We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice resort, among the best in the region. We were there over Christmas. The facilities were quite modern although the clientele was understandably older people running away from colder climes. Do not eat at this place if you can avoid it. The breakfast is passable but service sucked big time. We tried all three restaurants and would rate them all as very poor overall. The place charges a very high price but the quality of their offerings is awful. Stay here because it is lovely but eat elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2trvl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We read your review with both happiness and sadness. While we are pleased you found our resort to lovely and recommend that others stay here, we were despondent about your feedback on our restaurants. We are very sorry that they did not meet your expectations. We take your comments to heart and will use them to address the issues you mention. Thank you for your feedback, and please come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,725
    865
    453
    216
    152
See reviews for
1,055
1,695
36
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our connected suite was lovely. The property is worthy of the nice things others write. Some of the staff are wonderful, others seem indifferent and if your staff isn't uniformly up to snuff then your resort is not first class.

There are three restaurants but only one kitchen. How do I know? I asked the waiter that question when our dinner order without appetizers took one hour and fifteen minutes to be served after my persistent questioning.

OK , it's one meal and to be fair it was comped, but the next day cappuccinos took 20 minutes to arrive (though this waiter was just a guy you couldn't help but love). Then at lunch my wife and daughter ordered peel and eat shrimp which the menu states comes with cocktail sauce but none was delivered to the table. A minor oversight that could have been corrected if the wait staff I asked to remedy the problem had gotten some. The second person I asked retrieved some but threw it on the table as if I was being difficult. The manager who was clearing tables (first clues as to why the entire dining facility is one big clusterfest) was called over by me. He seemed equally annoyed to receive a complaint.

Cheeca Lodge needs a resort manager with standards equal to its price. Otherwise, enjoy the grounds and eat elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Landsman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your lovely suite and our beautiful gardens, and that you found us worthy of other nice write-ups. We agree with you that each staff member should be wonderful, not just some of them. We will work on this. We are very sorry about the wait time at our restaurants, and for the service issues you experienced. We are addressing these things right now, and are confident that our service will be up to your standards on your next visit. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

8th visit. This time with whole family (14). The property is as lovely and perfect as ever. Rooms spacious and beautiful. Exquisite service and food . Probably the best managed property we visit. There is a reason we keep coming back...world class everything!!
C Allen : Boston

Room Tip: Anything on the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We thank you for your world-class review! We are so honored that you come back year after year, and this time with your whole wonderful family! Thank you for your great recommendation, we sincerely appreciate it. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Many activities on the property. Laughter for ages 20-90 y.o.while playing the 9 hole golf course. Bike riding on a nice path including the beach. All of the activities are included in the daily rate which was a treat to not pull out money. It was much to windy to snorkle or paddle board or we would have done that also. The rooms are quiet and dark with the curtains. Nice to sleep in! The landscape has lovely palm trees that rustled in the wind and sounded like rain.
The food at the 3 restaurants on the property was superior to most resorts. the sushi restaurant was one of the best ever. Breakfast buffet was great. Many things to do outside of property also...including a bike, run, walking path to Key West. Amazing.
Staff were sweet and wonderfully helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyOne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We were elated with your wonderful review. We particularly enjoyed your comment about our sweet and wonderfully helpful staff. That’s music to our ears! It sounds like you had a fabulous time here and took full advantage of the myriad of activities we have to offer. Thank you for writing, and please plan a return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stumbled on this place after other miami concierges highly recommended this and boy were we glad we did!! From the moment we stepped into the property, Donna gave us champagne, upgraded us to a beautiful suite, delicious daily breakfast on the water, we fell in love w this place! Stunning views, beach, most water activities included also free bikes, recent movies, golf, tennis it was amazing!! Great customer service throughout what a great stay and one of our new favorite places!! Thank u Donna and Cheeca lodge!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelProUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We loved your amazing review, and thank you for writing it. We also appreciate the concierge who referred you to us! We are so happy Cheeca is your new favorite place, and kudos to Donna who made you feel so welcome. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key largo, florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I came to spend some time at the Cheeca Lodge beach for the day and I was greeted by a friendly pool/beach server named Zakiya. She asked if I needed anything and when I asked where the bathroom was she told me it was all the way on the other side of the beach, and walked me there! I was extremely impressed by the customer service I received and she was professional and courteous. She exceeded my expectations and made my temporary stay here with a great impression of the Cheeca Lodge. Keep on hiring great staff!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jessicasmits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We appreciate your review of our resort, and are elated that our customer service exceeded your expectations. Please come again soon when you can stay a bit longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We just finished a short (1 night) but very fun stay at the Cheeca with our 2 kids (age 11 and 8) and another family. I would say this is a 3.5 to 4 star resort in terms of overall quality, but it is so much fun, low key and has plenty to do. Our room was not huge, but it was very clean and well appointed, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The truth is, we hardly spent any time in the room. The beach at the resort is a great place to sit, but it is not a swimming beach. The pool was nice and the adult pool is quite peaceful. Our kids loved fishing on the dock, kayaking, bike riding, and the par 3 golf, all of which were included in the resort fee. We were able to get a great discount on a room with 2 queen beds through Groupon which made our trip an excellent value- even the resort fee was discounted! The Cheeca is very flexible on check-ins and check-outs if the place isn't too busy. They let us check in early at about 11am, and the day of checkout we had the room until 12:30 and were able to enjoy the resort for the full day, so we had two full days at the resort for a one night stay. Once a month there is a Full Moon Party across the street at the Morada Bay - it's a great party for adults and kids and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your terrific review and recommendation. We are very happy you and your children took advantage of all the wonderful activities we have to offer here. Cheeca’s beach is typical of any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores. The waters off our beach are also extremely shallow, but there is a ladder at the end of our 525’ wooden fishing pier and the water is deep enough to swim in down there. Thanks again for the recommendation, and please come back for a much longer stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,361 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,811 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#4 of 19 in Islamorada
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing