We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ready to book another vacation in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Well our stay in Banana Bay was yet again an oasis in a world of turmoil. We stayed for 9 nights at BB and yet again was not disappointed.
Things have changed, the bar has been limited but everyone by the pool brought their own and we had a great time, The weather was fantastic in October as always, not to hot not to cool and the City of Marathon didn’t fail on providing us with great dining and atmosphere. Stayed in Rm 408 overlooking the marina and despite catching the tail end of "Sandy" recharged our batteries once again. I hear the place might well be in new hands soon, I hope they don’t change to much as this little bit of heaven is a hidden jewel in the keys crown. Dave, Nonie and the guys at BB work their hardest to keep the place fantastic and they deserve a medal.

Room Tip: 408, overlooking the Marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 738 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed one night. Bed was too soft and the room had a motel feel. We did get the room at the keys visitor center and got a great deal. It was only for a short overnight stay. No elevator for the upstairs rooms. No biggie. Short walk to bay and nice scenery. Good hotel, just make sure the price is right.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepjarsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at Banana Bay in Marathon. Property lanscaapeis overgrown, pool is in terrible shape, drawers in furniture smell of mildew. Staff were very courteous but have little to work with. Property needs WORK!!!

Room Tip: I would not go here again until whole property is updated and refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've been going to Banana Bay in Marathon for nearly 30 years, with my daughter and my girlfriend and I can honestly say that this is the best hotel in Marathon and possibly the Keys.
The staff are great, the pool is the best in the Keys and I would and "have" recomended it to all my friends who equally say how great the place is.
I stll go there every year generally in October and I can say without fear of contradiction that this hotel is the bees knees.
To all those people who have written your bad reviews, I suggest you stay home and catch another episode of wheel of fortune and leave us all to enjoy this jewel of the Florida keys.
If you are looking for a trump resort then forget it, if you are looking for paradise then pack your bags and get on a plane.
Martin Simpson UK
techml@btinternet.com

Room Tip: Get a room with a view overlooking the marina, room 408 ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We arrived in Marathon a day early. We had a reservation elsewhere starting Sunday night. Every hotel we call was booked for Saturday night. We finally found a room at Banana Bay. They only had a king room available. We did not arrive until midnight, so any place we laid our heads was fine with us.

As we pulled in, we had to wait for the security to give us our key. The front desk closed at 11pm. The parking area was very dark with many trees and shrubs around. We parked in the back near the marina, it was more open.

The room was very old and dingy. Nothing had been updated for a very long time. It smelled rather musty. Thank goodness we were very tired. I expected more for the price.

The location wasn't too bad. The marina area was actually very nice, as was the pool.

I just wish the rooms and buildings were nicer and cleaner.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mschell333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Resort Fee? For what?? Tiki bar closed, restaurant closed, water sports closed???
Where was the "Resort" part of the trip?
A hotel just having a pool does not make it a "Resort"- very disappointing-was really looking forward to staying here too-
Sister property in Fort Myers Beach has a great rep-really expected a cleaner place-with at least an on property tiki bar/snack shop to be available-Not

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campprincess1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Decent room, two double beds, balcony with view of marina. Clean, but could use some updating. Nice large pool, clean as well. Grounds are nice as you drive through a tropical setting - very nice. Decent room price (via Priceline, saving a few bucks over the direct contact).

Room Tip: Only had experience with marina-view room, which was very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#9 of 16 in Marathon
64 reviews
8.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $182 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing