We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best marina in the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best marina in the area!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent marina. Larry was a consummate professional -- super hospitable and full of welcome advice about where to go and what to see. He took great care of us and pointed us to great places!

The bathrooms and service area at the dock were very clean. The atmosphere at the pool was relaxing.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaBWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    292
    195
    109
    111
See reviews for
297
429
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Smelly mildew rooms, claim to have been updated though I question where. Service at the tiki was good, its more of a small pool bar with 6 seats though. Was expecting much more. Pictures online were not a correct representation of the actual resort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Design_Chick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marathon hotels

New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I would not label this dump a "resort." When I called to make a reservation they said they only have the "garden view" which was actually the "highway view." The paint was pealing off of the walls along with the wallpaper, it was dirty, and was a breeding ground for very loud/fat/toothless/drunk families who just floated in from "south of Key West." The photo on the website must have been taken somewhere else because none of the rooms looked that nice.The only reason for the 1 star is that the front desk person was pleasant. I would call this a very cheap motel at best. There are plenty of quaint places to stay in the keys. This is not one of them.

With regard to the Fish N' Fun boat rental at their marina, stay away! They are the rudest people I have every met and they will nickel and dime you at the end of your boat ride. It really takes away from the vacation.

A cute place to stay is The Breezy Palms in Islamorada and if you want to rent a boat consider Bud N' Mary's.

Room Tip: Rooms at other real hotels are better. Beware of the word "Resort" in the Keys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FishingdocNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Larry really went above and beyond to help us enjoy our brief stay at Banana Bay. The resort has so many beautiful trees surrounding you that it makes you feel like you are further away from civilization than you already are in the Florida Keys. Nice and private and amazing sunsets!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BraysonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Web site is not what you get when you get there room was dirty not vacuumed tile floor has coffee drips not mopped bed spread had dried food on it took it off and went and found housekeeper got clean one i have stayed in many hotels as part of my vacation but really i have ran my own cleaning company for 20 years i can say lazy housekeepers pool was ok no restaurant its closed and it says they have one and no gift shop and tiki bar was not open but marina was good if you need one when we go back wont be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Banana Bay is in a great location but not the best place to stay. The hotel is pretty run down. Rooms are air conditioned but the rest of the buildings are not. Hallway and stairs in our building was carpeted - not a good idea when people are running in and out in wet bathing suits. Noisy as well.

Probably a great place for a bunch of party animals but would not recommend this place for couples or families. Our room was clean but the"mosquito" netting over the bed was torn and had seen much better days. Booked this place it because it looked like a neat tropical resort on the pictures but I had not used Trip Advisor to check it out first. We didn't even try the Tiki Bar.

Room Tip: If you do want to stay here, get a bay view room. At least you'll have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAZ6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a great location, especially if you have a boat and can make use of the marina. They don't have central air, which seems pretty common here, but that leaves the halls and foyers smelling nasty and they are hot.

The rooms are pretty run down, but not unlivable. Our quilted coverlet was stained, and the tub was cracked. The tub had hair in it when we arrived. The mini fridge was rusted on the outside, and a drawer in the dresser was broken. Sometimes the toilet wouldn't stop running.

On the plus side, there is a decent pool and an area next to the marina where you can rent overpriced watercraft. We couldn't believe that both here and in Key West they charge $99 per hour for a jet ski.

I have been shopping at a few places on Vaca Key where this "resort" is located. There are a few interesting little shops if you look closely, and Banana Bay is just a hop away from Publix, CVS, Walgreens, Bealls Outlet, and Big Kmart, as well as a Subway, Wendy's, and McDonalds.

I was a little bummed that there wasn't a microwave in the room-- it would have been a big help with buying groceries to save on eating out. For healthy food in this area, Food for Thought is a yummy vegetarian friendly restaurant nearby.

Sombrero Beach is across the street behind the Publix, and it is really nice. There is even a playground for the kids. Also there is the Dolphin Research Center. Admission there is $20 per adult, and educational presentations are ever 30 minutes. It is all outdoors, though, so wear sunscreen and a hat, and try to get there early because they close at 4:30pm.

So in closing, Banana Bay misrepresented itself on its website. It is not great, but if you can find outstanding rates to stay here and aren't too picky, go ahead and give it a try. If anything I have mentioned here horrifies you, stay in a major chain in Key West.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PackLightLetsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#11 of 16 in Marathon
389 reviews
8.3 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon

Property: Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Address: 4590 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 49 1/2, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Banana Bay Resort & Marina, a part of the B unlimited brand located in beautiful Marathon Key! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Bay Resort And Marina Marathon Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing