We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Tropical Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Cottages
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed one night. Reasonable price for a decent value. The cottages are dated, and a bit worn. However, they are clean and comfortable. The grounds are nice, and we really enjoyed the hammocks and the tiki hut. All in all a pleasant stay for a reasonable price in a place where you could spend more for less.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank ikennen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 335 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

It is a bit weird thinking that Tropical Cottages would be situated in the middle of the busiest stretch of highway right behind a busy bank (it really was awkward). The kitchenette was ok, although I wish there was something to cook in the cottage(other than a microwave) or a grill right outside. They lacked items to scrub dishes with. The place needed some dire maintenance. There was a dark hue over the deck we had. Cracks in the ceiling/walls. Staff charged our room prior to us even staying there (that was a first). The staff didn't show up until 9 am, which is weird for a hotel/motel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramblinmanandwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

When we travel, my daughter and I like to get a feel for the essence of an area. Tropical Cottages in Marathon FL gave us just that! The cottages could easily be described as "beach comber shacks" and were clean, comfortable, and ... vintage.

We were assigned cottage #6, which contained AC, microwave, fridge, coffee pot, toaster, dishes, and towels. It was designed to accommodate two, with a maximum occupancy of three. The one drawback was the difficulty operating the shower control and less than optimum water pressure. It served it's purpose and hot water seemed plentiful once it reached the faucet.

Morning coffee and tea was provided at the Tiki Bar, where guests could mingle. Colourful hammocks hung from the trees, which my daughter found so comfortable she ordered one when we found a merchant that carried them! Each cottage also had its own outdoor sitting area.

We were delighted, wishing our schedules allowed for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeborahH264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved our stay here, we had a room not a cottage but it was lovely.the room was large and we had kitchen utensils like bowls ,plates and cutlery to use,even washing up liquid and drying towels. The area is quiet and near to the beaches . I like the little area outside the rooms where you could sit and relax.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I spent last year holloween for our anniversary here and had a great time. We again are going to stay here this Halloween for our anniversary. The staff are friendly informative and could not ask for more polite individuals. We found the rooms to be more than adequate for our stay, clean, neat, and well organized with all that we needed to be comfortable. WE have stayed in supposedly the higher class motels and have found them to be less enjoyable , less clean and a lot less friendly areas in general including their staff. When we come to the keys this is our spot

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed one night in Cottage #4. It was very clean and cute. As everyone said, you park your car right next to the cottage so that was very convenient. The bed was comfortable and the service was great. We would definitely go back..!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveln2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in Cottage #8, which has a king-sized bed and outdoor shower. We arrived much earlier than the standard check-in time, but our cottage was ready and we were allowed to check-in. The service and hospitality at Tropical Cottages was exceptional throughout our stay. Truly nice people who strive to keep you happy while you're on vacation. Our cottage was very clean and was much better than I expected after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. The outdoor shower was a delight (very private too), the room stayed relatively cool, and the cottage was stocked with everything we needed. If I had to pick a complaint, it would be that the bed seemed hard to me, but I understand everyone has their own preferences when it comes to bedding. Overall, I strongly recommend giving the Tropical Cottages a try if you're ever in the Marathon area. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RabidWarhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
7.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.8 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
1.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Address: 243 61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-2702
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: $111 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing