We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Cottages
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$189
$149
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$140
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$192
$168
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
85
97
56
38
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
97
56
38
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscottage numberoutdoor showerkey westtiki hutthe maintenance mansombrero beachbed was comfortablethe main highwaycomplimentary breakfastfishcabinhammocksmicrowavekeyssinkpetsgrill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 343 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

If you enjoy paying 150+ for a small cabin with no running water in the bathroom or kitchen and beetles crawling around the floor, then by all means stay here. The guy from Michigan who checked us in was friendly and the only positive part of our stay here.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Krista R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Cottage #5..... Shower backed up & never drained, so we had to shower in 2+ inches of water at all times

Toilet backed up & would not flush/was leaking onto bathroom floor. ( obvious plumbing issues in bathroom)

Kitchen sink leaked, so we had to stop that with the towels they provided.

The ac unite dripped onto back of TV & cottage could of used some TLC.

It was in a nice central location to key west & close to publix :) the beach close by is pet friendly :)

The gentleman (Jeff ?) @ the guest desk was helpful & kind, but others that worked there were not as much.

After multiple attempts to contact the owner(we were told to contact/speak with about getting some type of refund), she has yet to respond. We spent $650 + over New Years, it was not worth the price, nor the frustration that should present itself on a vacation.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Simpatico123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We booked on the Inn's website because of the location halfway down the Florida Keys. We booked a Garden Suite as it was all that was available. We liked the idea of hammocks, Wi-Fi, and the closeness to the Gulf of Mexico. We were quite shocked when we arrived to find that the Garden Suites are off site about mile away. This was not mentioned on the website. Thus, no hammocks and no Gulf of Mexico. There was no information in the room about the password to get on the locked Wi-Fi site. The room had many issues that needed repair. There was no maid service the two nights we were there. The suites are next to a Tiki Bar which we enjoyed going to. However, the nightly music plays until around 10:00 p.m. so beware if you want to go to sleep earlier. The only good thing we can say is that the sheets and towels were clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila L, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Just a quick note here.....The Garden Suites are no longer available for rent through the Tropical Cottages office, they were separately owned rooms that were made available on booking sites along with Tropical Cottages. They are not owned by this resort, and are no longer represented by this resort.
Sherry B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

It looked like a cute collection of cottages in a tropical clearing in the photos. More like behind the bank in the parking lot. it is a neglected property that lacks minimum routine maintenance, and is worn and old. The shower would not totally shut off, it ran all night, and all the next night too. They have a note on the wall saying how important it is to conserve water, but if the shower had been taken care of, they wouldn't need the note. And the rust stain running down the wall could have been taken care as well.

Room Tip: stay away and try a different motel
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sssssshure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were excited about staying here and ignored the other bad reviews, DONT!
We were traveling from Miami to Key west and this was half way, thinking it would be in a tropical place its not its down a lane which ends in not a nice place no where to go and you need to get back in your car to go any where.

We went across the road to supermarket got food and went back to room to have a meal 1 plate, no knifes to cut the bread or tomatoes with , no kettle to make a cup tea and very few dishes for breakfast. No WIFI , yard was messy and the place needs a lot of refurbishment.

Andy's Tip - Drive out lane back onto main road a mile marker 50 across the road go down that street and you will fins one of the most beautiful beaches in the world small and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ADWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews