We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Over-rated”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Over-rated”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Me and my three kids were looking to get away to a nice spring break vacation in Florida. Based on reviews and ratings, Cheeca sounded like a great choice. When we arrived at 2, we were told our room was not ready but would be expedited. We toured the property, came back to the desk at 3 and were again told room not ready. We grabbed some drinks, sat outside and waited. At 4 we went back to the registration desk, waited in line with three or four other families, and finally got the keys to our room at 4:15 p.m. Annoying but ok. The room itself was fine, but the screened in porch was not really impressive. Restaurants were overpriced and mediocre food, only average service (waitress at breakfast was great). We waited for 30 minutes one night and then were seated at a table that was open when we arrived. Beach almost doesn't exist, and not conducive for kids to swim in ocean. Every activity costs money except riding bikes ($10 for bait, $55 for a sailboat, $10 for snorkel and mask). Pool is small. Overall, waaay overpriced for what you get. Feels like they are riding on a reputation but have not kept up with services or quality. Not really worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JPS0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,688
    849
    446
    215
    148
See reviews for
1,025
1,674
36
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (992)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stunning setting in the keys - overall this was a great stay. We had an ocean front room with a private patio - it was the perfect place to relax. There are many options like kayaking, paddle boarding right there. The "adults only pool" was wonderful - great place to chill and have lunch. There is also a spa and fitness center there. Spa facilities were lovely - we had average massages... Some of the rooms are more updated then others. We started out in a room that was a little dated but moved to one that had a more recent Reno and was very nice.
We ate one dinner at the property and were very disappointed by the quality of food for the price. We had a shellfish tower and everything was ok but seemed like it had been sitting out for a while (oysters were dry and pre shucked...shrimp weren't fresh) and we shared an entree and our bill was over $300. We eat out a lot and don't mind spending money on good food but we definitely found better meals off site. It was a little strange that every time we ordered drinks (the exact same thing) we were charged different prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

In the pictures the resort was beautiul, in person it left much to be desired. The rooms were a bit dated (we didn't stay in the main lodge), the facilities were somewhat lacking (pool small, small beach was strewn with seagrass and the tractors were removing the debris for 2 days, right in the middle of prime beach time!) Restaurants were good, though a bit pricey and service was sub par. Local amenities were very good, solid local restaurants, boating near-by. I would recommend but set expectations accordingly and you will be pleased.

Room Tip: Stick to the main lodge, recently redone, nicely appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Beautiful room, gorgeous property, lots to do (or not do!). We did not have an oceanfront room, but still had a nice view of the tropical landscape from the screened in porch. It was very high-end, but still had a very laid back and friendly vibe. What's not to love about a beer cart on the beach?!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMac322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

While visiting Key Largo, we decided to dine at Limoncello in the Cheeca Lodge. We had made reservations on-line via Open Table.com. Someone from the restaurant called the day of the reservation to confirm. We arrived and were shown immediately to our table. Our waitress, Sheri, was very nice, attentive,(making sure our water was constantly filled), and quite helpful. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the idea of a make your own antipasti menu. One could choose from meats, fish, vegetables, cheese, salads, etc. They cost around $3.00 each or 3 for $10.00. What a great idea. I put together a few that I wanted and my husband got one of their salads. He had linguine with clams for his dinner and I had pizza. Personally, I could have gotten by with just the antipasti, but the pizza was delicious as well. We shared some of their homemade gelato. Also, very good!
My only reason for giving this a 4 and not 5 is that the on-line menu shows a few different items on the antipasti that I was excited to try and when we got to the restaurant, they weren't on the menu. The on-line menu needs to be updated. Other than that, a great experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent three days at Cheeca with our teen son and it was a great place to have an active vacation. With tennis, Par 3 golf, parasailing, kayaks and fishing on site. He was never bored. (And that's saying a lot!) We had a one bedroom suite with a sofa bed and large enclosed deck overlooking the lagoon with a waterfall. The decor....very Tommy Bahama. We purchased the package on Luxury Link at a great savings and it came with extras like a bottle of wine, basket of fruit and no resort fees. The grounds are lush and pretty and there is a small man made beach but its really not conducive for swimming. We ate breakfast most mornings outside but only ate dinner on site one night at Limoncello. It was good but we really enjoyed watching the sunset and eating at two other local restaurants the Lorelie and Morada Bay. The Lorelie has bar food, rock bands and a Key West hippie vibe. Morada Bay has really good food, pretty setting and acoustic music. Both are fun! If you have little kids, do Morada. They can run around on the white sand beach while you enjoy a cocktail. Don't worry about the reviews that talk about bad service at Cheeca. We didn't experience that at all. Although some of the wait staff was slow just sit back and enjoy the view. Before you know it, you'll be back home in your hectic lifestyle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Cheeca was a dream location for our vacation. Everyone there was nice, courteous and extremely professional. The grounds were amazing -- it was so wonderful to wake up to the vision of palm trees and the waves rolling in. Jade and Brooke were particularly fantastic waitresses. I can't wait until we go back!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,334 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,763 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings Village
The Moorings Village
#3 of 19 in Islamorada
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing