We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

If you're looking for a classic Keys motel for your vacation stay, don't pass by the Royal Hawaiian in Marathon. We've been vacationing there for many years. The location can't be beat, especially if you're into fishing or diving. The boat ramp on the premises and dockage just outside your room in a protected canal make it easy to jump and go. Vaca Cut just around the corner provides access to the Atlantic for offshore fishing, and of course Florida Bay is a playground for shallow water fishing and lobstering. You can clean and cook your catch on the newly re-surfaced patio, or visit one of the many restaurants and bars within a few miles of the motel. Every time we stay there we notice upgrades - new appliances, flat screen tv's, beautiful landscaping. The beds are comfortable, rooms are spotless, the pool is immaculate, and the hospitality is second to none. We give the Royal Hawaiian a five star rating all the way around!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    50
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
78
107
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Palm Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

This was our 2nd time to stay at the Royal Hawaiian and it was wonderful! Our boat was docked just outside of our room. We were just a short distance away from an ocean of beauty, fish and lobster! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A1Tiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian in Marathon ~10 times in the past 2 years. This visit was with my 13 y/o daughter and 4 of her friends. The wife & I stayed in an adjoining room while the girls had a room to themselves. I love the hotel because of the quietness, price, and boating features (dockage directly behind the room, no cost ramp & no cost trailer storage, and a nice fish cleaning table right on the water). We all enjoy the clean rooms and beautifully kept and landscaped pool, available BBQ’s and friendly service. The owners go out of their way to accommodate me & my family when we stay there. The downside is that there are only 8 rooms. I prefer one of the larger suites that have a dining area, large fridge, oven, & double sink. You can spend more, but I can’t think of a nicer place to be in the middle keys.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snapper-snatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

I've stayed at many places in the Keys, but this was the Best Place to stay for Hospitality, Location, Price,Cleanliness and Great Fun. Nick was Great about Fishing Reports, Places to Eat & Drink ( Loved Spanky's on the Water). He knew places to go for Giant Key West Shrimp for $3.00 a dozen, Dollar Beers. Jeannie was Great too, she Cleared out a place in their Large Freezer to put our Lobster in. I WILL go back!
Mike Denny & Son Mike Denny

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pencilmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed there the 19th, 20th, 21st of Aug. Jeanne and Nick are wonderfull people. It was more like staying with friends than renting a room. Being as we were fishing the Botel aspect was the best,. The dock is right out the back door. Not 10 step's from the room. Parking was right outside the door of the room also. The location is perfect as it's right off Vaca Cut in Marathon. Your 5 min. from the Atlantic and 2 min. from the Gulf. We had a kitchenet. Everything we needed to cook meals was there. Nick sent us to an excelent snapper spot 30 min from the dock. We limited on muttons in just over 2 hour's. We fished from dawn to dusk so the lighted cleaning table was a huge plus for us. As was the pool at the end of the day. The whole compound was immaculate. I don't think I could find a fault with these folks or this place if I tried. Lucy the Pomeranian is a little doll as well. I would recommend this place to everyone. Especially if you have or are renting a boat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crash84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

We went to the keys looking for a place to stay. When we got to the Royal Hawaiian, Nick walked us through the property. The pool was so spotless. The boat sleve was perfect.

Two weeks later we booked. When we arrived Jeanne greated us. She had assured us our room was ready the a/c was on, the room was very bright, with the sliding doors leading to the dock. After we settled in she took us to the boat ramp to unload the boat. Told us if we needed anything else not to hesitate, to let Nick or her know.

We felt as if we known them for a lifetime. Resureing us if we needed anything or wanted to know our surrounding where to go. We caught the best snapper yet. We will be back again.

Thank you, Jeanne Nick and of course little Lucy! (the botel mascot)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanitama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

We went down to the keys with our 14 y/o daughter + 3 of her friends for a b-day weekend get-away. We brought the boat down & we all enjoyed having it close by -right outside our room. The girls enjoyed snorkeling at Looe Key & Sombrero reef light, catching snapper & grouper in the bay, and swimming in the pool after boating. The girls enjoyed making smoothies & having their independence (we had adjacent efficiency rooms. We have stayed here 4 times so far this year & can't wait for our next trip down. On one visit the management even cooked a pizza & offered it ti the kids free after we returned from boating.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snapper-snatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Property: Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing