We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, comfy, clean and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropical Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute, comfy, clean and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Tropical cottages were a great value. We stayed in the king cottage, and while we couldn't really cook anything major, there was a full fridge and a small sink with a coffee machine and toaster oven. Friendly staff, and dock space available too. Comfortable beds, and overall clean facilities!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhcp0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    95
    53
    36
    62
See reviews for
56
184
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

The room was more than my expectations.The staff was very friendly and took the time to talk with guests.The rooms were very clean and the property well kept.I would gladly stay there again.thank you Shiela and GG from Harold and Mike and family (fatboys)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emptypockets68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Very comfortable cottage for a restful stop after a busy day. Only a couple miles to a pet friendly beach. Nice kitchenette which we appreciated. Wonderful shower with lots of hot water.

Room Tip: Our cottage had attached outside setting enclosed which made it nice for our dog to enjoy her stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrickj8515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We decided on a whim to get away from it all for a weekend and drive down to the Keys. Saturday afternoon we stopped in the McDonald's parking lot to Google of "cheap motels Marathon FL". The first place we called didn't have anything available for the night, and he recommended we call the Tropical Cottages. After a quick call to verify that they had vacancies available in our price range (under $100), we stopped by to arrange our lodging for the night. It was right around the corner, a bit north on US1. We were welcomed by Gigi in the office who proceeded to enthusiastically show us 4 different room types in our price range. This is an "Old Florida" style motor lodge, which has been refurbished in the past year. All of the separate cottages have been repainted on the exterior indifferent jewel tone tropical colors, and the interiors of the cottages we saw had new paint, bedding, linens, flooring, bathrooms, kitchenettes (with coffee maker, fridge, utensils).

We chose Unit 11, which was the smallest of the units we were shown. It had an outdoor shower & toilet. Not an outhouse (as I first imagined when Gigi said it was an outdoor bathroom), but a very tastefully private shower & sink on the back deck. The toilet itself is cubbied into a corner with a wall for privacy, and the entire back deck is surrounded by white pvc privacy fencing. The ceiling is made of the sky, and the spreading limbs a very opportunistically planted mature tree! The only downside to this room would be if it were raining and storming, as the 'facilities' are outside. Additions I would suggest are a mirror over the sink outside, a mirror in the room, and a small microwave.

Overall, we were very impressed with the property, which has outdoor furniture strategically placed for "Keys-style" relaxing, and according to Gigi, there are plans to add a tiki bar and pool in the future. We have recommended the Tropical Cottages to our friends and family. This is our new "favorite place" to stay on our weekend trips to the Keys!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ima_Tropical_Nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical243, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thanks so much for the suggestions! As of July 2011, we have added a mirror over the sink, a mirror in the room and a microwave! We are always looking for feedback from our valued guests on how we can improve your vacation experience! Thanks for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We LOVED it here! Brought out 3lb chihuahua/yorkie mix. She was allowed to explore around the area without a leash. There is a field across the (small) street where she could 'do her business'.

We rented Cabins 12 & 11..which are adjoining rooms. Our son & his girlfriend traveled with us, so, this was a perfect set up for us. It would also be good for those traveling with younger children who need to go to bed earlier than adults, or, those parents wanting (or needing!) a break from kids in the evening. The outdoor bathroom..although unusual..was quite 'fun' (and private..no one could see in). The hammock and outdoor 'lounge' was wonderful for relaxing in the evening. We grilled outside one evening and enjoyed every minute of it.

Cottage 12 had an older TV, no remote, and few channels. Cottage 11 had cable, remote, and 200 channels. Free Internet. No pool. Laundromat was half a block away.

There is a Kmart near by, along with a Winn Dixie and Publix. Unless you have a WD card..go to Publix..they are cheaper and dont require a card. McDonalds and Wendys are just down the street for cheaper eating. 7 Mile Bridge is 5 mins away.

The owners were very friendly, offering suggestions where to go and what to avoid. Sombero Beach is two miles away that allow dogs on the beach w/ a leash. Also traveled to Islamorada to Anne's Beach, which is free and allows leashed pets on the beach. Near the Marathon airport, but, we didnt hear any planes unless we were outside.

Room Tip: If bringing a pet, notify owners pet is going out with you..if not, they assume they are in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kileyjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical243, Owner at Tropical Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here! As of July 2011, Unit 12 has a brand new flat screen TV with remote control and now gets all the cable channels! Thanks for the feedback and suggestions on how we can improve our property for our valued guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for 10 days in May 2011. During our stay we easily enjoyed the amenities of Marathon, Key West, and other nearby keys. The setting at Tropical Cottages was as labeled "Tropical". Although in the hot season, the breezes allowed us to enjoy the outdoors at the cottages. We spent a lot of time soaking up the nice weather. Rooms were very clean, comfortable, well supplied, and private.

The office staff were friendly and accommodating. We look forward to returning again in the near future. We had so much fun we'll bring friends.

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the pictures as each cottage had different amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 57597Jab61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is a great stop to make if you are "Key hopping" in the Florida Keys. Marathon is halfway through to Key West from Key Largo and there are tons of great shops and restaurants to see there. We stayed in Cottage 5 and absolutely loved it! Comfy bed, clean, and the refrigerator came in handy when we had leftovers from our awesome dinner at a local restaurant! :) When we got there for check-in the staff was very helpful in giving us an idea of where to go that night and what to see. I definitely recommend this place to families and couples looking to get away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
3.4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#9 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Cottages

Property: Tropical Cottages
Address: 243 61st Street Gulf, Marathon, FL 33050-2702
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Cottages Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing