We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, awesome hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Ranked #4 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, awesome hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went to the Keys for Christmas and had a lovely visit! We traveled with our daughter and her boyfriend and stayed 3 nights at the Royal Hawaian. Laura and Phil, the live-in hosts, were awesome...they told us about a beach close by that we could go to that allowed dogs! They were not only helpful to us, but also very accomodating and friendly!! The rooms were clean and orderly. We plan to stay there again in October when we go to the Keys for a family wedding. I definitely reccomend this place!!

Room Tip: We loved having a small kitchen and our own beds!! All the rooms were nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    49
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
77
107
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
spring hill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Nice place, Laura & Phil are just great hosts. Fishing right out your door, park the boat right next to room. Pool was wonderful, very relaxing. Some of the old Florida charm exists here at the Royal Hawaiian, We had a wonderful time, this was our second visit and can't wait til next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Comfortable, reasonably priced rooms with boat 10 feet from the back door in a perfect spot with direct access to Vaca Cut connecting the Atlantic & Gulf. Allows easy access for fishing / diving either location depending on the weather. Phil & Laura are outstanding hosts, & go way above & beyond to help in any way they can. Feels like B&B hospitality in a Boat Motel. I've been back several times & enjoy it more each time. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

An older motel, but well kept. Clean, comfortable room with a door right on the water! We would go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oliveoil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

nice place, nice pool, friendly staff. I found this place on Tripadvisor and booked 2 nights. There is not a lot to do in Marathon but we spent one day and evening in Key West and that made the trip. it was about 1.5 hour drive I would recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Lman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I really liked this place. The welcome was warm, the room was extremely clean (trust me, I'm fussy about this and it was sparkling), the beds were clean and comfortable with cotton sheets, the grounds were nicely decorated, planted and maintained and the pool was also well decorated and very clean. You can dock your boat at your back door if you have one and park your car at your front door. There's a little deck at the end of the dock with a BBQ and a place to prepare your catch of the day. We had the room at the far end (a free upgrade, nice!) and heard no noise from the road, which, as often in the keys, is really close by. I'd have preferred a king or queen to the 2 doubles on offer but I guess you can't have it all at the (excellent for the Keys) price.The only thing about staying here is that I was not that keen on Marathon, which I found to be less fun than Islamorada and less interesting tourist-wise than Key West. If Marathon is your destination of choice, however, this should be your place to stay for sure!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a higher number to be nearer the dock and further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad-Mum-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My Boyfriend & I stayed for 2 nights while we visited the Keys in March. This little Motel/Botel was lovely. Phil & Laura made us feel very welcome & couldnt do enough for us. Even lent us towels to go snorkeling as we didnt have enough room on the bike to bring some! The room was a good size & was spotless. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was small but nice. Plenty of fresh towels & toiletries provided aswel as tea & coffee & a fridge.
The room had back patio doors leading the boat ramp, with seating just outside this was a pleasant place to wind down after a busy day! BBQ's are also provided!
Thank you Phil & Laura for your hospitality! :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
5.0 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
1.1 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.8 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
5.4 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel

Property: Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel
Address: 12020 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3525
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms are updated annually. We are an Old Keys Motel with True Keys ambiance. Our only link to modern technology is Wireless Internet and cable TV. We are small, quiet, peaceful, and truly have the cleanest rooms in the area. Our customers are largely repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing