We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marathon's secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marathon's secret”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fourth time we have stayed at the Royal Hawaiian and won't be the last. Phil and Laura understood we traveled afar and made our room available at 12:30 am. Ocean and Gulf at the end of the canal. Vaca Cut bridge is right there, we saw tarpon rolling under the bridge. On the other side of the Vaca Cut bridge is gas for your boat and marina. Lots great places to eat or cook in your room or grill on the patio. You frequently meet people at the motel just having a good time fishing. Rooms are very clean and Kitchens are clean and well equipped. Laura and Phil are very helpful and always ready to help if you need it. We went to Fort Jefferson for the day on the Yankee Freedom and Phil and Laura walked my boston terrier because we were gone the whole day. They were great people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    52
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
84
109
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staying at the Royal Hawaiian has been a great experience for my family and I, I definitely recommend this motel for any family. The service was excellent and the rooms were amazingly clean. Loved fishing from the dock and grilling our catch, while the rest of my family enjoyed the pool. We will definitely be back next summer!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our first time at the motel. Stayed Memorial Day weekend. The grounds were very well maintained and the room super clean. We had a room with the small kitchenette. Has everything you need. This is a great location for fishing. Loved docking boat behind our room and the old Keys feel. Will definitely return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a great weekend with the family. We have stayed in this hotel for over 5 years with all the family and its great. The boat's accommodation, you park your boat behind your room and you just have to jump in and you are five minutes away from the ocean. Everything is super clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It was very clean! The owners are very accommodating and go out of their way to make the experience relaxing and fun. The pool was always clean and the grounds were well maintained. We won't stay any where else!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here in the Keys about 8 years ago. It's centrally located in the Keys, and easy for a day trip to Key West. The room we had was very clean, and recently refurnished. Yet it still retains the "old Florida feel". The owners are very friendly and accommodating. They ensured our stay was trouble free. The next time I go to the Keys, I will stay at the Royal Hawaiian again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent 2 nights and we where treated so kind and friendly by the owners. The wife or i think was the wife couldnt have been sweeter. Its so nice for us people in Collier county needs a peace of heaven to run away to and ill be dam if we didnt find it at the 1st place we stoped. We enjoyed the back deck and grill. And people they even have free boat storage.
This trip and this motel reminded us of a time we where very much in love and it was us against the world and this motel has a peacefulness and relaxation about its self.
I LOVE ROYAL HAWAIIAN MOTEL / BOTEL /
Proudly still Mrs. Lynn Cattanio

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
793 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Property: Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing