We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 16 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have stayed here before, have made many friends here and will come back soon!! They are clean, quiet, cozy, and right on the water. You can literally fish from your room if so inclined! We won't ever stay anywhere else. The on site managers Laura and Phil were nice, accommodating, and informative too. Phil knows the fishing rules and also will talk to you about his favorite places to fish and tips for your adventure. They keep the grounds clean and very well groomed. The pool is pristine, the rooms are immaculate. I can't really believe that people would be able to rate this place as a one star and be disappointed!! I guess they were expecting the Marriott?? The one thing that makes this place my favorite is the whole retro aspect. This motel is straight out of a 1950's vacation movie. But that's the entire appeal! Who cares if the towels are cheap? I'm telling you, if you know anything about the keys and it's retro quaintness then you will be pleased with this place too. The entire appeal is that it is NOT a commercial chain motel with cookie cutter rooms and an expensive concierge. You can fish off the dock, you can go eat at Herbies, you can drive to Big Pine, fish from bridges, and enjoy a quiet getaway. There is nothing better than a young couple that takes pride in their motel and a nice quiet place to cook up your catch. They have grills there, a coke machine, table, a place to clean your catch. What's not to love?

Room Tip: They have little kitchenettes and basic rooms. There are only 8 rooms. They all face the dock and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    51
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
108
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This place is awesome !! My wife and I decide to get away for a weekend. The rooms are very spacious and well kept. Having my boat in the water right outside the sliding glass door was ideal. The staff is very attentive and professional. We will be staying there again real soon and recommend this place to anyone who may ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javier_dejesus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

me my family and friends have been staying at this hotel now everytime we go to the keys it's great for the kids fishing it's great for convenience to both sides of the ocean and there's no other place I'll stay great hotel boat access as well we thank you guys and look forward to seeing you soon Phil and Lori what great people

Matthew Campbell

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Couldn't be happier with Royal Hawaiian. Laura & Phil were SO accommodating. Super Clean room and kitchen. Beautiful grounds, we loved the pool too!!! Had fun fishing off the deck in the evenings. Docked our boat outside our room. Gorgeous blue water greeted us every morning before we went out to fish and snorkel. Great restaurants nearby, as well as Publix. If you are looking for a great place to stay in the Keys, look no further.....it doesn't get any better!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were shocked at the low quality of this hotel. I frankly don’t see how others rated this property so well. Perhaps if you need a hotel that allows you to dock your boat, this is a good find?
The rooms are small, dated to the 1950’s. Towels were paper thin and tread-bear. The motel has no atmosphere at all. It is just off RT1 on a dead end bit of the canal.
There is a walk-way along the water side of your room that your slider opens onto. This arrangement provides for no privacy at all. If the curtains are open, people are walking right by you slider.
We were disappointed enough with the property to go find a restaurant in a nice setting where we could spend most of the evening. We slept there and bolted ASAP on awaking in the morning.
We will not return or recommend this property anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhmb30, Owner at Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time of your busy schedule to write a review 7 months later from your one night stay. Very sorry to hear your short stay wasn’t a pleasant one. It didn’t give you a chance to enjoy the “atmosphere” of the Keys style vacation. In our minds and that of our guests this is considered a quaint charming Keys style Motel, yes built in the 50’s “Art Deco Style”, with a lot of amenities including modern appliances: flat screen TV’s, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee pots, air conditioning, etc.
Being at the end of a beautiful canal is the perfect place for boat dockage as it protects boats from wakes. And being located right off the famous “Overseas Highway” is a great place to be and makes it easy to find us!
When we travel to Connecticut, for Fall Foliage or other destinations, we have stayed in many hotels and yes curtains are for privacy, all motels, hotels, inns have them, you open them to admire the view and watch time go by and then close them for privacy.
We have been No. 1 of places on “Tripadvisor’s” list for a long time and for the past 27 years that we have owned it we are constantly striving to make our quaint Keys Motel better each day.
Thank you and remember to always enjoy life to the fullest!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Will stay here again. Boat slip at our door, clean-clean, old Florida feel, pretty landscaping almost European, easy/pretty drive to Key West, great restaurants nearby. Enjoyed having the little kitchen. Delighted with the several manatees swimming outside our door. Felt lucky to have found Royal Hawaiian for a first trip to the Keys. Managers Laura & Phil were the best, wise answers to every tourist question.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taradillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I spent time looking for a place to take our new boat and spend time with the family. This is the place, great for families and a wonderful place to relax after a day on the boat.
of the 4 days there we had one thing that arouse, our A/C failed with a phone call the owner was there to swap out the unit and we where back in paradise. its in a great cut close to gulf entry and ocean side is as easy to get to. We are going back! We met a family that has visited for many years and I feel we will become just like that. The owner and managers are wonderful. See you soon.

Room Tip: any room is great, I want to get closer to the ramp side. so I can fish at night from the dock. grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomas-Aloisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Property: Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing