We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cheeca Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islander Resort(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Morada(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kon-Tiki Resort(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean House(Islamorada)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,503)
Filter reviews
3,503 results
Traveler rating
1,794
878
455
221
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,794
878
455
221
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseadult poolfamily poolsushi restaurantatlantic's edgelagoon viewoutdoor tubthe lobster grilled cheeseglass of champagnemain buildingturn down servicefront gateresort feetennis courtstommy bahamabeautiful resortfish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,031 - 3,036 of 3,503 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2011

After extensive Trip Advisor research, yes I read all reviews, I decided to give Cheeca a chance. I was so happy to get off US 1 because of the weekend traffic to Key West. The entrance and the grounds made a very good first impression as well as knowing our names once we arrived. The reception was quick and painless. If you like champagne they will give you a glass while waiting. Our room was very clean and the feel is Tommy Bahama. There are many activities that are included with the daily rate, so take advantage of this. The concierge helped us prior to our trip with names of charter boats. We called and booked one. My advise to you is to book in advance for a great charter. The kids loved the fishing trip and the chef at the hotel prepared our fish the way we preferred. The meals at the hotel were great. I didn't have one bad meal. Marie greeted us at the restaurant Lemoncello. She is delight! The staff was attentive and catered to us. Overall, it was a wonderful vacation. Remember, the beach is not a typical Florida beach. You are better off swimming in the adult pool, which is quieter and not as crowded as the kiddie pool. More pool chairs are needed, but it didn't bother us.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santorinigirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We decided to cancel our original plans to go to Hawaii (we're in SoCA) and followed the recommendations of two separate couples who have both stayed at Cheeca in the last few years to give the property, and the Keys, a try for a week in mid May 2011; we wanted casual elegance, service worth the money, attentive staff but not overwhelming, luxury without pretense, we needed family friendly but did not want Disneyland, and most of all, we wanted to relax - and I have to say, our expectations were met, and in some respects, exceeded. After a very early start, a long cross country flight, and a drive from Miami to Islamorada, a glass of champagne during check in was the perfect welcome and set the tone for the rest of the week. We greatly appreciated the availability of self parking which was conveniently located in a covered garage just under our room (personally, I am not a fan of valet since we travel with our toddler and inevitable always forget something in the car and need to run back.) The room was adequately spacious -2 queen beds for the three of us; it was clean, decorated in a Tommy Bahama Island style, perfect for the location, and we did enjoy the screened in balcony every evening. Great bathroom, clean, plenty of towels, and again, as a parent, we really appreciated the empty mini fridge which gave us a place to store apple juice, milk and yogurt without forcing us to go through the discussion with our son as to why he doesn't need a $6 bag of M&M's displayed in a candy basket - a small detail but one with which every parent is all too familiar. My only complaint about the room, and this is a small one and by no means has any impact on our desire to return - is that we were in a building at the far end of the property, which meant getting to the pool and beach with our gear and our 3 yrs old son in tow was a bit of a hike, and we were a bit nervous about stray golf balls and cars, since there isn't a sidewalk - but we're from CA, perhaps a little overly cautious? And the view, which was supposed to be a golf course view, since we were technically overlooking the golf course, was 100% obscured by enormous palms and shrubs so that we could not see anything from our balcony. Given that we were there for 7 nights, I had at least expected a better view, but we looked at the positive - the greenery kept direct sunlight out, so that even in the heat, the room was always comfortable, and we spent such little time in the room, it wasn't a reason to make any fuss, although if we return in the future, I would request a better room. Since we do have a little one, we made use of the DVD player and the Red Box rentals nightly, which is a welcome change from the typical $14.99 in-room movie rentals - we were happy to spend our money instead on the amazing food and beverage service available at the hotel. We enjoyed room service our first night, but after that, took all of our lunches pool and lagoon side, and dinners in the restaurants on-site, which I would describe as family friendly but not overrun by kids, with FABULOUS food; I will even go so far as to say the best food we've had at a hotel, and I am a seafood eater, with a special nod to your sushi chef, who for several nights in a row, prepared our orders "to go", and the staff set up a picnic for us to enjoy ocean front at the outdoor couches which allowed our son to run around and mom and dad, to eat and drink at a leisurely pace. This is the type of no-fuss accommodation we look for in a resort, and what made our lives very easy at dinner time after long days in the sun.
Daytime, we spent a significant amount of time at the lagoon, perfect for the kids who loved "snorkeling", the pool seemed a bit small at first but in fact was never over crowded, although I found it necessary to have our towels down under umbrellas by 9am in order to have a comfortable spot at the pool - standard for any seaside resort; and we did make daily use of the kayaks and fishing rods, and loved seeing the Tarpin. I have to admit that upon our arrival, we were a bit taken aback at the lack of soft sand along the beach - it's more like gravel, and so there's no family sandcastle building or towels in the sand (which, is actually a plus) - but this has nothing to do with the resort itself, just the area, and the amenities of the resort compensated for something that wasn't truly lacking - we were just surprised as newcomers. We loved the complimentary daily morning coffee service, and used the gym - although a small space, it was clean, and I never had a hard time getting on an elliptical. Our final day we booked a private charter with Captain Steve and this was the highlight of our trip. We asked the Captain to plan our trip and our only directive was that it needed to accommodate a 3yrs old. We had a wonderful time snorkeling, with noodles and life jackets available, then enjoyed cocktails on the sand bar as we played with sand toys in 18 inches of warm as a bath water. Finally, and most importantly, my husband and I needed to unwind after a very busy last decade, and in this economy, we needed a vacation where the quality matched the cost... the pace of the Keys, reflected in the casual elegance of Cheeca, were precisely what we needed - more so than we realized before our arrival, and we would gladly return to unwind. After years of going to Hawaii, we were happy to switch directions and look forward to our next adventure in the Keys.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CourtneySC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I hadn't beeen to Cheeca since the renovation after the fire a couple years ago.....i found the place very charming and the oceanfront suite elegant and comfortable.....but that's where it ceased being a four or five star resort.....the service in the restaurants was fair at best and the pool deck was like being at a YMCA camp....For $600 a night you would expect great service and the ability to get a lounge at the pool....needs to decide if it wants to cater to the affluent crowd or the Motel Six weekenders...you can't mix them in the same bowl....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trudny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We a family of three, me, my husband and a toddler went to cheeca lodge during the first week of July. The rooms were great and spacious. The resort in itself was beautiful with a tropical theme. Walking around the resort in the evening was fun. It seemed like we were in the middle of a tropical forest. Plenty of activities to do like kayaking, boat trips, free bikes, free dvds,etc. We had breakfast there almost every day and enjoyed the buffet. Buffet was a little expensive but they had lot of variety. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Cheeca is some sort of wonderful. The amenities are top notch and the staff is willing to do anything to make your trip as wonderful as the views. The Cheeca in Islamorada, FL sits on the coast of the Atlantic Ocean in the heart of the Florida Keys. No matter what one's tastes are, they can be satisfied here. A watersports fan, a sport fisherman, or just in the mood to relax by the pool or in the lagoon, the Cheeca offers all of these options at a premium level.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffbailey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews