We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“really nice place. didn't mind paying 'resort fee'.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
MidAtlantic
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“really nice place. didn't mind paying 'resort fee'.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

cheeka actually has a small 3 par golf course that comes for free with the resort fee. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable. The spa area is nice. Only small complaint is the bar area could be a little nicer at that price I think.

Also, we went off property to eat because the food was pricey and didn't look all that enticing to us. We got our rooms on a 'budget travel' site. People who paid full rate got champagne at check-in.

Grounds and public spaces were generally really nice.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PhiloFarnsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,408
    742
    388
    185
    117
See reviews for
852
1,420
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (868)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I spent our anniversary here this past weekend. You're always greeted with friendly staff and a nice little glass of bubbly. The restaurants on site are all delicious. They have 3: Steak and Seafood, Sushi and Italian. If you're doing sushi, be adventurous and let the chef send out some bites, you wont be disappointed.

While the Keys are not the typical wide white sand beach place, Cheeca still offers up some great activities. We went kayaking, fishing, lounging, bike riding and golfing-all included in our room.

Speaking of, the rooms are gorgeous. Spacious, clean and modern.

We have kids, but made this a Mom and Dad thing only. We were pleasantly surprised to find many options for both adults and kiddos if we bring ours next time.

You will have a great get away at this spot!

Room Tip: Main building is great for closeness to restaurants and beach. The other buildings are nice as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent our anniversary at Cheeca Lodge. What a great choice! From the moment we arrived we were impressed. We arrived long before our room was ready, hoping to spend the morning relaxing at the resort. The helpful and courteous staff -- from the concierge to the waiting staff -- seemed interested in our satisfaction. The information system was prepared to meet us where we were in that before we were even fully checked in, the use of our name was enough to order a meal or schedule a dive.

We have stayed at other "resorts" in the Keys, but Cheeca Lodge delivers. Swimming -- Ocean or pool, fishing, reef snorkeling, kayaking, biking, sailing, golf, tennis the list of activities is beyond what any guest could do in a week.

Even though the Lodge was fully booked, it did not feel that way. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Plenty of space to find your own nook.

The valets were helpful and made us feel welcomed. Room service was quick and accurate. The service staff was there to see that we had an nice visit. They succeeded. We will be back!

Special shout-out to Earl at the gate, the valets, Gabriel at the Atlantic...wow! I could go on, but I think you get the idea.

Room Tip: You will be happy with ANY room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozolnieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

When we booked our anniversary stay at the Lodge, we didn't know quite what to expect. But from the moment that Earl greeted us at the gate, we knew we were in for a treat. Everyone on property seemed devoted to our comfort and satisfaction. Our King Suite room was furnished with beautiful Tommy Bahama pieces. The food was outstanding, and the staff at poolside even brought us a complementary desert when they learned we were celebrating 18 years of marriage. Biking, snorkeling, sunbathing, a romantic dinner for two, jacuzzi, and a massage at the Cheeca Spa made our weekend complete. Thanks to the management and staff members like Diana and Montavious at the pool, Gabriel & Charlie at the Atlantic Restaurant, and Roma at the Spa for making it a weekend to remember. If you are looking for real luxury in a peaceful part of the Florida Keys...Cheeca Lodge is your destination. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Our King Suite was incredibly spacious and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Cheeca is a beautiful resort and the service is exceptional. My husband and I just returned from a 7 night stay at Cheeca. This was our Honeymoon so we opted for the premium king oceanfront room at the main lodge. It was wonderful...I actually got teary on the day we left.

The room was huge and so clean. You MUST try a midnight bath in the outside tub. Talk about splurging.

The resort is pricey, but I found everything in the Keys to be a bit pricey. However, it was worth every penny.

We can not wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank len10smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Mass
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

pros:
the employees: employees were very accommodating and went the extra mile to ensure complete customer satisfaction! Penny who drove the refreshment cart at the beach was quick and helpful in recommending menu items. Heather, the bartender made awesome cocktails and ensured that customers had plenty of water on hand,in between drinks! Paula, the waitress ensured a very pleasant evening/dinner. Bellman were very personable and were able to take us down to the marina which was off property. The spa had great services...the massage therapist were awesome.
Family friendly
Food was very good
amenities at this resort were good: pools, snorkeling, fishing off the pier, kayaks, tennis, bikes
lounge chairs were arranged facing the water--beverage and food service available
property spotless and vegetation lush (love the hidden Jacuzzi)
Cons: no view of water from my room---not that this was guaranteed....but after viewing the property on line thought that this was a given.
pricey
no one was swimming at the beach...not sure if the waters were too cold (November) or if there was another issue.
my bed was very uncomfortable....way too soft
light switches cumbersome and difficult to operatie

Room Tip: try to get a room with view of the ocean! book a massage! stay within the resort--there is plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanebytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On the way down to Key West, we decided to stop and eat and
take an opportunity to look over new renovations.

We were pleasantly surprised by the food quality and service as compared to more than 8 months ago!.

BUT, the spa outside section looks really so not nice.

The pool area is no longer the beautiful place it used to be- the pool deck looks cheaply painted and streaked.

Still, bad music that plays constantly all over the place.

There must be a way for them to connect with their visitors?

Hope no silly corporate non-response response, though - it's the corporate ownership thing that caused the downside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiztom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 stars 4,180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing