We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrid Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Days South

Lazy Days South
Ranked #24 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, Tennessee
1 review
“Horrid Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had to ask server to take our order after 15 minutes. Food was served by another server. The server never came back to our table to inquire about further drink and additional food order which we would have ordered Requested another server for our ticket. Server walked by with ticket with no comment. Abominable service. Were we not old enough at 66 and 53? Did we not look rich enough with a combined income of $300k+? Please continue on down A1A to the true Sunset Grill right before you get to the seven mile bridge.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyOwenMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    282
    156
    62
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good, but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

When ordering fish and it says whole fish, it does not mean a whole vs half order, it means head and tail included. The servers need to discreetly mention this fact when a customer orders the whole fish. Back home, not Florida, we do not like to see the head and tail on the plate. Nothing wrong with those who like this type of presentation, but it can ruin someone's meal and it does impact the servers tip. Also had confusion and delays re splitting the bill at end of meal when it was requested at time of ordering. I had the ribs and the portion was large but the flavor was only average. The best part of the meal for me was the nut bread which was excellent. I will return, but the while fish will be avoided.

Helpful?
Thank zeb1556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
663 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Great food, scenic view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This restaurant overlooks Boot Harbor in Marathon. We've been going to Marathon for > 10 years and how we've missed this is a mystery to me. We split the Cuban sandwich and the conch chowder; both were excellent. Service could have been a bit better; we waited a long time for our bill but we will certainly go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ate here twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

While visiting Marathon, we ate here for dinner two times. The food overall was pretty good. The service was excellent. The place is packed, and you still don't have to wait for your food. There is an outside patio, which is busy an noisy. The inside is quieter. My husband ordered the whole fried snapper, that was awesome. I would recommend this place for good food and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ELK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great spot and always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Great spot for fish and happy hours. Fun and friendly staff. Food is consistently good. Best spot is at the bar. They really know how to cook fish.

Helpful?
Thank 19plainview36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Days South also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lazy Days South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing