We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful Place but"”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin Square, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Beautiful Place but"”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed for 2 days Dec 2013 , The service was excellent, location beautiful , the drinks were not as expensive as stated the only one problem I experienced is I stayed in Rm #508 cottage
and the walls are extremely thin , I listen to several romantic interludes next door several times a
day and at night ( quite embarrassing ) after a while. Besides that a great place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, and were delighted that you found our service excellent and location beautiful. We sincerely apologize for the noise issues you had with your room, and will use your comments to improve and enhance our rooms product. Thank you for writing, and please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    843
    441
    213
    142
See reviews for
1,004
1,654
36
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have been going to Cheeca Lodge since more than 20 years and it is a pleasure going back every time again. After the major renovation some of the "family" feeling disappeared but this is probably more e sentimental feeling than an objective one. Great food, good service and beautiful rooms in the main building. The bath tub on our terrace with a view of the Gulf of Mexico was TOP.
Great value for money. Don't expect a lot from the village of Islamorada. You come here to relax and enjoy the beach and garden and not to forget the magnificent SPA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear from our repeat guests like you. We truly appreciate your kind remarks about our food, service, rooms and spa. We agree that Cheeca offers great value for our guests. We hope you are planning your next visit for some rest and relaxation here in Islamorada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Islamorada, and definitely want be our last. We usually bypass the upper Keys and head straight for Key West. Cheeca Lodge is a beautiful property that was very well maintained. The spa was closed for renovations when we were there. We stayed in the main building that had been extensively remodeled a few years ago. The pool was very nice. The salt water pool could have used a little work. Great pier for docking your boat. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in the main newly renovated building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbtegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are thrilled you chose Cheeca for your first visit to Islamorada – thank you! We appreciate your praise of our beautiful property, rooms and pool. Our saltwater snorkeling lagoon is fed with continuously circulated ocean waters and stocked with a myriad of local fish. This ecosystem directly reflects the conditions of the ocean waters, which vary greatly with the wind and weather.
As a point of clarification, we do allow limited boat dockage on the north side of our 525-foot wooden fishing pier for boats 24 feet long or less. We look forward to your return visit, and appreciate your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our wife and I decided to celebrate our 36th anniversary at the Cheeca. After celebrating our daughter's destination wedding there in the summer and having stayed there a few other times, we just find the property extremely appealing. We stayed again in one of the Ocean View Kings in the main building, where time just seems to slow down. Perfect location to say the least. We had our dinner at the Atlantis and when Executive Chef Richard heard it was our anniversary he proceeded to create for us some of the best tasting and looking dishes we have ever experienced. From the fresh fish to the lobster and stone crabs, the whole evening was just spectacular. Our desserts came with a Happy Anniversary message that was truly impressive.
Just when we thought the evening was over we received a complimentary basket from Charlene Lopez, Director of Catering Sales, that was just amazing. Champagne, cheese, chocolate covered strawberries and fruits. Quite a wonderful surprise.
The only sad part was having to depart but my wife is already making plans for our next visit.
Charlene, Executive Chef Richard, Chris (valet), we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Room Tip: The main building, Ocean View with their private jacuzzi is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaquin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
What a fantastic review! We truly appreciate it, and Happy Anniversary once again! It is truly rewarding to hear such positive feedback from repeat guests like yourself. We are delighted you enjoyed your dinner in the Atlantic’s Edge restaurant, and that our staff made you feel so special. That is our goal with each one of our guests, and we are so happy we achieved that with you and your wife. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort, among the best in the region. We were there over Christmas. The facilities were quite modern although the clientele was understandably older people running away from colder climes. Do not eat at this place if you can avoid it. The breakfast is passable but service sucked big time. We tried all three restaurants and would rate them all as very poor overall. The place charges a very high price but the quality of their offerings is awful. Stay here because it is lovely but eat elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We read your review with both happiness and sadness. While we are pleased you found our resort to lovely and recommend that others stay here, we were despondent about your feedback on our restaurants. We are very sorry that they did not meet your expectations. We take your comments to heart and will use them to address the issues you mention. Thank you for your feedback, and please come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our connected suite was lovely. The property is worthy of the nice things others write. Some of the staff are wonderful, others seem indifferent and if your staff isn't uniformly up to snuff then your resort is not first class.

There are three restaurants but only one kitchen. How do I know? I asked the waiter that question when our dinner order without appetizers took one hour and fifteen minutes to be served after my persistent questioning.

OK , it's one meal and to be fair it was comped, but the next day cappuccinos took 20 minutes to arrive (though this waiter was just a guy you couldn't help but love). Then at lunch my wife and daughter ordered peel and eat shrimp which the menu states comes with cocktail sauce but none was delivered to the table. A minor oversight that could have been corrected if the wait staff I asked to remedy the problem had gotten some. The second person I asked retrieved some but threw it on the table as if I was being difficult. The manager who was clearing tables (first clues as to why the entire dining facility is one big clusterfest) was called over by me. He seemed equally annoyed to receive a complaint.

Cheeca Lodge needs a resort manager with standards equal to its price. Otherwise, enjoy the grounds and eat elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Landsman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your lovely suite and our beautiful gardens, and that you found us worthy of other nice write-ups. We agree with you that each staff member should be wonderful, not just some of them. We will work on this. We are very sorry about the wait time at our restaurants, and for the service issues you experienced. We are addressing these things right now, and are confident that our service will be up to your standards on your next visit. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

8th visit. This time with whole family (14). The property is as lovely and perfect as ever. Rooms spacious and beautiful. Exquisite service and food . Probably the best managed property we visit. There is a reason we keep coming back...world class everything!!
C Allen : Boston

Room Tip: Anything on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We thank you for your world-class review! We are so honored that you come back year after year, and this time with your whole wonderful family! Thank you for your great recommendation, we sincerely appreciate it. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,307 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,702 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
1.1 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing