We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The grounds and the rooms are very nice. We stayed in a room overlooking the beach & water which we thoroughly enjoyed. The only drawback to the room was that every time the air-conditioner came on during the night it woke us up.
We had drinks at the bar & beach followed by a wonderful dinner on the patio at "Atlantic's Edge". In fact, it was best meal that we had in our two weeks in Florida,

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaManager, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you very much for your review, we are very proud of Cheeca Lodge and always happy to hear from our guests. We're disappointed to hear about the air conditioning noise though of course thrilled to hear how you enjoyed your drinks at the Tiki Bar and your meal in Atlantic's Edge. As you experienced, our open-air Tiki bar is located steps from our the beach and has uninterupted views of the ocean, and Atlantic's Edge also offers stunning ocean views as well as and both indoor and outdoor dining. Breakfast and lunch are offered in Atlantic's Edge as well as fine-dining in the evening including fresh seafood, colossal stone crabs, prime steaks and locally grown organic produce. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to your return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,083 - 3,089 of 3,451 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

We would've had an incredible trip, but the responce we received from management regarding an issue we had was not only disappointing, surprising, but downright unprofessional and rude.

We brought our issue to the attention of the woman who checked us in. She said she couldn't help and passed us to her manager. This manager didn't help and passed us to the Cheeca General Manager, Jim Costello. I left Jim 2 voice mails, and did not hear from him.

I am the owner of a professional sales company and am shocked at how this resort takes it's customer base for granted.

Great location, great resort. BUT, if they did not have the location they have, in my opinion, they would not be in business.

Very disappointing trip!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MplsTrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I am physician I do not have much time off I went to conference in Miami and we decided to stay 2 extra days to enjoy with family Time at the beach.Me and my Husband were dreaming with a nice beach were we could enjoy with our 3 yo boy Looking net we unfortunate found Cheeca Lodge & spa. We were so excited when we look at the web site we thought we were going to paradise!!!The rooms ,the beach pictures ,pools .... were amazing what a great photographer!!! We arrived in our paradise.. What a disappointment ... The beach. ...... What beach ? They do not have a beach What they have is a pier and rocks with sea grass and man-of-war everywhere ... No sand beach at all ,,, The lagoon is the most disgusting thing I ever seen smell awful Dirty no way I would even place my enemy there... The room ... photographers can do miracle thru pictures.. The room the furniture was old dirty with dust and smell like public restroom. I told the manager our disappointment and ask if we could leave and get our fee refund and I even told her their web site the way they showed the pictures I was sure they had a real beach. She told me is the key west beach....
Thank God we were able to leave the following day we lost 100 dollars and we paid 500 to stay one night in an room that is not worth it 150 a. Night. I would never recommend this place to anyone. Please save your money and go to some place else. We are in our way to Key Biscayne I hope we have a better time there

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Obgyndocbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaManager, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Our apologies that you did not enjoy your time with us. Just a few months ago we completed the last rooms in a property-wide renovation so all furniture and fixtures are up-to-date, I am sorry these fixtures were not to your liking while you were here with us. We are very disappointed to hear that the room was not cleaned to Cheeca standards—we take cleanliness very seriously and have shared your comments about dust and odor with our Executive Housekeeper. As for the marine life mentioned, the Upper Keys did experience a high number of man-of-wars a couple of weeks ago. It is very rare to see them in such large numbers, perhaps once in 20 years. I am also sorry our beach did not meet your expectations. At 1200 feet in length, our beach is one of the largest in the Keys. Thank you for all of your comments; we welcome all feedback from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We went President's Day weekend with two 13 year olds and one 11 year old. We had two adjoining rooms which cost after tax, fees, etc. over $1,300 per night total. The rooms were located near the road with a garden veiw only.

The pool and jacuzzi facilities are grossly inadequate for the size of the property. The jazuzzi was almost always packed with as many as a dozen people in it. Chairs around the pool were taken up by 8AM every day of our stay.

My kids tried twice to use the free bicycles but they were all checked out and none available.

The physical plant was in disappointing repair. Lights didn't work in our room, shower heads were broken by the pool, the jacuzzi jets didn't work, the grounds had litter that wasn't promptly picked up, etc.

Most frustrating and disapointing was the poor service. The first two days at the pool the pool side service was so slow and so poor to be non-existent. After a couple of hours of hoping someone would come by we gave up and went and waited in line at the bar. Not a big deal but mildly irritating when paying such a high price.

There was a completely obnoxious rule at the pool that pool towels were limited to one per guest. The staff actually refused to give us more. It was quite cool one of the days we were there so another towel after getting out of the water to cover up with on the lounge chairs was warranted.

The staff at the pool would stand around talking but left the poolside a mess, dirty towels piled up, dirty chairs with drinks, food, etc. from the night before left out, etc.

These kinds of service problems were repeated throughout our stay. We ate at the restaurant for lunch and breakfast and would often wait as much as 10 mins for the hostess to show up and seat us. The wait staff walked by but refused to help even when asked.

The wait to get a hostess was so long and so confused for dinner we finally gave up and went somewhere else.

Little details like a do not disturb sign were missing from our room. So, the one day we got everyone down for an hour long nap after an early morning of fishing the housekeeping staff came in the room. They didn't speak English so it was very difficult to explain to them we wanted them to come back later and everyone was eventually woken up.

Worst of all both our room reservation and our prior reservation for fishing were completely screwed up. The fishing reservation was lost altogether and we spent over an hour Friday night trying to find an alternative fishing boat. Our room reserveration was screwed up too and our adjoining rooms weren't adjoining. It was eventually straightened out but it was an annoying hassle after a long drive.

Overall, this place charged very high prices for lousy service, poor maintenance and annoying policies. It was disappointing because we had heard and read so much about the lodge over the years, President Bush's visists, etc. It was Four Season prices with Motel 6 service...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaManager, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Thank you for your comments, we are very disappointed to hear in your stay here over Presidents Day was not satisfactory. As it was a busy holiday weekend with beautiful weather, both of our pools (one for families and one for adults) and our beach were enjoyed by many of our guests. We do our best to prepare for these weekends by having additional lounge chairs on our beach (we are somewhat limited around the pool due to the restriction of space on the deck). We apologize the Jacuzzi jets were not functioning at full power during your visit; this was brought to our attention and they have since been replaced.
Of utmost concern are the service issues you experienced in our restaurants and by the pool; please rest assured we take these comments very seriously and will be incorporating them into our service training.
While it does not change the experience you had at Cheeca, we sincerely apologize for your frustrations. Again, thank you for your feedback, with information like this we can grow and strive for the perfect guest experience. We hope that you will give us another chance next time you are in the Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I called the hotel after reading some of the reviews about cleanliness and service. I am here now with my family and can only sat that my experience has been fine. You do not have to wait long for drinks or food to come beachside, staff has been accomodating, rooms are clean ( and I was worried about this). If you are expecting ritz carlton service or ambiance, set your sights in a different perspective. It's about fitting into the natural enviorment here with a congenial staff and amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samson_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

There are not many places you can reach nonstop from DC that are warm in February, but Miami is one. Cheeca is 90 minutes from MIA. Located on the water it was great to be warm. I have not been to the Keys before and there really was not the beach I might have desired (ability to go for long walks, etc) as there really was no beach. However, beautiful grounds, adequate service, lovely rooms. We stayed in beach bungalow which was nice although not inexpensive.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Just returned from a three night birthday surprise for my wife. Having never been to Islamorada nor staying at Cheeca Lodge I was really apprehensive after reading several negative comments. Now that I have been there, I can say that some people cannot be pleased. I've been fortunant enough to travel all over the world and can be a little hard to please myself. I was impressed at all levels with Cheeca Lodge. From the Bellmen who first greet you to the maintenance staff, everyone was so kind and went out of their way to help us. The hotel is beautiful, the restaurants are very good and the service is excellent. Every aspect of this hotel awesome. Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJWWarnerRobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
986 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#7 of 19 in Islamorada
306 reviews
3.3 mi away
Drop Anchor Resort
Drop Anchor Resort
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
757 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $341 - $707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing