We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tropical Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$125
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Motel and Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackfin Resort and Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$124
$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$187
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dell Motel(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort(Marathon)(Great Value!)
$349
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
86
97
57
38
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
97
57
38
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscottage numberkey westtiki hutthe maintenance mansombrero beachbed was comfortablefishhammocksmicrowavekeyssinkpetsgrilljetutensilskayak
Filter
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 345 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a great place for a peaceful vacation in a beautiful surrounding. There is a nice garden, a Tiki Bar, Gas Grill and several hammocks (single, double).

Our cottage (Nr.3) was a “premium” one, i.e. with fully equipped kitchen, A/C, bad/toilet, flat TV, spacey, clean and in nice maritime colors. Btw, the mattress is great (as usual in USA..). However, we spent all the time outside in the garden, enjoying the great weather at the Keys. One thing must be clear: this is NOT a 5* Luxus Beach resort with a 24h room service, but it’s a perfect “city-people-gateway”! Much, much better than a standard (and overpriced !!) hotel room at the Keys. Btw, we spent the week before in Miami Beach at the Grand Beach Hotel. Both places are just perfect, but not comparable by any means.

The staff is great, we felt from the first moment as being among friends, not like “tourists” !! Every morning there is a pot of coffee at the Tiki waiting for you, everybody is really helpful and friendly.

CU you soon, guys !

Tips:

- Beach 1: Sombrero Beach, 5 Minutes away, free of charge, clean, beautiful.
- Beach 2: Bahia Honda State Park, 15 Minutes away. Take the beach on the left hand side from the entrance – not as warm and shallow as on the right hand side.
- Key West: a must! The City is great, we felt like in New Orleans. Try the conch’s and a Key Lime Pie ! :-)
- Scuba Diving: Key Largo, Captain Slate. Take the “Creature Feature” tour - great!

Room Tip: Book a "premium room", as there is full indoor bath and kitchen included.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I just spent seven amazing days in Marathon, Florida for our honeymoon. We stayed at Tropical Cottages (Cottage #8) for the entire week, and we know we wouldn’t have had such a wonderful experience if we stayed anywhere else. These Caribbean style cottages provided the perfect getaway from the traditional, busy lifestyle we are used to at home. They are located in the middle of the Keys, right off the main highway, making travel easy; however, you get a feeling of seclusion at Tropical Cottages. While at the cottages, you can lounge in a hammock, fish from the boat dock, or have a few refreshments at the Tiki Bar. The staff at Tropical Cottages are some of the nicest, most knowledgeable we’ve ever met. They made us feel more like part of a family than customers at their cottages. Rich is full of knowledge about all sorts of wildlife, fossils, and fishing, and he was willing to share his knowledge and advice with us from the very first moment we stepped foot on the Tropical Cottages property. Sherry is very friendly, caring, and is willing to help everyone in any way possible. She’s also a great bartender when she’s scheduled to work at the Tiki Hut. Julio and Maria worked very hard to keep our cottage clean and beautiful, and everyone gave us great advice about the best local places to eat, swim, snorkel, and visit. They always steered us in the right direction, ensuring that we would have a great time on our honeymoon. A BIG THANK YOU to everyone at Tropical Cottages and we can’t wait to stay here again next time!

Room Tip: The rooms with outdoor showers are great!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaceyM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed at Tropical Cottages on July 3-6, 2012 and had a very enjoyable visit. The manager and staff were very friendly and the environment was very dog friendly (we have two small dogs). The location was excellent for day trips too.
We will be returning later this year for a another fun week.
Thanks, The Dvoraks

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thanks , Dvoraks for the great review. We enjoyed “pet week”. There seemed to be more pets than people in residence that week, and all gathered and socialized under the tiki! It was a great time had by all. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in Cottage 3 and it was everything we needed an more. It had a stove, a full size fridge and freezer, a microwave and a toaster over. It also had a shower and nice big bed, a tv and a couch. Yes it was a little dated but who cares, it was pretty clean and the AC blew nice clean cold air.

It was a cute little place and really served all our needs. It was a shame that the weather was not nicer, because we could not use any of the other ammenities like the nice chairs in front of the cottage or the little Tiki Bar or the the hanging chairs.

If you are looking for the Ritz this is not the place for you, however if you are looking for a place to rest your head and make a meal this will do you just fine.

The place is easy to find. The people that wrote the bad reviews were probably the same people that like to stay in the Holiday Inn or looking for a bed in breakfast. For us we were just fishing in the Keys looking for a little Ma and Pa place to lay our heads and cook a meal.

We will stay here again!

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in make sure you get a room that is not facing the east, the little windows at the top send lots of light in. Also if you have a phone charger and you want it closer to you bring an extension cord since all the outlets are up high.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gretchen_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The room we stayed in was marginally clean. The sheets, bedspread and window coverings were so old they were faded and worn. Everything about the place was old. The bed frame was broken, fan not working. Bathroom was a back-in walk-out situation. No water pressure for the shower. The owner of this property was clearly cutting corners to the point of making it a bad experience. We still talk about the place as being one of the worst places we have ever stayed. Save your dollar and go to a better place.

Room Tip: Go someplace else and save your dollars.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmdNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Tropical Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thanks for the feedback. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us! We advertise ourselves as, and are, a quaint, comfortable, and reasonably priced 1950’s resort. We are constantly working on improving and updating our property and we take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews