We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropical Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed in cottage #10 although I had reserved #9. Was only staying for one night, but was surprised they bumped me to a different room then I had asked for. They said the 2 rooms were both queens. They look totally different, but like I was saying earlier since only staying one night didn't make a big deal out of it. Room was clean and bathroom was spacious with a large shower with a shower head on each side. Bed was fairly comfortable. Kitchenette area with sink, minifridge and microwave. Lady at the front desk when I checked in was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    95
    53
    36
    62
See reviews for
56
184
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here over the weekend 12/07/12 - 12/09/12. Our Inn Keeper was amongst the best of the best, she was attentive, informative and we shared some great conversations. She's also a fabulous Bar Tender :D

We stayed in Cottage #8 and it was impeccably clean, the outdoor shower was AWESOME! We want to build one in our home even it was so cool. Over the weekend they have live entertainment, the incredible Jesse Jet did some great Marley Covers and even some Decemberist Covers. It was a True Keys Vacation. We BBQed using the grill on site and had one of the most relaxing weekends ever. Give Tropical Cottages a shot for a True Keys Vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCF823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in cottage number 5 (the pink one) and found it to be tardis like once inside. The bed and furnishings were comfortable and well thought out. We also appreciated the kitchenette facilities and the shower was great. The bed was raised off the floor for some reason which meant it was very high so some might find it difficult to get in and out of but other than that we loved the little cottage. The bar wasn't open the evening of our stay but it looked like it would be a good place to while away a few hours and the rest of the site was well maintained. Overall very good value and an unusual place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize however if you got the impression that the bar was closed the night of your stay. Our Tiki Bar is open 7 nights a week....however we only offer entertainment, at present, 4 nights per week. Some nights when we do not have entertainment it seems pretty quiet around the Tiki, but we would love to have you come out and wile away a few hours with us! We have been known to mix up a pretty interesting Mangorita! We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our cottages, our beds are on risers for the purpose of keeping the underside clean. We certainly hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.....maybe you could try the green one this time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Friendly staff: super clean room: excellent value.
Vintage key place- just what we like!
Grounds are well maintained. Classic feel
Tiki bar on site with coffee in the morning on bar.
Definitely funky and fun place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The cottages are cute and clean. They seem much bigger from the inside than out. Had everything that we needed and was a great place to stay as a base in the middle of the keys. We went down to Key West from here as a day trip. We walked to Sombrero Beach, but it is a 40 min trek, to watch the sun set - really lovely on the sand there. You are not far in off the main road, so cottages 8-10 are noisier, but didn't keep me awake.
There is a little tiki bar - the owner will make various cocktails for you although the 'spirits' are all wine based, but surprisingly good. Live music is great, hopefully they will keep it up over the season.
Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaFacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte,FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in cottage #4 for 3 nights with our dog. Property was quiet and beautiful. Great tiki hut and bar and hammocks. Cottage was renovated with a king size poster bed, futon, full size fridge, microwave, toaster oven, and dinnerwear. Nice new shower with good water pressure. Also had a small flat screen tv. Only complaint I had was that housekeeping never came by. Only a few minutes to Sombrero beach and lots of good local restaurants. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandMikeinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are all definately pet lovers here, and your pets safety is our main concern! I do apologize however if I did not explain to you that because you have a pet in your room...our housekeeping staff will not open the door due to a resort policy. We would never take the chance with your pets safety, by opening the door while you are away...on the chance that you left your pet in the room. As you mentioned we are off the main highway, but not that far if your pet were to run out of the room. For future reference....stop by the office...the staff would be more than happy to get anything you need, extra towels, etc. Or you can also stop by and let us know that you are taking your pet with you on your outing that day, and then our housekeeping staff would happily service your room. We certainly hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This really is a wonderful place to spend a vacation,we wished we'd booked for more than just one night.The staff(Cherry runs it all by herself))is a fabulous hostess,full of chat and helpfull to the enth degree.It sits in a great location on the keys--just far enough from Miami but not too far from Key west.I woul highly recommend this holiday spot.I have read on here that the place is alive with scorpions--there are bugs about but this is the Florida keys and on the keys bugs are everywhere---get over it !!.I would love to revisit sometime in the future,we have great memories of it.

Room Tip: Just do it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
3.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Property: Tropical Cottages
Address: 243 61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-2702
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing