We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We hope to come back for a longer stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We hope to come back for a longer stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a 2-night stay at Cheeca Lodge in room 717. It is what they call a "Luxury Resort View One-Bedroom Suite" and is on the 3rd (top) floor of one of the buildings.

We really liked this room. It has a kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, 2-burner stovetop, microwave, and dishwasher. (Note that it doesn't have a conventional oven.) The sitting room is a comfortable size with a sofa and flat-screen TV. The bedroom has a king bed - we slept 12 hours the first night here, so the bed is pretty comfortable. The room also has a HUGE bathroom that actually has 3 rooms to it: one for the toilet, a second for a sink/vanity with a good amount of counter space, and a third room for the shower (with a selection of shower heads), separate deep soaking tub, and another sink/vanity.

The screened balcony was a favorite place for us to sit. We felt that we were in a rain forest, with the large trees right outside the balcony providing some privacy.

Parking for the building is covered, and the building has an elevator.

I wish we'd had a longer time to use the beach - it is lovely. Even though they said that they were booked solid, it seemed quiet to us - the most activity was at the tiki bar (which has excellent margaritas).

It's also in a nice mid-point location in the Keys .We'd love to come back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nc1MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your excellent write-up, and we certainly hope you will be back for a much longer vacation stay! It’s wonderful to hear your praises of your one-bedroom suite, and we are glad you were so happy and comfortable there. We would love to have you back very soon. A Cheeca margarita is calling your name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    774
    401
    194
    122
See reviews for
877
1,491
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Cheeca Lodge is a beautiful resort. Virtually all of the personnel were helpful and polite and seemed caring, but especially Earl who mans the front gate as you enter. However, if you check in late at night, you may encounter a front desk clerk who seems "bothered" by your presence.
I believe his name was Azmuth. I wouldn't say he was rude, but he bordered on it.

We paid for an "upgraded" room and it was certainly as nice as any accommodation we've ever stayed. There was a $39 per day service charge, which I believe is justified as it included free golf, free bicycles, free kayaking, free in room water bottles etc.

It was a gorgeous property, but there are other properties (though not as "upscale") that would have provided what we were looking for with a lot less expense. If money "Is no object" then this resort will fit your needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ted p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback about our resort, and we are glad you found our staff helpful and caring and our property gorgeous. Thank you! Our resort fee includes tennis, golf, fishing rods, sea kayaks, bicycles, shade cabanas, fitness center, DVD movie rentals, in-room coffee, tea and bottled water, wireless internet, guest internet station with DSL and printer, local and 800 calls, guest fax services, daily newspaper delivery, local shuttle service and valet or self-parking. We believe that Cheeca’s prices are right in line with other resorts of our caliber, and we are disappointed you don’t feel the same. Nevertheless, we invite you back for another vacation in paradise. (P.S. Our rate goes down in the slower summer months.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was a perfect getaway for a couple....everything was amazing! We had a relaxing break from the daily grind back home. Free champagne in the lobby and everyone was so friendly and inviting. Free Kayak excursion...we had so much fun! I recomend this to anyone that needs a relaxing excursion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review! We agree with you – Cheeca offers the perfect respite from the daily grind – and cold weather! Please come back again soon for some more rest and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We flew into Miami, rented a convertible and had a drive to Key West planned. We heard about the Cheeca Lodge from friends and thankful we did. Best part of four day trip. We only stayed one night, could have easily stayed longer. Our room was not ocean front, I would make sure was next time. We faced lagoon, which is a bit like disney land pool but very nice to hear water all night. Resort reminds me of a smaller version of Little Dix's Bay. Very low key, old school with great service. Nice lunch by water and went for drinks across street to dive sunset beach bar with music. All the locals and tourist must know about. Perfect first night in Keys. I sadly did use the spa, or other activities offered but there seemed to be a few. Perfect place to relax.

Room Tip: I would encourage getting ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlington30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
It’s so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we wish you would have stayed longer, too. The shimmering waterfalls outside our lagoon rooms and suites are very soothing to all the senses. We are glad you found our service great and enjoyed some of the local island color across the street. Cheeca is indeed the perfect place to relax – come back, an oceanfront room is calling your name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Everything about this place is perfect. A wonderfully landscaped property gave you the feeling of being secluded from the rest of the world yet there was so much to do on the grounds and within minutes in every direction.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina2sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Wow, what a perfect review! It sounds like you had a wonderful time here, and we hope you are planning a return trip in the near future. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place is like a beautiful relaxing paradise, away from it all. From the minute you drive in
you know you're somewhere different., somewhere special. Comfortable surroundings great food, pleasant staff, all combine with many other things to create a nice vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank easttdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your most gracious review; we really appreciate it. Please plan a return visit to this special relaxing paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The grounds, amenities and staff were great. A great family resort with a lot of fun activities. Out meeting room was centrally located and the food was very good. We did not stay in the main hotel and the walls were paper thin in the outer lodges. Very hard to get a good nights sleep due to the noise. If you choose this hotel spend the extra to stay inside the main hotel. Even at a discounted group rate, the lodges were over priced.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and we welcome reviews from business travelers like you. We are glad you found our grounds, amenities, staff and food to be great, with lots of fun activities. We are so sorry you had a hard time sleeping, and we have noted your comments. Please come back again soon for some rest and relaxation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
2.7 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing