, my wife and i got here a day early and stayed at the hole in the wall "The Anchor" was much nicer for $85 a night, the pool is ok to fair, but certainly not heated as advertised. the tiki bar hasnt been opened once in the 3 nights we've been here. no breakfast.... our bath tub is cracked in the bottom so as you shower the water drains both down the drain and into the crack. the grounds are a dump, there is no beach. the garden view is the "highway view" to be honest this place really blows

Room Tip: dont be fooled by the website this place is gross
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I was unsure of this place after reading the reviews, but it was fine. The pool and spa were clean and checked daily. The room was large and clean. It was a little musty but smelled fine after running the ac. It could be cleaner, newer, and remodeled, but you would likely pay double. this place was charming with gorgeous grounds and a good place for a few days on the keys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTravelbug420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice area and pool. Nice beach and marina. But rooms need serious updates. Smell old and stuffy. First clue is tv is not a flat screen! Carpets were old and spotted but sheets and towels were clean. The location is good, right off of overseas highway. Internet only available in room, not at pool or beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
8.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Property: Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing