We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Days South

Lazy Days South
Ranked #21 of 89 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner here. We brought some of our own fish in to have cooked and they did a great job. Large variety of options on the menu. Nice view of the water. Everyone working here was very friend and helpful. Had the yellowtail snapper and it was to die for.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bigmomma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    244
    139
    57
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
197 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cooked our catch to perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a day of fishing, we brought our Yellow tail Snapper to Lazy Days South to be cooked at Lazy Days South. The fish was prepared two ways - blackened and sautéd with Panko breadcrumbs and a tomato/key lime butter sauce. The food was very good and dinner included soup or salad and potato or rice. The tropical bread was really amazing but the service was not great. Our server disappeared after our salads were served and did not return until we ordered dessert. We ate on the patio and watched a beautiful sunset. I wish they did not allow smoking in the dining area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank swtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow Service, Not Totally Family Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We've been to Lazy Days South numerous times. The food is always delicious, but this time the service was extremely slow. Our server was very friendly and the orders were correct, but the food came out fairly slow for as few tables as were occupied. It also took her a while to check in on us.
I got the scallops dinner, which was delicious, but the presentation leaves a lot to be desired. The scallops were all on a plate much too large, just scattered around with a few specks of dried parsley sprinkled around. The side dish of steamed broccoli could have easily fit on the same plate, which would have added to the presentation. However instead it was placed on a smaller bread plate.
Lastly, this restaurant is described as being family friendly. Sadly though, they do not have any changing stations/tables in the restrooms for families with babies. When I had to change my daughter's diaper, I took her to the restroom only to find this out the hard way. I then had to navigate back through the restaurant to get my car keys and back out again so I could change her diaper in our car.
As we walked through the interior portion of the restaurant during this diaper changing mission I also noticed that the floors in the dining room were filthy. They had small pieces of food and other particles all over. It seemed as if there had been a large group event inside and the room had yet to be cleaned thoroughly before dinner service.
The location is wonderful and the food delicious, but hopefully these other aspects will be improved upon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gretchin405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Bring Your Own Catch! The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hadn't been there in awhile, but, it was so good, we went twice in one week. The first time, we brought in our freshly caught grouper. When asked how we'd like it, we simply requested that the chef prepare his favorite. It was presented beautifully, prepared two ways, Islamorada and Lazy Days Style, both perfect, with the addition of several large scallops. The price is incredible, very reasonable, salad or soup, side, and bread included. A lot of food!
We then returned, with friends, with four lobster tails. Again, we requested the chef's choice, something other than the usual steaming or grilling. They were prepared with shrimp, scallops, mushrooms, cheeses, AMAZING! The delicate flavor of the lobster was not compromised.
We also ordered off the menu, the cracked conch, jalapeño poppers, french onion soup, Greek salad, and carrot cake. All were perfect.
It is best to have reservations, especially if a special occasion. We did not, but we were seating quite promptly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saj1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Big portions, average food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Plastic tables and chairs, smoking tables at one end with fans blowing the smoke through. Dirty looking place. Food 'ok' but we left half our food then left. Waste of a great location.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marksteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Days South also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Lazy Days South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing