We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Getaway! Beware of hidden fees!”
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Getaway! Beware of hidden fees!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Cheeca Lodge several years ago and had a great experience, so when deciding what to do for his 55th b-day, Cheeca came to mind! My husband is an avid fisherman and the Keys is the place to go for a great fishing experience! The lodge itself is beautiful along with the restaurants,pool areas, and beach.The rooms are lovely, everything is top notch! They even sent a lovely surprise to our room for my husbands birthday, which was a nice touch!
The only thing that you need to be prepared for is that they charge you a $30.00 resort fee daily!
I found this to be over the top due to the fact that room rates are not cheap and food and drinks are very expensive. Be prepared to spend allot more than you may have expected!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbuff304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    836
    436
    211
    140
See reviews for
987
1,637
36
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (970)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
reno, nev.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at Cheeca Lodge over the Super Bowl weekend and we cant remember having more fun. The Ocean View room was superb. Resturant staff was attentive and O’Meil our breakfast server seemed to always be smiling. We kayaked, golfed, fished off the dock and even went cycling around Islamorada a couple of times. (the resort fee covered these things) But with all that being wonderful I must say the night of the Super Bowl was the peak of our stay. The Tiki Bar was full and the bartender was having as much fun as the rest of us. If he was on one side of the bar he’d yell Go Ravens and when on the other it was Go 49er’s. Cant remember another bartender keeping so many laughing so much since college. He gave us a Mud Slide to share and Wow it was good. I think we had a half a dozen the next day at the pool. And we weren’t the only ones. He was off Monday so we weren’t able to tell him thanks for a great evening so we thank you now and look forward to seeing you again. It was truly a weekend to remember. Our plan was to go to San Francisco our next vacation but we’ve decided to return to Cheeca for a week in late spring instead. Let the Mud Slides roll!!!!

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms are wonderful but the Ocean View is spectacular. oh yes, you've got to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Off to a rocky start!!! Had to stand in lobby un-greeted until we could check in. Brett looked at us with cocked eyebrow to indicate he could help us. Still no welcome to cheeca or any greeting at all - no offer of champagne as is traditional at Cheeca. He was nice once my husband spoke to him. Have been coming to Cheeca for about 7 years.and we have always been just blown away by the resort!! Stayed here last September and we were very disappointed. Room had not been maintained as in past had to put a cooler in front of fridge to keep it closed. We were not even advised at checkin that the spa was closed and where we could go to workout etc. - checkin service not good then either! Have high hopes this visit will be much better in spite of rocky start and lack of service so far...stay tuned .....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beeafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I hosted an event there recently, and have nothing but great things to say! The WHOLE staff goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is pleasant, and they made sure our event went off without a hitch! The company will definitely be hosting more events there in the future! Thank you Cheeca Lodge & Spa for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Stay in the main lodge- the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
You are most welcome! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that your event went smoothly. It’s great to hear that our entire team went above and beyond for you – that is our aim. It is wonderful that your company will be hosting more events here at Cheeca. We look forward to helping you plan the next successful event in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My huband and I stayed at Cheeca for six nights for a winter get away from the snow and cold. After a long day of travel (15+ hours) we arrived at 7pm and were ready to check in. A nice man kindly helped us with the check in process, offered us a glass of champagne and mentioned that for a mere $100 per night we could upgrade to a room in the main building. When I had made our reservations initially, I had booked us in a king suite which is an upgrade from a standard room and so I was curious as to what an additional $100 per night would buy us. They eagerly showed us the upgraded room in the main building and it was quite nice, spacious, but mind you it was just one room with a sofa/TV area. They made a point to show us the round bathtub on the balcony that is shown in many photos of the property. Upon going out on the balcony and seeing that the room over looked foliage and not the ocean, we decided to keep the room we origianlly booked and pass on the "upgrade". Our thought was that if our room we orginally booked was a disappointment we would make the switch. Our room that we originally booked and decided to stick with was in another building a short walk from the main building. Upon arrival at our building we had to "schlepp" our bags up three flights of stairs (no staff assistance - not that we really needed help but wouldn't a top notch resort offer some help?). We entered our room and were very happy that we didn't buy into the "upgrade". Our room was one bedroom suite with a separate living room, full kitchen with granite countertops and stainless appliances, extremely large bathroom with two vanities and a whirlpool tub and a balcony that looked out over foliage and a path. We're thinking it was a timeshare unit although no one ever approached us or mentioned it but we did see timeshare units advertised for units at the Cheeca Lodge in a local real estate magazine. Some of the furniture was slightly worn but overall, it was very clean and fresh. Comfortable bed, nice linens no complaints. As for the resort itself, we never took advantage of golfing, tennis, biking, etc. Spent some time at both pools, and found the adult pool to be very relaxing, Cheeca may want to consider purchasing some new cushions for the chairs around the pool, most had seen better days but they did provide towels to put over them. Drinks by the pool were a bit pricy and the one snack we did order (chips and salsa) was not good, chips were extremely stale. The grounds of the resort were lovely, well maintained. We really enjoyed morning coffee and a newspaper on the varanda in the big building each morning. The people staying at the resort while we were there seemed to be mostly middle aged (as are we) there were some kids but not very many. We would definitely consider staying at Cheeca again.
As a side note, there is a nice grocery market right across the street from Cheeca called the Trading Post. Also for any first timers driving to the Keys from the Miami airport as we were, do not take Hwy 1 all the way from Miami. Hwy 1 is not really a Highway when you are in the city and it took forever to get to Islamorada. Go west from the airport and get on the Florida Freeway - much quicker.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytraveler,46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are delighted you chose Cheeca for your six-night escape from the snow and cold! We appreciate your feedback as well. We are very happy that you found our front desk staff nice, and you enjoyed the complimentary champagne upon check-in. We are also pleased that you were happy with the suite you booked; we appreciate all the compliments about your accommodations. We are so sorry you had to carry your own bags up – one of the bell staff would have been happy to help you! We are looking into why that service wasn’t offered. We want you to give us all five stars!

We are delighted you relaxed at the adults-only spa pool, and also explored the other pools on the property. It was nice to hear you discovered Cheeca to be lovely and well-maintained. We are so sorry your chips were stale!

Your tips on the Trading Post and driving directions from Miami were spot-on and will help other travelers visiting Cheeca. We look forward to welcoming you back, as it sounds like you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Benton, OH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked our stay at the last minute and stayed in two different room types. The first room was a suite in the presidential building at the north end of the property. This room was very quiet, private and peaceful. The views are breath taking and literally a few steps to the beach. The bed which is in a separate room, was comfy and the bathroom was nice. This room felt like home since parking was under the unit and you just went directly to the room without going thru a lobby. This suite had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in a small kitchen area. There was a living area with a comfy couch and another breath taking view with a screened in porch. Both rooms had flat screen tvs.

The second room was in the main building. I enjoyed the soaking tub on the balcony! Just can't beat the view! The shower is glass and you can see the ocean while in the shower! Awesome! This bed was comfy as well. There was a nice sofa in the sitting area with 1 flat screen tv.

We enjoyed both rooms. You just can't go wrong. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We cannot wait until you come back! Thank you so much for your terrific review of our accommodations and staff. We are so happy you found your accommodations quiet, private and peaceful. We particularly enjoyed your comment that your room “felt like home.” That is exactly what we strive for with all of our guests. We appreciate that. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed there 5 nights last July 2012. The grounds and room were very nice. The pool area was nice but they need to make pools out of some of the resorts water features. It seemed like a waste to have a nice meandering water area that you could not swim in. The beach is nice for sunbathing but you really can't go in the water, too rocky and messy. The snorkeling lagoon had fish but was too murky to see well. Dinners were expensive but overall food was good. The 9 hole par 3 golf course was great, and is included in the "resort fee" but don't expect country club conditions, it was cool to work on my short game everyday and my kids had fun there as well. Bicycles were fun around the resort but wear closed toe shoes. My daughter lost the entire nail on her big toe when she hit a root of a tree on a rocky path the night before we checked out. Be sure to check out the onsite cemetary, it was neat to see the history of locals who lived there from the late 1800's thru the 1950's. We had fun at the scuba museum down the road and the dolphin center about 25 miles toward key west. We took a snorkeling trip at Robbie's marina and had a great time and also fed the tarpon. You can also fish from the pier at the resort (also included in "resort fee") and is a lot of fun even if you never fished before, just be sure to hook the bait properly, the fish know how to eat around the hook.

Room Tip: Tennis court garden view was nice but if you can afford the ocean view, do it. Those rooms have spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,640 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#2 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa has been an exclusive hideaway for celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents for over 70 years. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca has been constructed with a porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca. Along with a new breakfast bistro and lobby bar, Cheeca boasts three distinctive restaurants: Nikai Sushi Bar and Lounge offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine; Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce; and its family-friendly Limoncello Italian restaurant serving up Tuscan favorites in a casually rustic setting. Cheeca Lodge & Spa features 2,400 square-feet of retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring the latest designer fashions and accessories. An expanded roster of activities include offshore and backcountry fishing, parasailing, sightseeing, eco-tours, paddleboards, water trikes, kayaks, golf, tennis, pickleball, shuffleboard and more. The resort’s signature features include a classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, 1100 feet of beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing. Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing