We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful premises with a wonderful hospitality team!”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Highly recommend staying at the Cheeca Lodge, everybody here is very attentive and personable. I would like to express how grateful I am for this stay. I would like to bring up that Ashley, the concierge at the SPA was delightful and very serviceable. She covered all of the massages and helped me choose which was best for my needs, she explained the products I had questions on and helped me choose the ones she thought would help me, and she also walked me to an area I was looking for. This girl is truly an asset for the SPA. Also Helena at the front desk, was wonderful, she went above and beyond to help with some technical difficulties. Overall a delightful experience.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is delicious, they offer Salmon locks with capers too:) If you fish you can bri...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalina328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

On behalf of our entire hospitality team, we thank you for your delightful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay so much. We are pleased with your kind words about Ashley and Helena and will share your gratitude all around. Thank you so much for writing, and please plan a return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,432)
There are newer reviews for Cheeca Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,113 - 2,119 of 3,432 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at this resort on our visit to the Florida keys in November.
Unfortunately we didn't get to experience much of what the resort has to offer as it rained heavily most of our stay. The room/suite overlooking the golf course was spacious with a separate bedroom and living area and large bathroom. AC worked well but was a bit noisy.
The food at Limoncella and Atlantics Edge was good, better at Atlantics than Limoncella. Dining outside under the verandah was really enjoyable as we got to enjoy the warm night without getting wet.
The resort is very large with lots of amenities but at close to $350/night I don't agree with charging a resort fee of $40/day. These little extra's really start to bug me, especially when we are spending good $ already. At least the water and air was not an extra charge... yet.
If we were staying in Islamorada again I would choose Cheeca as I prefer a resort that has everything you need on site, and it is picturesque.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We truly appreciate your comments, and are delighted you would stay here again in the future. We are happy you found our resort picturesque and your suite spacious. We are sorry our resort fee caused some concern; we think it is comparable to other resorts of our caliber. It includes tennis, golf, fishing rods, sea kayaks, bicycles, shade cabanas, fitness center, DVD movie rentals, in-room coffee, tea and bottled water, wireless internet, guest internet station with DSL and printer, local and 800 calls, guest fax services, daily newspaper delivery, local shuttle service and valet or self-parking.
Thank you for writing, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Wow, gorgeous property with amenities galore. Great pools, snorkeling, tiki hut, and lounging area. When you check in they serve you a nice glass of champagne and the rest is service, service, service. Thanks for letting unwind in style.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad one.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harpmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We loved your review, and thank you for writing it! We are so happy you were able to unwind in style here at Cheeca Lodge & Spa. Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I booked Checca Lodge back in February following a recommendation. I then spent the next 9 months worrying if I had done the right thing as I had been following the reviews on Trip Advisor. On a couple of occasions I nearly cancelled but I'm so glad I didn't. We had a lagoon view room but I believe is one of the cheaper rooms but you wouldn't have guessed it. Two lovely queen sized beds, marble fittings in the bathroom and a balcony. We were able to park underneath the room which was great as it rained for most of one day. There was a DVD library in the sports room which was ideal for the rainy day. On the first night we dined at Limoncello and found the food to be outstanding and the staff excellent. Judging by some of the cars on the car park the resort caters for people who like the finer things in life and it was great to be part of that for two days.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Finleysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We are very, very happy that you chose to stay at Cheeca. You are correct, our guests do prefer the finer things in life and we do everything we can to deliver just that! We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations, our DVD library, Limoncello and our excellent staff. Please come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My family and I have stayed here many times, and it is always one of our favorite places to stay in Islamorada. The renovations following the fire a few years ago a really very nice. It is expensive, so we don't stay every time we come down, but it's worth a splurge every now and then. My two daughters, 10 and 12yrs, both love it. They get so excitede every time we make a reservation.The suites in the buildings that overlook the lagoon near the spa are our favorites. The view of the lagoon lit up at night are great. Get an upper floor suite. The girls sleep on the sofa-bed and my wife and I get a private bedroom. And there is a small full kitchen so you can cook in the room if you like. The pool area is first class, with a very nice tiki bar right next to it. And the new sushi bar in the hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AParkhillHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Reviews from repeat guests like you are very important to us and we are elated that we are one of your favorite resorts. It’s nice to hear your daughters love Cheeca, too. We are so happy you like our lagoon view accommodations, and the resort is truly beautiful at night. Thank you for recommending Nikai – this sushi bar and restaurant is one of the best in Florida. Thank you so much for writing, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

First off, I never take the time to write reviews. However, after reading all of these very nice reviews on Cheeca Lodge I felt I needed to set the record straight! I am returning very dissapointed after ending a weekend at Cheeca Lodge with my family. Although the entire staff was very helpful and pleasant (Especially Earl at the gate when you arrive # great guy), the resort was overpriced for what it was. Islamorada is known for great fishing right? We'll let's just say you wouldn't know that by eating at the Cheeca's Atlantic Edge! We honestly did not have a good meal or well made drink the entire weekend. The lagoon looked like a swamp and there was no beach. The rooms were nice and the spa was average.

Room Tip: Choose a different resort!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We were disappointed after reading your comments, and apologize that we did not meet your expectations at the Atlantic’s Edge restaurant. It was nice to hear you found our staff to be helpful and pleasant and your room to be nice. Our saltwater snorkeling lagoon is fed with continuously circulated ocean waters and filled with a myriad of local fish. This ecosystem directly reflects the conditions of the ocean waters, which vary greatly with the wind and weather. Our grounds keeping staff works tirelessly to keep this area clean and pristine. Cheeca’s beach is typical of any beach in the Florida Keys, which are a string of tiny islands comprised of ancient coral rock. The only living coral reef in the continental U.S. is located just off our shores. The reef is surrounded by crystal clear waters and creates spectacular fishing, snorkeling and diving adventures, but it also prevents surf-like waves from reaching our shores. Thank you for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights on the way back from Key West to Miami. Not cheap but excellent for the price. Wonderful huge suite with superb marble bathroom and very comfortable bed.
The grounds are delightful , staff friendly and there is plenty to do.
Atlantic Edge restaurant as good as any in Kew West or Miami and Tiki Bar good fun. Highly recommend - like a Caribbean resort with better food and more to do!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SteveHutchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for your fabulous recommendation! We often refer to Cheeca and the Keys as “America’s Caribbean.” We truly appreciate your compliments on our accommodations, grounds, staff, restaurants and amenities. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
1,371 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,845 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
Pelican Cove Resort & Marina
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House
Ocean House
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range: $250 - $861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing