We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy place”
Review of Sunset Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Islamorada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Islamorada B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We got a room on the main road, they wouldn't change it for a quieter one, even if the motel looked half empty. The room was dirty, there were bugs, it was smelly (something like a cheap air freshener trying to cover a lot of dampness and a dirty air conditioning philter.
It was very noisy all night long (there is only one road crossing the Keys) and we had a bad night of sleep.
We didn't have the chance to check out the pool, so no comments on that.
We had breakfast at Mangrove Mikes, said to be one of the best breakfasts in the Keys. I found it just OK, not bad.
The motel is a short walk away from a nice place to go grab a drink or dinner and watch the susnset: the Lorelei Cabana Bar - very nice, family ambience.
It is thrue that it's the cheapest motel that we could find around (around $100) but frankly, I wouldn't send any of my friends (even on a budget) there.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ones on the main road or you won't sleep at all!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jutrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Over the Summer we have replaced the carpet in the rooms for tile. Here in the Keys, the humidiy is always high and it holds moisture in the carpets and make rooms smell musty. Now that we have tile we do not have that issue. We hope you would try us again. We do have some of the best prices in the Keys year round. Mangrove Mike's just implimented a new menu. Yum. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

If you are here for fishing season or need an economical place to stay, consider this place. There is soap in the bathroom but no extra amenities like shampoo/conditioner. It does not have a hair dryer either. It does have a compact refrigerator which is handy for pop. The room is very spacious and it has both a front and back door which is nice if you are at the pool. The pool is okay but not a lot of shade.

Ice is not available. You can buy a large bag of it across the street at Burger King. So if you have a cooler to store the ice, that is a plus. It is right on the main street but it didn't seem noisy.

It is a very old place so keep that in mind when trying to decide where to stay. I would rate it less than average but better than poor because it served our needs. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. I wouldn't say the carpet was that clean though but then again most of us walk around in our shoes in motel rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank great2bretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for the review. We try and keep our prices low to make it easier to stay in the Keys. Part of how we do that is by not suppling all of the extras. Lots of people do not like hotel shampoos anyway. We have a hairdryer and iron in the office that we loan out. Comes see us again on your next fishing trip. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed a week at the Sunset Inn during a fishing trip this April. It was a fair bit older and worn-out than I expected but it was also not expensive at all. As I mentioned, I was on a fishing trip so I did not want fancy/expensive accommodations. This fit my bill just fine. I thought by the ad in the website that my room would have a kitchen but it only had a mini-fridge which I was able to live with. I would stay here again as it was convenient and cheap, but let those criteria be your deciding factors in staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gtinckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for the review. We do have some of the best prices in the Keys. Only about 1/4 of our rooms have kitchenettes but as you stated, all rooms have a small refrig. Come see us again on your next fishing trip Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The good: - No bedbugs
- Relatively clean
- The pool area looked clean and well kept

The bad: - The 'kitchenette' we paid extra for consisted of a sink and a fridge that didn't work. No microwave because 'people kept stealing them,' according to the front desk.
- No shampoo or lotion provided, just bars of soap
- Uncomfortable mattress
- Furnishings old and tired


The ugly: - Our TV sizzled. Yes, sizzled.
- The fire alarm had a label saying 'replace by 2002.' We made that discovery when we had to ask the front desk for replacement batteries after the alarm started beeping in the middle of the night. The kicker ... the replacement batteries they gave us were dead. I'm not kidding.

I don't know why this place has so many positive reviews. I guess it's not so bad for a place to crash for one night, but not any more than that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmacMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I just got back from Islamorada I stayed there for 3 Nigths never stay in this hotel before and after reading some reviews I was not to sure but the price was good so I give it a try and I have to say I will stay there again even is not the Hiltton the rooms didnt smell,beds were clean and every day I had clean towels and beds made for a good nigth of sleep after fishing or scuba diving all day plus the location you can ask for any better is migth be a litttle old fashion hotel but for the price cant bit it and like I said I am already planing to go back down and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

we live in West central Florida and escape to Islamorada 3 or 4 times a year... We stay at the sunset on at least a couple of these trips every year...the keys are a fantastic getaway and Islamorada is the gem of the middle keys. Sunset inn is a basic, clean, older hotel situated directly in the middle of everything there is to do on the key. There are a multitude of lodgings at the 81, 82 mm... but the sunset is by far THE MOST AFFORDABLE...at least $100 a night less almost every other hotel within walking distance. The rooms are clean. The maintenance on the older property is fine...the pool although surrounded by the buildings is always clean although be careful the deck chair you choose, because some can be dry rotted. The guy at the desk is helpful with suggestions and very accommodating...( we've had to change rooms on a few occasions, and he helped us without an attitude a rare service occurrence these days)...Mangrove mike's is right next door...the breakfast joint in Islamorada...They have parking in the back for people pulling their boats...I can't say enough good things about this very basic, clean and cheap hotel!!!

Room Tip: drive up rooms are great!!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chefkbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had low expectations for the $85 / night rate, but that's fine. We just wanted, clean, cheap and safe for a few nights.

We got relatively clean, relatively cheap (although the kitchenette rooms no longer have microwaves so save your extra $10)

Safe? Not even close. The smoke detector beeped all night because there was no AC power to it and the bargain basement 9volt backup battery was dead. Removing the unit to change the battery revealed the safety label "Replace Unit By 2002"!

The television in the room SIZZLED for 1/2 an hour each time you turned it on because it was full of water. One visit from a competent Fire Marshall would have this place shut down,

Spend a little more and go somewhere safe. It's not worth dying in the Sunset Inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a DIFFERENT motel.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmorrisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah G, Owner at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Smoke detectors have manufacture dates on the back of them. There are no expiration dates. We have replacement TV's when one decides to not work. We are sorry for your bad experience. We hope you would try us again. We do appriciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Islamorada hotels
2.3 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
0.5 mi away
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Key Islamorada
0.1 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
970 reviews
2.0 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn

Address: 82200 Overseas Hwy, P.O. Box 561, Islamorada, FL 33036-3603
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Islamorada
Price Range: $50 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Islamorada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing