We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Resort”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I just went to Cheeca recently for a week vacation. I thinks it's a great place for couples or a family. They have a separate adult only pool, which is great. They also have a camp if you have kids. We had several meals at the resort, and they were all delicious. We didn't have a bad meal the entire time we were in the area. The rooms were very nice. The kitchen in the room are great, with full size refrigerators, stove, microwave,dishwasher, etc. The bathrooms were very roomy.
Overall the service was great. There were always towels at the pools, servers to take your drink orders, etc. We did a few activities through the hotel and they were good as well. It was really a nice atmosphere- super relaxing. The landscaping is beautiful and I took several walks around the resort.
Our lock on our patio door was broken and someone came up and fixed it within 10 minutes.

Some cons were that the lagoon pool that goes through the area, which is very pretty was broken and so was one of the hideaway hot tubs, and the golf course isn't kept impeccably well. This wasn't a swimming area, there's another hot tub, and I think it's very hard to keep the course nice in a big resort. So these weren't deal breakers for me, but it didn't seem like they were rushing to fix the hot tub as it was broken the whole week we were there. The uniforms that the girls wear in the restaurant were like diner outfits or a Howard Johnson's. They were very unflattering and not very resortish :)- just little things.

Overall- a great experience.

Room Tip: The rooms near the main building are the ones with the private hot tubs on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxin0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We appreciate your great review! We agree that Cheeca is the perfect island escape for both families and couples, with plenty of room for everyone. Camp Cheeca is our inspirational and educational camp for kids 5-12. Summer is always busy with lots of campers. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed all your dining experiences here and that your suite was nice and roomy. We were delighted that you found our service so good and our landscaping beautiful.
We must apologize for the maintenance issues we had with our free-form pool and our hidden lawn Jacuzzi during your stay. Our records show the free-form pool was down for about four hours and the Jacuzzi for two days. Our par three executive golf course is one of just a handful of golf courses in the Keys, and we work very hard to keep it impeccable. We thank you for your feedback, and hope you will return again soon to this beautiful paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,628
    834
    434
    211
    139
See reviews for
986
1,628
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 days at Cheeca--comfortable and clean rooms, nice pool and lagoon. Nice amenities. Earl at the front gate was the sweetest and so friendly. Also had a great fishing trip with Xavier-he was very accomodating -the kids really enjoyed it. We'll be back :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodMama72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The pool area was small so
To get good chairs you needed to get there early, but chairs were always available on the beach if you didn't mind the wind. Pretty beach and dock area. Restaurant good for one night, but we thought it was overpriced. Our room was spacious and very nice. We had an outdoor bathtub but our curtain blocking the rest of the beach from seeing us was broken and they never did get around to fixing it so we didnt use it. Too bad! I agree that the property was not well maintained and if unchecked would expect it to deteriorate over time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trazona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We do have two swimming pools (the family-friendly free-form pool and the adults-only spa pool) plus a saltwater snorkeling lagoon. We are glad you enjoyed our lovely, palm-fringed beach. We believe that our restaurants are competitively priced with others in this area, so we are disappointed you feel differently. A quick phone call to the front desk might have fixed the issue with your outdoor tub curtain. We are constantly maintaining and refreshing this 27-acre property, so we certainly hope you plan a return stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's so sad to see such a wonderful property in such a beautiful setting go downhill like it has because of poor maintenance and a lazy cleaning staff. I realize this is deep in the Florida keys but when you are paying almost $500 a night, you expect first class all the way. I recently booked a weeks stay for a group of 11 and spent over $20,000 and was not impressed. I had to wait until after 5 PM to check in (room wasn't cleaned on time), had black mold in my shower (room 626) and the drawers in the bureau were broken all to pieces. Even the wear and tear was not as bad as the cleanliness of the room. It seems they do not vacuum between guests nor while you are staying there. I called for the General Manager and was intercepted by the front desk staff who did nothing to correct any of my issues (they probably can't). Oh well I learned my lesson!

Room Tip: choose another property until they get a General manager who cares and demands better from his staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We were so saddened by your comments. You are absolutely correct, we try and deliver first-class service at every turn, and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are giving a large inventory of our accommodations a full makeover, and refinishing or replacing room amenities. We apologize that you were unhappy with your accommodations. We have taken note of your housekeeping issues and are working to fix them. You have our word that each member of the Cheeca team, from the General Manager on down, really cares about this property. Thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami,Fla
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is one of the nicest resorts in the Florida Keys. We were on a "retreat" with several other families and had a great visit. The rooms are very nice and spacious. There is an outdoor bathtub on the balcony, which we did not have the opportunity to use, but its nice having it there. The staff are courteous, professional and very helpful. We were greeted with complimentary glasses of champagne at check-in and they accommodated our late check-out request.
We arrived by boat and used the dock for 2 nights at no extra charge. Most waterfront resorts will charge as much as a room for dock space. We took advantage of the resorts beach cruisers and had a leisurely bike ride after breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami_FlaWaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much! Your compliments about our staff are particularly appreciated. How fun to come here by boat! Our 525-foot wooden fishing pier can accommodate boats up to 22 feet in length, and space is limited, so we are glad we could accommodate you. A bike ride after breakfast sounds perfect! Thanks again, and please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parish, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying a night at Cheeca while traveling through the keys.
The area is beautiful and tropical. Supurb customer service. Loved the adult pool!
Everyone very friendly and professional. Earl at the gate house was very charming.
Room was beautiful. Loved the sunset cruise. Ate dinner at limoncello. Food was amazing.
Our waiter Brian was wonderful. He suggested some fantastic dishes. Nick was also wonderful.
A sweet young man who kept our table clean and water glasses full. ( good luck on your law degree!) The only negative is that we only got to stay 1 night. : - (. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We definitely want you back! It is wonderful to hear you had such a great time and enjoyed everything. Please make plans for a return visit soon, so we can do it all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A short 3.5 hours from our home to a lush paradise where from start to finish, everyone was attentive and pleasant,dedicated to making our visit at the Cheeca lodge wonderful. This is a special place to stay on Islamorada. Stay in the bungalows if you are looking for romantic and cozy. Well appointed and looking out over swaying palms and a beautiful sea, especially lovely with the super moon! Clean room, plenty of fresh towels and the adult pool was an added bonus in the late afternoon it was the perfect way to enjoy the sun, pampered with attendants on site, cabanas and padded lounges. The beach area was extremely well kept and raked. The tiki hut convenient and adequate for tropical fun drinks. Walk the wood pier and see tarpon,rays, barracuda and small nurse sharks swim by. Thank you to Misha and Lee at checkin - you both are a wonderful representation of the staff at Cheeca.
A special note on dining at the Cheeca as we had dinner at the Atlantic's Edge, steps from the beach and again service was attentive and pleasant, and the seafood was the star here. Dinner was perfectly prepared hogfish and grouper with well paired accompaniments and topped off with homemade gelato for dessert. If you want a treat stay at the Cheeca Lodge, enjoy the sea kayaks, bikes, a dip in the pool, or simply soak in the serenity as the late sun gives way to the rising moon over the beautiful keys.

Room Tip: Bungalows from 507-512 are lovely for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0vinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie O, Manager at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
What a wonderful, fabulous review. We thank you, and hope you return again soon. We will welcome you back with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing