We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingsail Resort Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Reviewed August 7, 2008

I found this sight when looking to see if there had been any complaints of theft or missing articles from the rooms. We had something peculurehappem to us, which I will explain at the end of this review.. We did not have any such incedent happen to us and had a fairly nice stay at the resort.
On arrival and check in service was fast and friendly, Offers to check out the pool if we wish to see if it met to our satisfaction before we registered was appreciated. Recomendations was given to take in Bahia Hondo State Park with our children. Perhaps next trip. Only one key was offered for room and there was two adults and two teenage children, The room was fairly small as one bed was in front of the door as you entered the room, but it was clean. We accepted it as an adventure. There were sufficiant towels for bathing, no extra for poolside. There was no cofee seen at the lagoon area as mentioned in previous reviews, not that I ever saw anyway. We enjoyed a couple of days fishing in the area and would come back and enjoy the pool and the lagoon area where we could clean any fish caught.. The last evening there I accidently locked us out while unloading our truck. We were unable to reach anyone at the front desk and saw no emergency number. The guest staying next to our room saud they have been there many times and tried to call someone for us. She mentioned we should try to get in with a credit card and said that usually would work on locked doors. Nothing seemed to work and mosqitos were beginning to bite. Suddenly this same guest walked over to our door and put "her" key into the lock of our room and opened the door right up! We were very thankful to be getting into our room it was about midnite by then, but as you can see it raises some concerns. The women said she was surprised that her key opened the door. The next day the front desk was also surprised to hear that and assured us it would be addressed. We would stay there again because everyone was kind and friendly,,,but will always use more caution when leaving anything behind in the rooms.

Central Florida

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank prettyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 453 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2008

ive stayed at the kingsail 5 times over the past 8 years. it is older but very clean. the pool has always been maintianed daily. it is a cute place with a great relaxation area by the lagoon. there is coffee avaliable down there as well as a nice fish cleaning station. an area to fish and cocktail at. it's a real nice setting.
only one time was there a "louder" group there but it was not so loud that you couldn't have your own fun. this year 3 of 4 light bulbs at the fish cleaning area were burnt out , we mentioned it to the maintance man and that night they were all working.
with a pool, fishing area,marine slips, and coffee by the water you won't find a better value

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank reelisticdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

The Kingsail motel is an average Marathon motel. Some good, some bad makes it hard give it the two thumbs up. First the good. Large efficent rooms. Clean for the most part. The pool is small but nice with palms surrounding the outer area. The dock on the channel is the best at early morning. Fresh coffee and the pelicans greet you as you watch the world move slowly in a pleasant quiet atmosphere. The occasional small plane on final approach to the little airport could be a nusiance to some but I didn't mind it.
The points that would discourage me from booking again would be the late night noise from the pool area. The traffic if you happen to get a room near hwy 1. Ants in the kitchen. And especially the price. Granted, we stayed on the President's Day holiday period, but $150 per night was about $50 too much for a double room. If you used the boat ramp and small dock, it might be worth the money. Average in Marathon.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank scothenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed here in Dec/06 on our vist to the Florida Keys. We drove back to back to Marathon after spending a day in overcrowded Key West to find this gem of a motel. We had a coupon from a Florida tourist guidebook for $64 a night and was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the rooms and grounds. They have a lovely pool area and dock that sits on an inlet and they offer self serve coffee on the dock in the mornings. The rooms were very basic with just a shower but they were all ceramic tiled, freshly painted and the kitchenettes have screened porches for your eating area. We definetly would stay here again as it was a great value for the price.

Thank lulubellAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Cingo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ValD2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marathon hotels
2.9 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
2.8 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 17 in Marathon
329 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsail Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsail Resort Motel

Address: 7050 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Hotel Class:2 star — Kingsail Resort Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsail Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsail Hotel Marathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing