We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

We went in the off season so we practically had the place to ourselves. The grounds are incredible with several pools to please various tastes. Nice spa and gym. Resort fee of $50 is high but it offers kayaks, standup paddle boarding, bicycles, and much more.
Service is very friendly and professional. We really enjoyed talking to Blake, our poolside server.
We looked at all the room choices and there is a huge difference between the new ones and the old ones. We stayed at the top of the line suite that overlooks the ocean and has an incredible bathtub on the deck. One of our favorite hotel rooms in the world.
The older rooms smell musty, due to the tropics, and can be dark.
However, regardless of your room you are surrounded by beauty throughout the property.
One caveat, we were told that during high season it is a family oriented, overcrowded, and loud scene.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGibson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,565
    809
    424
    202
    135
See reviews for
943
1,578
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (936)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have stayed at this beautiful resort several times. But....I WILL NEVER GO BACK!! Our stay was for 2 nights and the hotel charged for 3 nights and refuses a refund. This particular trip was planned with a group of powerboaters. We stayed at the resort due to the fact we could not safely cross the gulf from FL to Bahamas in our vessels due to a storm (potential hurricane). The agreement was for 2 nights...with a possibility of 3...depending on the weather. Fortunately, we were able to leave after the second night. Upon check out the group was given receipts showing charges for only 2 nights we stayed. Afterwards, our credit cards were charged for the third night. Cheeca Lodge is claiming we did an "early departure." They have charged over $10,000 worth of rooms to our group. The personnel is as helpful as a brick! They obviously have no ownership in the resort....screwing annual customers.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Islandbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband and I went to the Cheeca Lodge to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Usually they require a 2 night stay, but the hotel was gracious enough to allow a one night stay! When we arrived, the "valet" (JJ) greeted us, got us a mimosa :) and gave us a tour of the immediate property; she was a treat and a wealth of information. We registered with Jennifer who was also a winner in the personality department- a true professional and a sweetheart; she treated us like VIPs!
Our room was a premier king that overlooked the golf course with the bay in the distance; we watched a beautiful sunset while we enjoyed our "happy anniversary" bottle of champagne(compliments of Cheeca) . The room was well appointed & comfortable. The bathroom was very cool...and there is a suprise on the balcony.
the grounds are meticulous, the tiki bar and bartenders great fun (I wanted to bring them home-the drinks were fab) and a walk down the pier to view the 100's of fish, sting rays and manatees was awesome.We also swam in the adults only pool, located by the spa.
Dinner in the dining room was delicious (I had apricot glazed grilled mahi and my hubby had seafood pasta); our waiter (Bryan-great guy) brought out a dessert plate with truffles, brownies, chocolate covered strawberries and chocolate chip cookies; he wrote Happy Anniversary in chocolate on the plate.
All in all a beautiful celebration that was romantic & relaxing. I can't say enough about the staff-all so very professional and friendly, they made sure that everything was perfect-and it truly was. We can't wait to return...
thanks Cheeca Lodge for a memorable time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

It was a Club Med Experience at Ritz Carlton Prices. I read some of the reviews on this site and think they must have stayed at different hotel or they must not travel much. Campus is lovely, but everything else is unremarkable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthFloridaMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed here Wed. 8/25 to Sunday. The staff at the front desk was always helpful and friendly. I think their names were Jim, John, Deborah and Cristina. This hotel is beautiful and is maintained very well; but, having a staff that makes you feel welcome and doesn't hesitate to try to improve your stay made all the difference. You would expect this type of service at a hotel with the reputation of the Cheeca. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner over the course of our stay and we both enjoyed the food and did not find it overpriced. The specialty drinks are very good - however - the menu offers souvenir glasses that the wait staff said they had been out of for several months. Sunday brunch offered a lot of choices and the Chefs are there to make the traditional omelets, eggs etc. We had lunch twice outside on the patio of the Atlantic and although the restuarant was busy the service was prompt on both occassions. The food was not as hot as it should have been on our second visit so I would suggest covering it on windy days to help it hold it's heat. The spa area is large and the fitness room is open late. We went there every day/night and found it to be cool and comfortable to exercise.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Will-Krysti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

Prior to our trip I was concerned with the negative reviews. It wasn't just this site but I found that the Cheeca wasn't looking good on other sites as well. We only have time for small trips and make it worthwhile by staying at only high end luxury resorts. I can say that Cheeca lived up to most with just a few minor issues. I believe that the service issues have been addressed and hopefully will continue on in that vein.

The resort was beautiful, the grounds gorgeous and immaculate. Valet and bell staff were wonderful upon arrival. Check in was quick and easy. Our room in the main lodge was large and fantastic with the bathtub on the balcony. I would say though that I can't figure out why this room wasn't set up as a suite. There is plenty of room to do this and it would make traveling with a teenage daughter so much nicer on all of us. I know that we could have booked a suite but from what I understand they just don't have the wow factor that this room has. I wouldn't know though because I didn't see a suite.

Housekeeping would probably be my biggest issue, keeping me from giving this place a full 5 stars. While we were very happy to get turndown in the evening as well as the daily service, they just did the very basics each time. Just made the bed and changed out the towels and toiletries. Really nothing else. I had to request that they make up the couch on the first day after they left it as a bed. I am sorry but for what we paid for the room I would like to be able to sit on the couch and watch the TV in the afternoon. Unfortunately they didn't honor our request the last two days and we had to make it up ourselves.

The food at the restaurant was great as well as was the service. We really enjoyed the wait staff at the pool and never had a problem getting a drink, thankfully because the temperatures were soaring the entire time that we were there.

There were tons of activities but I have to say we didn't indulge in many. It was just so hot and the pool was our daily destination. The family pool and hot tub were fabulous with cushioned covers on all of the recliners. Unlimited towels were always available. The beach isn't a good swimmers beach if you are into that. It is rocky and I never saw anyone go in the water, but there is very nice seating on the sand that I never saw anyone use, again it was just too hot to be out there. The pier is really nice too.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and I would gladly return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyDiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

What a beautiful property with great views, a fantastic spa, and first class food and drink. Everything you could ask for, plus quality and luxury! Also great to have local shuttle service to all the bars and restaurants.
Really enjoyed the neachside/poolside bar/food service and all the amenities.
As a South Florida resident, best to go in Summer when the rates are a little better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nvizble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing