We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Islamorada
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Cheeca Lodge in Islamorada, Florida. I am a frequent traveller to the Florida keys and I have to say that this resort is probably one of the nicest that I've ever seen in the keys. There are a few other resorts that can compete (Hawk's Cay, Hyatt Key West, Little Palm Island) but in general classy accomodations are few and far between in the keys. The service at Cheeca Lodge was on par with many other fine hotels and resorts. A tip for future guests is to forego valet parking and just park your car in the lot yourself. The walk from the parking lot is a mere 20 steps past the valet area and it will save you the trouble of having to tip the valet attendant every time you leave and return to the resort (which we did several times per day).

There is plenty to do at this resort if you decide not to leave at all. There is a small golf course, kayaks, a fishing pier, bikes, and even a red box style movie rental system, which is all included in the daily resort fee. There is also a spa on site that is fairly high end.

Food at the resort is good, and I recommend eating at least once during your stay. We chose the italian restaurant on site, and it was pretty good. Another option is asking to eat in the private members only dining room, which I was told wouldn't be a problem for resort guests, all you have to do is ask. There is also an outside bar overlooking the beach (not much of a beach, although impeccably maintained there is no direct water access which is pretty typical for the keys due to the coral reefs and rockiness of the shore) and fishing pier which is definitely a great place to sit and take your mind off of everything for a while.

I also recommend getting out of the resort for a while, after all you are in the keys and there is tons to do and lots of great local "dive" restaurants where the food for the most part is pretty good!

Theater of the Sea is within a mile or two of the resort and it is a great spot to take your kids for a short day trip.

Overall, I can't really say anything bad about Cheeca Lodge. I'll definitely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge in a resort view room, I would have liked the ocean front room but it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We are delighted that you are impressed with Cheeca, and that you think we are one of the best resorts in the Keys. It is nice to know that you appreciated our Limoncello restaurant, our “impeccably maintained” beach and our trademark wooden fishing pier. We are also glad you took advantage of the many amenities included in the resort fee, and that you enjoyed Theater of the Sea and some other local attractions as well.

It sounds like you had a nice vacation, and we welcome you back with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    808
    424
    202
    135
See reviews for
940
1,578
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We should have stayed longer, cheeca lodge is beautifully located in the Florida keys and very well maintained. 2 hours drive from Miami and we felt in total peace ! service was very prompt and the restaurant very nice too. The beach is not what i expected - hard to get to swim in the ocean. the elevator was very noisy, so try to get a villa. Unfortunately the could not find a spot for us at the spa so i would recommend to book in advance - a few days before arrival.

Room Tip: the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We wished you would have stayed longer, too! We appreciate your positive comments. We’re sorry the elevator noise bothered you; we will certainly look into that. Advance bookings at the Spa are recommended, especially during the busy winter season.

The Florida Keys are comprised of a string of coral rock islands, and the reef offshore creates a shallow beach environment. We hope you return again – we would be delighted to recommend a snorkeling trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

This was a surprise birthday weekend for my husband. It was incredibly romantic, spotlessly clean, perfect service, food was excellent. Great amenities such as kayaking, fishing, boating ect. Two pool areas provided us with a quiet place to relax in the adult only pool area near the spa, also a kid friendly, although noisy, pool for families is available. Service was excellent every moment of our stay from our check in with front desk person Jennifer to our check out. Even the valet was excellent! This is not inexpensive but it was worth every penny. My husband and I both would love to just live there! And, we also got champagne on arrival with complimentary souvenir champagne glasses. Lovely place.....

Room Tip: Superior King Oceanfront Bungalow with private beach, oh my.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliebythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Wow! We are so happy you had such a romantic wonderful time here with your husband. Your kind words about our resort and our staff are greatly appreciated. We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed there all last weekend. The service is horrible!!! As soon as I got home I realized I forgot to pack some of my clothes. I called the hotel that same day and they assured that they would look for it and get it back to me. I never even got a phone call or email back all week! I left a brand new bikini, numerous other items etc. They are such liars. I can not believe they would give me the run around like this. I would never stay there again. I have been calling and emailing everyday and unfortunately I probably won't ever see any of my items again. Thank god I didn't leave my wedding ring or sentimental jewelry.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We deeply regret that we could not find the items you said you left here. We looked for them but we could not find them. We did return your phone calls, and we left messages for you on a few occasions. We also e-mailed you a few times apologizing for not being able to locate your possessions. We are so sorry you had a bad experience. Our policy is to return all items left behind by our guests as soon as possible. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Tx
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Just remember! You get what you pay for! We stayed here for our honeymoon last week and loved it! We stayed in the premier king ocean view room... the perfect room! Greeted upon arrival with a glass of champagne(although we don't drink). We were escorted to our rooms then he offered to take a couple of pictures for us! The view was amazing! The room was extremely clean, comfortable and we loved the huge walk-in shower and the tub on the balcony! Nancy in the Tommy Bahama store was like a concierge to us! We did the snorkeling trip and it was great also! I couldn't find a negative thing to say about Cheeca Resort! Thanks to the staff at Cheeca for a wonderful honeymoon!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the premier room with the ocean view...sand, palms and ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
You’re welcome! We can’t wait to have you back! Cheeca is indeed the perfect spot for a honeymoon, and we are so pleased that we met all your expectations. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stay at the Cheeca Lodge over Columbus Day weekend. Our school district had Friday off rather than Monday, so we stayed Thursday thru Sunday. Unfortunately there were two low pressure systems on either side of the Keys, so we had a lot of wind and rain. However, I found the hotel exceptionally clean and the service great and friendly. In fact, I noticed that everytime it rained, the grounds crew was very quick to remove the excess water that accumlated in the parking lots and streets. This commitment to service was found in all of the staff - everybody was helpful and friendly.
Due to the weather, we could not take advantage of the free bicycles or kayaks, however it appeared to me that the equipment was in good condition. We did go fishing on the resorts pier (using the free rods which were in great shape) - my children had a blast. The only complaint I could have is they charged $10 for a bag of frozen bait shrimp!
If you are looking for a great resort in the Keys, try this one. We'll be back - hopefully with better weather.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the golf course which was very quiet. The kids slept on the sofa bed in the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Hilmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in spite of the rainy weather. We appreciate that you noticed how hard our staff works to maintain our resort and keep our guests as happy and comfortable as possible. We hope you caught (and released) lots of fish off our fishing pier! We welcome you back soon, and will save some bright Keys sunshine just for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at The Cheeca Lodge this past weekend and while the resort is very beautiful and our room was exceptionally nice, the service was very much below average. Others were welcomed with a glass of champagne, we were not. And the service in all the dining rooms was not good. Servers were not friendly and not well mannered. Our meals were nothing like what we expected to experience while staying there, they were very average. And the little shop at the resort definately needs a little more variety. While I love Tommy Bahama clothing, who can afford to spend $250 for a sweater to keep warm due to the rain. They need to add some more affordable souvenirs and gifts to their shop.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheecaSales, Director of Sales at Cheeca Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
We appreciate your comments and are delighted that you found our resort beautiful and our accommodations exceptionally nice. We are deeply sorry that our staff did not meet your expectations. We don’t get that feedback very often and we will use yours to work on our level of service. Our policy is to offer a glass of champagne upon check-in to all of our guests; we apologize that somehow we missed yours.

Cheeca’s retail shop features high-end resort wear with the recognizable quality and style of Tommy Bahama and of course, the Cheeca logo! While many of our guests shop here, there are several other great souvenir and clothing shops nearby.

We take your comments to heart, and we will do our best to improve our services here at Cheeca Lodge & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamorada
1.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle
19.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pelican Cove
Pelican Cove
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Morada
Casa Morada
#1 of 19 in Islamorada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Islander Resort, a Guy Harvey Outpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheeca Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheeca Lodge & Spa

Property: Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Address: 81801 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 82, Islamorada, FL 33036-3631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Islamorada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Islamorada
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Islamorada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheeca Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Queen of the Florida Keys", Cheeca Lodge & Spa, an exclusive hideaway for generations of celebrities, business leaders and U.S. Presidents. Set on 27 private oceanfront acres in Islamorada, Cheeca – reopening Dec. 15 - is has been constructed with its original porte-cochere entrance, traditional Florida Keys architecture, chic West Indies décor, and spirited tradition of “barefoot elegance” -- a term coined at Cheeca – all intact. Along with a new Lobby Bar. Cheeca will boast two distinctive restaurants - Nikai Sushi Bar offering the Florida Keys’ freshest sushi, Asian-inspired fare and a unique selection of Japanese sake and wine, and Atlantic’s Edge with a seasonal fine-dining menu of fresh local seafood, prime steaks and organic local produce. The new Cheeca Lodge & Spa will also feature 2,400 square-feet of new retail shops with a Cheeca Signature store featuring Tommy Bahama products. An expanded roster of activities will include on-property flats boats with seasoned local guides for backcountry fishing, sightseeing, eco-tours, kiteboarding, and a junior angler program for teens.The resort’s signature features – classic 525’ wooden fishing pier, tropical gardens, crossing palms archway, saltwater snorkeling lagoon, nature trails, Tahitian-style Spa Lagoon, spectacular purple sunsets, secluded white sand beaches, Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course, Camp Cheeca children’s environmental activity program, and access to world-class sportfishing – will remain intact.Located just 90 minutes south of Miami International Airport in the Florida Keys, Cheeca Lodge & Spa is just a few hours by air or drive from major East Coast U.S. and Canadian cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cheeca Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheeca Hotel Islamorada
Cheeca Resort Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge And Spa
Cheeca Lodge Florida
Cheeca Lodge Islamorada
Cheeca Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing